Skip to Main Content

Using ProQuest RefWorks: A Sequenced Tutorial

RefWorks is a citation management tool that allows users to "collect, manage, organize, and cite your research as well as collaborate with friends and colleagues by sharing collections" of resources (RefWorks, 2016).

ProQuest RefWorks: Sharing Sources

Using ProQuest RefWorks: Sharing Resources

You can share resources in RefWorks with anyone else with a RefWorks account (either at OU or at another institution).
Click the Share & Export icon Share and Export icon from RefWorks or the Sharing menu item to start.

Screenshot of RefWorks with the sharing icon in the RefWorks toolbar and the sharing menu options highlighted.

Select the collection to be shared and the groups with whom you will share it.

Screenshot of RefWorks Sharing Settings. Users choose a collection from the drop-down menu and choose access level: Only invited people may access or Anyone within your organization may join this collection.
 

Type the email address of the person (add one at a time) and select the level of access for the person you're inviting:

  • Read – view items and read documents.
  • Annotate – view items, read documents, and annotate documents.
  • Modify – view/read/annotate documents, edit existing annotations, add documents, remove documents, and add a note to an item.

Screenshot of RefWorks Sharing Settings. Users choose sharing permissions from drop-down menu: Can read, Can annotate or Can modify.
 

You can add a personal note before you click Share Collection.

The person you've invited will get an email notification, and a notification inside RefWorks, where they can accept (or reject) the invitation. If the person doesn’t have a RefWorks account, they will be asked to create one.
 

Viewing a collection's sharing status:

To view what collections you have shared, look for the sharing icon next to the collection name.
 

Screenshot of RefWorks menu with the sharing icon highlighted.
 

By selecting Sharing Settings from the menu, you can access the settings for your shared collection to modify them.

Screenshot of RefWorks menu with sharing settings option highlighted.

In the Sharing Settings you can also:

  • change the sharing from "private" to "institution" (which gives everyone in your institution access to your collection).
  • change individual access levels at any time after inviting someone.
  • remove individuals from your collection by clicking the 'x' to the right of each address in the list.

Screenshot of RefWorks Sharing Settings. Users can view and change how the collection is shared through the drop-down menu: Can read, Can modify, Can annotate.


For more information, check out this guide on using ProQuest RefWorks.

< Back to Getting Started                                                                                                                        On to Getting Information into Your Account >