LibGuides: Resources & Services for OUWB Faculty: Curricular Support

Course Liaison Librarians

Each course has an assigned medical librarian to serve as liaison who works closely with course directors on library resources and services for that particular course. Liaison librarians are your key contact for any questions or problems related to library resources and services for a particular course.

Course Name (click to see the course guide)	Course Year	Liaison Librarian
Anatomical Foundations of Clinical Practice	M1	David Stewart
Anesthesiology & Pain Medicine Clerkship	M4	David Stewart
Art & Practice of Medicine	M1, M2	Michelle Rau
Behavioral Medicine and Psychopathology	M2	David Stewart
Biomedical Foundations of Clinical Practice	M1	Michelle Rau
Cardiovascular	M1	David Stewart
Diagnostic Medicine	M2	David Stewart
Diagnostic Radiology Clerkship	M3	Michelle Rau
Embark	M1, M2, M3, M4	Ella Hu
Emergency Medicine Clerkship	M4	Michelle Rau
Endocrinology	M2	Michelle Rau
Family Medicine Clerkship	M3	Ella Hu
Gastroenterology and Hepatology	M2	David Stewart
Hematopoietic and Lymphoid	M1	David Stewart
Integrative Evidence Based Medicine	M2	David Stewart
Internal Medicine Clerkship, Sub-Internship	M3, M4	Ella Hu
Male and Female Reproductive	M2	Michelle Rau
Medical Humanities & Clinical Bioethics	M1, M2, M3	David Stewart
Musculoskeletal, Connective Tissue & Skin	M2	Ella Hu
Neurology Clerkship	M3	Michelle Rau
Neuroscience	M1	Ella Hu
Ob/Gyn Clerkship	M3	Michelle Rau
Ophthalmology Clerkship	M3	Ella Hu
Pediatric Clerkship, Sub-Internship	M3, M4	Ella Hu
PRISM	M1, M2, M3, M4	David Stewart
Promotion & Maintenance of Health	M1, M2	Ella Hu
Psychiatry Clerkship	M3	Michelle Rau
Renal and Urinary	M2	Ella Hu
Respiratory	M1	Michelle Rau
Surgery Clerkship, Sub-Internship	M3, M4	David Stewart
USMLE Review	M2	Ella Hu

Teaching Resources by Type

Below are ebook collections focuses on textbooks most widely used in undergraduate medical education.

AccessMedicine
This collection includes medical and basic sciences books, including Harrison's Textbook of Medicine. AccessMedicine also includes images, videos, diagnostic tools, patient education handouts, and drug information.
Access - Case Files Collection
This collection includes the clinical medicine and post-graduate level cases from the Case Files series books in an interactive format. The Case Files expose students to patient cases and is personalized to let users mark their progress through completed and unseen cases.
ClinicalKey
ClinicalKey provides quick access to full-text medical and surgical resources including ebooks, journal articles, clinical practice guidelines, point-of-care clinical monographs, procedural guides, images, videos, drug information, and patient education handouts.

To download book chapter PDFs, please log in or register for a free account. NOTE: Vendor recommends updating to most recent version of browser.
LWW Health Library - Medical Education
LWW Health Library for Medical Education offers a core collection of content covering key areas of studyanatomical sciences, pathology, and biochemistry. Also included are case studies, exam preparation, and Q&As to reinforce learned content and exam preparation.
Thieme MedOne Education
Collection of textbooks and color atlases in anatomy, medicine, and the life sciences published by Thieme. Authorized users can read the books online or download them to their personal devices.
Boards & Beyond
Includes board review videos and question banks to support medical students in preparation for USMLE and COMLEX exams. The on-demand video libraries and online resources focus on the fundamentals of medical basic sciences and clinical medicine. Includes access to Clinical Confidence collection.

Please note, you'll need an access code when registering for an account. Please contact the OUWB Medical Library for the access code.
BoardVitals
You must sign up with your @oakland.edu email here to access the Board Vitals question banks.

An interactive and powerful board review tool that can be used by practicing clinicians, residents and several types of healthcare students. With BoardVitals, you have the ability to create customized practice tests using many options including number of questions, subjects and more. Included are detailed, up-to-date explanations with each answer, with references and links to applicable sources.
LWW Health Library - Board Review Series
The Board Review Series covers the core basic sciences and focuses on content for board and course exams, covering material on each corresponding subject that is addressed on USMLE Step 1. Includes review questions, clinical information, full-color illustrations, photographs, and tables.

