Skip to Main Content

Using ProQuest RefWorks: A Sequenced Tutorial

RefWorks is a citation management tool that allows users to "collect, manage, organize, and cite your research as well as collaborate with friends and colleagues by sharing collections" of resources (RefWorks, 2016).

ProQuest RefWorks: Bibliographies, Works Cited Lists, Reference Lists

Using ProQuest RefWorks: Creating Bibliographies, Works Cited Lists, or Reference Lists

You can easily create a bibliography from the All Documents area, any collection in RefWorks, or a search results list.
Navigate to the collection you want to use (or All Documents area or run a search and select items) and click the Create bibliography icon Quotation marks icon. 
You can choose to create a bibliography for selected references or for all of the reference in the collection (or in All Documents if that's the view you are in).

Screenshot of RefWorks document list with Create Bibliography menu selected and displayed. A user can click on the quotation mark icon in the upper menu bar to create a bibliography.

Next, search for your output style and select it.  Your formatted bibliography will be displayed in your browser for you to copy and paste into any word processing software.

Screenshot of RefWorks toolbar with citation output selection highlighted. A user can change the citation output format from APA style to another citation style (i.e., MLA).
 

For more information, check out this guide on using the new RefWorks.

< Back to Getting Information into Your Account                                                                                      On to Reading and Annotating Documents >