LibGuides: Resources & Services for OUWB Faculty: Research Support

Medical Library Research Services

The Medical Library provides research/consultation services in the following areas and others. Please contact us by email, phone, or schedule an appointment with a librarian.

Evidence Synthesis, i.e. systematic review, scoping review, etc.
Literature search strategies and techniques
Database selection
Reference management options and software
Tools for conducting systematic reviews
Scholarly Communication
Techniques for locating meeting or conference abstracts
Strategies for keeping up with the literature including current awareness tools and automated search alerts

If you need assistance on your research project, please contact us. You may use the form embedded on this page or reach out to individual librarians.

Ask Us!

Key Resources

PubMed (MEDLINE)
MEDLINE is the National Library of Medicine's free bibliographic database covering the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and the preclinical sciences.
Cochrane Library
This is a collection of databases that contain evidence for healthcare decision-making. Includes systematic review abstracts, technology assessments, economic evaluations and individual clinical trials.
EMBase
European-based database with journal articles and other biomedical literature from an international perspective. It includes comprehensive coverage of biomedical information with an emphasis on drugs and pharmacology. Covers all journals in Medline and unique journals not included in Medline.
OvidSP
The Ovid interface provides access to a range of databases, e-journals and e- books on the health sciences and nursing. The databases are particularly useful for identifying journal articles and other publications on a particular topic within the subject areas covered by each database. Includes access to MEDLINE.
CINAHL Complete
A full-text database for nursing and allied health journals from 1937 to the present. It includes access to scholarly journal articles, dissertations, magazines, pamphlets, evidence-based care sheets, books, and research instruments.
PsycINFO
This database provides indexing and abstracts for journal articles, books, chapters, and dissertations in psychology. Covers the research literature in all areas of psychology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. Other subjects such as neuroscience, psychiatry, and physiology are also included.
Scopus
Scopus is an abstract and citation database that supports research needs in the scientific, technical, medical, social sciences, and the arts and humanities. It provides tools for tracking citations, creating researcher profiles, and visualizing search results.
Web of Science
Provides access to the Arts & Humanities Index (A&HCI), Emerging Sources Citation Index (ESCI), Science Citation Index (SCI), and Social Science Citation Index (SSCI). The database can be searched by words in article titles and abstracts, by author, by journal, and to look for cited references.
Covidence
Covidence is a systematic reviews production tool for title/abstract screening, full-text screening, data abstraction, and quality assessment.
Note: If you have not created an account already you must sign up for an account on the OUWB Covidence Account Page. For more information, please see our Covidence Guide

Tutorials

Finding & requesting full text articles that are not immediately available through the library using InterLibrary Loan.

Using Cochrane Library for your research