Library OneSearch allows users to search for both journals and articles published in journals (both peer-reviewed and otherwise).
If you're looking specifically for journals, you can use the "Publications" function under the "Research Tools" header on the Library OneSearch homepage (red box).
You can search for a specific publication by title using the search bar, or by browsing for it in the available alphabetical listing. If you wish to browse for publications housed within a specific database or related to a specific field or discipline, you can do so using the included options. Clicking on any of the subject links under "Browse Subjects" will bring you to a listing of any publications that are related to that particular subject.
If you're looking for a particular journal - for example, the American Journal of Psychology - enter its title in the search box, then click search.
Following the search, you'll be provided with a list of results related to your search terms. When you find the item you're looking for, you can review the item record for publication details, as well as how to access the item online.
Clicking on the item's catalog record will show you which database(s) you can use to access full text versions of the journal (red box). Some journals may be available in more than one database. Clicking on the title of the database you wish to use to access the journal will take you directly to the online version of the journal.
From there, you may either browse specific issues of the journal or search within the publication. For example, the image below is the current issue of American Journal of Psychology, as hosted by the database Scholarly Publishing Collective. Clicking on the "view this issue" button will allow you to review the current issue online through the database.
You can review the current issue, as well as any digitized issues, by navigating through the online version of this publication. Individual articles can be viewed and/or downloaded in PDF format, as enabled by the database (note: you will need to log into the database with your institutional credentials to have full access to any resources).
Library OneSearch allows users to search for both journals and articles published in journals (both peer-reviewed and otherwise).
To search for articles on a specific topic, enter your keywords in the search box and click "search."
Your search results will look something like this:
Note that there are several ways to narrow down your list of search results using the facets on the left side. Some options include limiting results to articles that are available online or articles that are in peer-reviewed journals. You can also limit by type, author, or subject. Just click in the boxes next to your selections, and OneSearch will automatically update the results list.
In this example, the selected filters are "peer-reviewed" (blue box) and "academic journals" as source type (red box).
Clicking on a search result (either the title or the text that reads Access Options) will open a new page that will display the item's catalog record and options to access it online. There may be several different access options, depending on the resource - see the options below to learn how to recognize what kind of access each article may have.
Articles that enable a PDF download:
Articles that enable an immediate download (PDF version) will be denoted by the indicated icon (blue box) as well as a notation in the "Access Options" drop-down menu. When reviewing the item's catalog record, click this icon to obtain a downloadable copy of the article (you may need to log in with your institutional credentials first).
Articles that offer full text online:
Articles that enable full-text access online will be denoted by the indicated icon. When reviewing the item's catalog record, click this icon to be redirected to the database which houses the full text version of the article (you may need to log in with your institutional credentials first).
This option will open the article in the database, and access from within the database will either be provided as a PDF (as in this case), or as a readable version in the browser. When viewing the article online, you have the option to download the item as a PDF, translate the text or hear it read aloud, view the table of contents and navigate throughout the item using, and so on. Review the toolbar at the top and right (red box) of the article to explore these various options.
Articles that require an inter-library loan request:
Occasionally, Library OneSearch will display the record for an item to which Kresge Library does not have digital access. In those cases, users are able (and encouraged) to make an interlibrary loan request to obtain a copy of the item from another institution. For more information about interlibrary loan, please visit the webpage linked here.
