University Archives and Special Collections

Visit Us

OU-affiliated individuals and the general public are welcome to access to the collections and services of Archives and Special Collections in the Reading Room. We will help you explore, find, and use the right materials from our collections.

If you cannot visit us, please note that we can only provide limited research services based on staff availability. Collections do not circulate.

Appointments

To guarantee fast and convenient access, please make an appointment through the online schedule a visit form.

We will do our best to offer appointments for researchers Monday through Thursday, 8:30am to 4:30pm; and Friday 8:30am to 12:00pm. Morning appointments are strongly preferred, and drop-ins cannot be guaranteed service.

Location

The Archives and Special Collections Reading Room is located in Room 105 on the first floor of Kresge Library. The Reading Room is not open to the public for general access at any time or for any reason. Please contact us if you would like to visit our space.

Visitor Expectations

We're delighted to make an appointment for you to explore our collections!

To prepare for your visit, review and sign the Researcher Rules for Use of Archival Materials. All visitors to the ASC must sign this form before accessing any of our collections. Please find additional policy requirements below.

Remember:

• For the Archives Reading Room, all patrons visiting in person must provide a valid photo identification (e.g., student ID, driver's license, or passport).
• No food or drinks are allowed in the Special Collections Room or Archives Reading Room.
• Laptops and cameras are welcome. Only pencils--not pens--are permitted for note-taking.
• Patrons do not have access to the stacks. Archives staff will bring materials to the reading room and will help patrons while they use the materials. Materials should never leave the Archives.
• For large collections, we can only bring a limited amount of materials at a time to the reading room (generally, up to 4 boxes). Patrons can ask for additional materials when they are done with the first ones.
• Patrons are allowed to use their own cameras to make copies of materials, provided they have read and signed the Researcher Rules for Use of Archival Materials (see above). Copies are intended for personal research only and cannot be further distributed, or published in print or online without the written consent of the copyright holder(s).

We strive to make our collections as accessible as possible to all. In exchange, researchers are kindly asked to treat our collections carefully, ethically, and responsibly.

Do you have a question?

You can watch this short video to learn more.

Contact the Archives at archives@oakland.edu, (248) 370-2451, or by filling out our online form.