University Archives Collections Overview
Groundbreaking ceremony, May 2, 1958
The Oakland University Archives is the chief resource for historical materials about Oakland University. It collects, organizes, preserves, and makes accessible the significant records that chronicle the university’s history since its founding in 1957.
Listed below is a selection of materials you can expect to find:
For a complete list of collections, search finding aids (detailed inventories of collections).
Administration
- Board of Trustee Meeting Minutes (1957 - present)
- University Senate Meeting Minutes (1960 - present)
- MSUO Administrative Group Meeting Minutes (1959-1966)
- Oakland University Annual Reports collection (annual reports from OU academic and administrative units)
- Papers of all OU presidents, provosts, and other top administrative leaders
- University Planning Documents
- Campus and Facilities collections
- Oakland University Budget (1966-current)
- Oakland University Foundation
Academic Units
- College of Arts & Sciences
- Department of History
- Music, Theater and Dance
- Academy of Dramatic Art
- Honors College
- Honors College Theses (1980-present)
- University Libraries
- School of Business Administration
- School of Education and Human Services
- School of Engineering and Computer Sciences
- School of Health Sciences
- School of Nursing
- School of Performing Arts
- Center for General and Career Studies
- Association for Interdisciplinary Studies
- Project Upward Bound
General History of Oakland University
- Meadow Brook Seminars (1958-1959)
- Historic Oakland University Documents (1956-1963)
- Oakland University Anniversaries collection
- Oakland University Chronicles (oral histories of OU founders and charter class faculty and students)
- American Association of University Professors Oakland University Chapter records
University Publications
- OU Course Catalogs (1959-)
- OU Schedules of Classes
- OU Telephone Directories (1959-)
- Commencement Programs
- Oakland University Yearbooks (Ascendent, MSUO Story, Oak Leaves, Charter)
- Magazines and Newsletters
Student Life
- Student newspapers (1959-present)
- Student publications
- Student Congress (1972-)
- Student Leaders Oral Histories (interviews of past student leaders at OU since 1972)
- Student Organizations collection
- Greek Organizations collection
- Association of Women Students
- Student Enterprise Theatre
- Student Protest Movements
Faculty and Alumni
- David DiChiera
- Curtis Armstrong
- Oakland University Alumni Association
Arts and Recreation
- Meadow Brook / Oakland University Art Gallery
- Meadow Brook Music Festival
- Meadow Brook Theatre
- Slavic Folk Ensemble
- Athletics Collection
Meadow Brook Hall
- Wilson / Dodge Collection
- Meadow Brook Hall Collection
- John Cameron papers
- Concours d'Elegance
Other
- Photograph collection
- Architectural Drawings and Maps
- Posters and Banners
- Audiovisual collection
- Subject Files
See also the Oakland University website, 1997-present (Wayback Machine)