Acland's Video Atlas of Human Anatomy
This resource includes three-dimensional videos of dissected human anatomic specimens. The videos show complex structures step by step - from bone to surface anatomy - to provide a foundation for understanding anatomical structure and function.
Anatomy.TV
An interactive 3D anatomy resource. Users may manipulate images by rotating, zooming, and removing layers to learn more about anatomical structures. It also includes MRI sections, slides, movies, animations, clinical text and patient education sheets..
IMAIOS (e-Anatomy)
e-Anatomy is an anatomical database providing more than 3,000 images of the human body. It provides cross-sectional, gross, and radiological anatomy derived from various types of medical imaging, including magnetic resonance imaging (MRI) and computed tomography (CT) scans.
Thieme Teaching Assistant: Anatomy
MedOne Thieme Teaching Assistant Anatomy is a web-based presentation tool, featuring powerful functionality to enrich and deepen the classroom experience.
It features over 2,800+ full-color illustrations from Gilroy et al.’s Atlas of Anatomy, Schuenke et al.’s THIEME Atlas of Anatomy and Baker et al.’s Anatomy for Dental Medicine.

Gray's Anatomy of the Human Body
An online version of the classic 1918 textbook (20th edition), and includes more than 1,200 images.

Bates' Visual Guide
Bates Visual Guide contains videos of systems-based physical examination techniques for development of clinical skills.
To login, select the option: Library - Continue as anonymous library user.
DynaMed
An evidence-based clinical reference tool written by physicians who synthesize the evidence and provide objective analysis to help health care providers in their daily practice. Designed to provide quick answers to clinical questions. Includes thousands of graphics and images, specialty content, mobile access, and enhanced drug information.
UpToDate
This resource presents current clinical information and recommendations on patient care and treatment. Includes evidence-based, physician-authored articles and patient education resources to help make clinical decisions.
VisualDX
An image-based clinical support tool to aid in the identification of indentifiable diseases; including, dermatologic, infectious, genetic, metabolic, drug-induced conditions, and occupational injuries.
Micromedex
Micromedex provides access to information on drugs, toxicology, and diseases. The drug information is detailed, referenced, and includes drug comparisons and identification, therapeutic class searching, and dosing

VisualDX
An image-based clinical support tool to aid in the identification of indentifiable diseases; including, dermatologic, infectious, genetic, metabolic, drug-induced conditions, and occupational injuries.

OUWB Biomedical Image Finder
The OUWB Biomedical Image Search Engine will search many BioMedical Public Domain and Creative Common License websites for biomedical images which can be used for educational purposes. The links on this page lead to collections that primarily contain public domain and Creative Commons images. Click "Image Search" in the left column.
MedPix / National Library of Medicine
Free open-access medical image database hosted by the National Library of Medicine. It contains more than 59,000 images from 12,000 cases, including radiology, pathology, ophthalmology, etc. The teaching file cases are peer-reviewed.
National Institute of General Medical Sciences / Image & Visual Gallery
This is a searchable collection of scientific photos, illustrations, and videos. The images and videos in this gallery are licensed under Creative Commons Attribution Non-Commercial ShareAlike 3.0.
Open-i
Open Access Biomedical Image Search Engine from the NIH and National Library of Medicine provides access to images from PubMed Central articles, chest x-rays with radiology reports, and orthopedic illustrations.
Visible Human Project – In the Public Domain
The NLM Visible Human Project® has created publicly-available complete, anatomically detailed, three-dimensional representations of a human male body and a human female body. Suggested credit: Courtesy of the U.S. National Library of Medicine.
NIH Image Bank
Contains images from the institutes and centers of the NIH. Images are in the public domain and may be used, linked, or reproduced without further permission. Credit must be given to the National Institutes of Health/Department of Health and Human Services.
National Cancer Institute Visuals Online
Most of the images available in this library are in the public domain and are not subject to copyright restrictions. Suggested credit: The Web site of the National Cancer Institute (https://www.cancer.gov).
NEI Media Library
From the National Eye Institute. Materials are not copyrighted and are free for non-commercial scientific and education use. Requires the following acknowledgement: "Courtesy: National Eye Institute, National Institutes of Health."
NLM Digital Collections
The NLM Digital Collections are freely available for download worldwide and in the public domain unless otherwise indicated.

For more medical image resources, please visit the Medical Image Resources guide.

Rate the Guide

Did you find this guide useful?

Very useful

Useful

Somewhat useful

Not useful

I have a comment/suggestion (please click to leave your feedback))

Very useful: 1 votes (100%)

Useful: 0 votes (0%)

Somewhat useful: 0 votes (0%)

Not useful: 0 votes (0%)

I have a comment/suggestion (please click to leave your feedback)): 0 votes (0%)

Total Votes: 1

Resources & Services for OUWB Faculty: Curricular Support

What we do to support curricular instruction?

Course Liaison Librarians

Teaching Resources by Type

Rate the Guide