Kresge Library provides a variety of services and resources for campus community members and guests with disabilities, which are available in detail at the link above.
Need help with your research? Contact a research librarian for introductory assistance, or connect with a subject specialist!
Disability and Business: Best Practices and Strategies for Inclusion
by
Although more and more corporations are including diversity in their business plans, one major group has been left out: people with disabilities. The passage of the Americans with Disabilities Act promised an end to discrimination more than a decade ago, but the unemployment rate for people with disabilities--physical and mental, visible and invisible--remains high, and businesses remain uncertain about how to hire, manage, and market to what is by far America's largest minority.
Implementing the Americans with Disabilities Act
by
This is the first in-depth analysis to date of the implementation and early impact of the 1990 landmark civil rights legislation, the Americans with Disabilities Act.
Disability in Practice
by
Everyone is disabled in some respect, at least in the sense that others can do things that we cannot. But significant limitations on pursuing major life activities due to severely limited eyesight, hearing, mobility, cognitive functioning and so on pose special problems that fortunately have been recognized (to some extent) in our public policies. Public policy is important, as are the deliberative frameworks that we use to justify them, and the essays in the second and third sections of this volume have significant implications for public policy and offer new proposals for justifying frameworks.
Disability and Passing
by
Why passing is a crucial concept in disability studies.
Disability in Local and Global Worlds
by
The lives of many disabled people in Europe and North America have improved over the past two decades through innovative technologies and the efforts of the disability rights movement. These changes have been spreading to other societies around the globe--albeit unevenly. In this collection of essays, leading scholars explore global changes in disability awareness, technology, and policy from the viewpoint of disabled people and their families in a wide range of local contexts.
Crip Times
by
Contends that disability is a central but misunderstood element of global austerity politics. Broadly attentive to the political and economic shifts of the last several decades, Robert McRuer asks how disability activists, artists and social movements generate change and resist the dominant forms of globalization in an age of austerity, or "crip times." Throughout Crip Times, McRuer considers how transnational queer disability theory and culture--activism, blogs, art, photography, literature, and performance--provide important and generative sites for both contesting austerity politics and imagining alternatives.
Disability Rights, Benefits, and Support Services Sourcebook
by
Provides basic consumer health information about barriers faced by people with disabilities, disability rights movement, right to education, housing, employment, voting, access to medical care, and transportation, as well as Social Security disability insurance, tax exemption, coverage option, and compensation. Includes directory of organizations for people with disabilities.
Independent Futures
by
The number of disability related support services controlled and run by disabled people themselves has increased significantly in the UK and internationally over the past forty years. As a result, greater user involvement in service provision and delivery is a key priority for many western Governments. This book provides the first comprehensive review and analysis of these developments in the UK.
Designing Disability
by
Designing Disability traces the emergence of an idea and an ideal - physical access for the disabled - through the evolution of the iconic International Symbol of Access (ISA). The book draws on design history, material culture and recent critical disability studies to examine not only the development of a design icon, but also the cultural history surrounding it. Infirmity and illness may be seen as part of human experience, but 'disability' is a social construct, a way of thinking about and responding to a natural human condition.
International Perspectives on Disability Services
by
Learn how to include multiculturalism in disability-related social work! International Perspectives on Disability Services: The Same but Different presents different cultural and societal contexts on services for people with disabilities. This book covers a range of topics on disabilities related to physical status, emotional conditions, and community settings. This useful introductory reference will help you develop culturally sensitive disability services both locally and overseas, and it will promote better understanding of people with disabilities.
The Future of Disability in America
by
The future of disability in America will depend on how well the U.S. prepares for and manages the demographic, fiscal, and technological developments that will unfold during the next two to three decades. Building upon two prior studies from the Institute of Medicine (the 1991 Institute of Medicine's report Disability in America and the 1997 report Enabling America), The Future of Disability in America examines both progress and concerns about continuing barriers that limit the independence, productivity, and participation in community life of people with disabilities.
Opportunities for Improving Programs and Services for Children with Disabilities
by
Although the general public in the United States assumes children to be generally healthy and thriving, a substantial and growing number of children have at least one chronic health condition. Many of these conditions are associated with disabilities and interfere regularly with children's usual activities, such as play or leisure activities, attending school, and engaging in family or community activities. In their most severe forms, such disorders are serious lifelong threats to children's social, emotional well-being and quality of life, and anticipated adult outcomes such as for employment or independent living. However, pinpointing the prevalence of disability among children in the U.S. is difficult, as conceptual frameworks and definitions of disability vary among federal programs that provide services to this population and national surveys, the two primary sources for prevalence data. Opportunities for Improving Programs and Services for Children with Disabilities provides a comprehensive analysis of health outcomes for school-aged children with disabilities. This report reviews and assesses programs, services, and supports available to these children and their families. It also describes overarching program, service, and treatment goals; examines outreach efforts and utilization rates; identifies what outcomes are measured and how they are reported; and describes what is known about the effectiveness of these programs and services.
For a full list of available databases in all disciplines, click this link.
For a full list of our course and subject guides, click this link.