LibGuides: Resources & Services for OUWB Faculty: Overview

Contact Us

If you have any questions regarding library services or resources, please let us know!

Ask Us!
Call: (248) 370-3772
Email: medref@oakland.edu
Schedule an Appointment with a Medical Librarian
Staff Directory
OUWB Library Hours

Ask Us!

Key Library Resources & Services

PubMed (MEDLINE)
MEDLINE is the National Library of Medicine's free bibliographic database covering the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and the preclinical sciences.
EMBase
European-based database with journal articles and other biomedical literature from an international perspective. It includes comprehensive coverage of biomedical information with an emphasis on drugs and pharmacology. Covers all journals in Medline and unique journals not included in Medline.
OvidSP
The Ovid interface provides access to a range of databases, e-journals and e- books on the health sciences and nursing. The databases are particularly useful for identifying journal articles and other publications on a particular topic within the subject areas covered by each database. Includes access to MEDLINE.
Scopus
Scopus is an abstract and citation database that supports research needs in the scientific, technical, medical, social sciences, and the arts and humanities. It provides tools for tracking citations, creating researcher profiles, and visualizing search results.

AccessMedicine
This collection includes medical and basic sciences books, including Harrison's Textbook of Medicine. AccessMedicine also includes images, videos, diagnostic tools, patient education handouts, and drug information.
AccessMedicine - Case Files
This collection includes the clinical medicine and post-graduate level cases from the Case Files series books in an interactive format. The Case Files expose students to patient cases and is personalized to let users mark their progress through completed and unseen cases.
ClinicalKey
ClinicalKey provides quick access to full-text medical and surgical resources including ebooks, journal articles, clinical practice guidelines, point-of-care clinical monographs, procedural guides, images, videos, drug information, and patient education handouts.
To download book chapter PDFs, please log in or register for a free account. NOTE: Vendor recommends updating to most recent version of browser.
LWW Health Library - Clerkship
LWW Health Library for Clerkship/Clinical Rotations offers a core collection of content for each of the core clerkship rotations - Internal Medicine, OB/GYN, Pediatrics, Surgery, Family Medicine, and Psychiatry. Contains review materials for USMLE Step 2 and 3, including key general reference and exam preparation texts as well as case studies and Q&As.
LWW Health Library - Medical Education
LWW Health Library for Medical Education offers a core collection of content covering key areas of studyanatomical sciences, pathology, and biochemistry. Also included are case studies, exam preparation, and Q&As to reinforce learned content and exam preparation.
Thieme MedOne Education
Collection of textbooks and color atlases in anatomy, medicine, and the life sciences published by Thieme. Authorized users can read the books online or download them to their personal devices.
STAT!Ref
STAT!Ref is a full-text healthcare library the enables uers to cross-search evidence-based references. It provides best-evidence summaries and answers to clinical questions concerning symptoms, disease, and treatments.

See All E-book Collections (Medicine)

UpToDate
This resource presents current clinical information and recommendations on patient care and treatment. Includes evidence-based, physician-authored articles and patient education resources to help make clinical decisions.
DynaMed
An evidence-based clinical reference tool written by physicians who synthesize the evidence and provide objective analysis to help health care providers in their daily practice. Designed to provide quick answers to clinical questions. Includes thousands of graphics and images, specialty content, mobile access, and enhanced drug information.
Micromedex
Micromedex provides access to information on drugs, toxicology, and diseases. The drug information is detailed, referenced, and includes drug comparisons and identification, therapeutic class searching, and dosing
Acland's Video Atlas of Human Anatomy
This resource includes three-dimensional videos of dissected human anatomic specimens. The videos show complex structures step by step - from bone to surface anatomy - to provide a foundation for understanding anatomical structure and function.
Bates' Visual Guide
Bates Visual Guide contains videos of systems-based physical examination techniques for development of clinical skills.

To login, select the option: Library - Continue as anonymous library user.
VisualDX
An image-based clinical support tool to aid in the identification of indentifiable diseases; including, dermatologic, infectious, genetic, metabolic, drug-induced conditions, and occupational injuries.

Remote Access

OUWB faculty can access library electronic resources anytime from anywhere. When accessing library resources from off campus through the library website, you'll be prompted to log in with NetID. Alternatively, you may connect to VPN prior to accessing electronic resources.

InterLibrary Loan / Document Delivery

For any books, book chapter, or journal articles that are not immediately available through the library, you may request it using InterLibrary Loan (ILL) service. ILL service is free to OUWB students and faculty. The turn around time for electronic journal articles is usually within a couple of days.

Interlibrary Loan Service (ILLIAD)
You may use the Interlibrary Loan Service (ILLiad) to request items (journal article, books, book chapter, etc.) from another library. For any first-time users, please register for ILLiad first.
ILLIAD FAQs
For additional information on ILLiad, please visit the FAQ page.

Instruction Services

Medical librarians offer both course integrated instructions and workshops. Please reach out to the liaison librarian for your course or send a request to us through the Ask A Medical Librarian form.

Recommend a resource

The Medical Library welcome your suggestion and feedback on library resources. If you'd like to suggestion a new resource or share your feedback on a resource the library currently subscribes, please contact us through the Ask A Medical Librarian form.

Rate the Guide

Did you find this guide useful?

Very useful

Useful

Somewhat useful

Not useful

I have a comment/suggestion (please click to leave your feedback))

Very useful: 1 votes (100%)

Useful: 0 votes (0%)

Somewhat useful: 0 votes (0%)

Not useful: 0 votes (0%)

I have a comment/suggestion (please click to leave your feedback)): 0 votes (0%)

Total Votes: 1

Resources & Services for OUWB Faculty: Overview

Library Services for OUWB Faculty