LibGuides: Public Health : Home

Where to find primary research & literature

Business Source Elite This link opens in a new window Provides access to articles in scholarly, peer-reviewed business journals, trade journals and business news publications. Includes the full-text of the Harvard Business Review. Also includes company profiles, investment research reports, industry reports, market research, country reports, SWOT analyses, and more.
CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window A full-text database for nursing and allied health journals from 1937 to the present. It includes access to scholarly journal articles, dissertations, magazines, pamphlets, evidence-based care sheets, books, and research instruments.
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window This is a collection of databases that contain evidence for healthcare decision-making. Includes systematic review abstracts, technology assessments, economic evaluations and individual clinical trials.
EMBase This link opens in a new window European-based database with journal articles and other biomedical literature from an international perspective. It includes comprehensive coverage of biomedical information with an emphasis on drugs and pharmacology. Covers all journals in Medline and unique journals not included in Medline.
Environment Complete This link opens in a new window This full-text database offers extensive coverage in the areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, and affiliated areas of study. Offering full text and indexing for journals, books and monographs, it is an invaluable resource for students and scholars across all environmental disciplines.
- This link opens in a new window
PubMed (MEDLINE) This link opens in a new window MEDLINE is the National Library of Medicine's free bibliographic database covering the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and the preclinical sciences.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window Provides access to the Arts & Humanities Index (A&HCI), Emerging Sources Citation Index (ESCI), Science Citation Index (SCI), and Social Science Citation Index (SSCI). The database can be searched by words in article titles and abstracts, by author, by journal, and to look for cited references.

Disease, Diagnosis, Quick lookup

ClinicalKey This link opens in a new window ClinicalKey provides quick access to full-text medical and surgical resources including ebooks, journal articles, clinical practice guidelines, point-of-care clinical monographs, procedural guides, images, videos, drug information, and patient education handouts.
To download book chapter PDFs, please log in or register for a free account. NOTE: Vendor recommends updating to most recent version of browser.
UpToDate This link opens in a new window This resource presents current clinical information and recommendations on patient care and treatment. Includes evidence-based, physician-authored articles and patient education resources to help make clinical decisions.

Free evidence-based search engines

National Guideline Clearinghouse is a public resource for evidence-based clinical practice guidelines.

The NHS Clinical Knowledge Summaries (formerly PRODIGY) are a reliable source of evidence-based information and practical 'know how' about the common conditions managed in primary care. (UK based)

TRIP This link opens in a new window
TRIP (Turning Research Into Practice) is a clinical search tool designed to allow users to identify quality clinical evidence for clinical practice. In addition to research evidence, users can also search across other content types including images, videos, patient information leaflets, educational courses, and news.

Scholarly Communication & Open Knowledge Librarian

Julia Rodriguez

Email Me

Contact:

Kresge Library 238
Rochester, MI 48309-4401

Subjects: Environmental Health & Safety, Public Health, Wellness and Health Promotion, Writing & Rhetoric