The University Archives is looking for significant records of historical value that chronicle the university’s history and support the Archives’ mission. This may include items such as official publications, personal papers, reports, meeting minutes, photographs, flyers, maps, and any other item that should be permanently retained. Particularly desirable items include:
The University Archives does not collect routine office records and records that do not have enduring historical value. Originals are strongly preferred; although in selected cases, copies can be accepted.
We are interested in materials that fit within the scope of our collection development policy, and especially materials that document the history of Oakland County and southeast Michigan from the 19th century to the present, with a special focus on the political, economic, socio-cultural and multicultural aspects of the region’s suburban history. This includes but is not limited to memos and correspondence, meeting minutes, photos, scrapbooks, newspapers and newsletters.
If you're not sure if your materials could be of interest to our archives, contact us.
After receiving a signed deed of gift, archives staff will process the donated materials. All items donated to Archives and Special Collections are placed in a collection named after the donor, creator, or organization. Staff will store the materials in archival quality folders and boxes in the Archives’ secure, climate-controlled facility.
A finding aid will be created, with an inventory of the contents of the collection, a brief overview of the collection, and information about the donor. The finding aid will be added to our website to help researchers find information that may be located in your materials.
The new collection will be made available to researchers in the Archives and Special Collections reading room, unless specific provisions are made in the deed of gift to temporarily restrict access to part or all of the materials. No materials leave the archives after they are acquired. Items from the collection may also be used for exhibits in the library or online, as well as for classes that come into the archives with their instructors.
For University Archives and Special Collections, please contact the Coordinator of Archives and Special Collections or Archives Assistant Shirley Paquette if you have items to donate so we can determine if they are needed or are duplicates of items we already have. If you wish to retain the original item, we may accept a copy for archives.
For rare books, please contact Emily Spunaugle.
Fill out a University Archives Transmittal/ Inventory Form. Send the form and a brief inventory along with the materials to the Archives, Attention: Archives.
Please contact the Coordinator of Archives and Special Collections. Donors will be asked to sign a deed of gift transferring legal custody of the records to Oakland University.
Please keep in mind that it take money to preserve, organize, inventory and digitize archival materials.
If you would like information about making a tax-deductible donation, please review the University Libraries' donation information.
OU Libraries | 100 Library Drive, Rochester, Michigan 48309-4479 | (248) 370-2471