Key Resources in Medicine

This collection includes anesthesiology and pain management specialty and sub-specialty textbooks. Access Anesthesiology also includes procedural videos, calculators, study tools and review questions, patient cases, and patient safety modules.

This collection includes medical and basic sciences books, including Harrison's Textbook of Medicine. AccessMedicine also includes images, videos, diagnostic tools, patient education handouts, and drug information.

This collection includes the clinical medicine and post-graduate level cases from the Case Files series books in an interactive format. The Case Files expose students to patient cases and is personalized to let users mark their progress through completed and unseen cases.

This collection includes hematology and oncology books, including Williams Hematology and The Basic Science of Oncology. The HemOnc Collection also includes images, calculators, and self-assessment study tools.

This collection includes neurology and neuroscience books, including Adams and Victor's Principles of Neurology. AccessNeurology also includes images, videos, and self-assessment study tools.

This collection includes OB/GYN specialty and sub-specialty textbooks, including William's Obstetrics. AccessObGyn also includes images, videos, drug information, and self-assessment tools.

This collection includes pediatric specialty and sub-specialty textbooks, including Rudolph's Pediatrics. AccessPediatrics also includes images, videos, patient education handouts, drug information, and self-assessment tools.

This collection includes surgical specialty and sub-specialty textbooks and atlases, including Schwartz's Principles of Surgery and Zollinger's Atlas of Surgical Operations. AccessSurgery also includes images, videos, patient education handouts, drug information, and self-assessment tools.

This resource includes three-dimensional videos of dissected human anatomic specimens. The videos show complex structures step by step - from bone to surface anatomy - to provide a foundation for understanding anatomical structure and function.

A full-text alternative health research database focused on complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness. It offers the latest information about the evolving practice of holistic medicine and therapies.

An interactive 3D anatomy resource. Users may manipulate images by rotating, zooming, and removing layers to learn more about anatomical structures. It also includes MRI sections, slides, movies, animations, clinical text and patient education sheets..

Bates Visual Guide contains videos of systems-based physical examination techniques for development of clinical skills.

To login, select the option: Library - Continue as anonymous library user.

You must sign up with your @oakland.edu email here to access the Board Vitals question banks.

An interactive and powerful board review tool that can be used by practicing clinicians, residents and several types of healthcare students. With BoardVitals, you have the ability to create customized practice tests using many options including number of questions, subjects and more. Included are detailed, up-to-date explanations with each answer, with references and links to applicable sources.

DARE (Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects) is an index of over 35,000 systematic reviews of health and social care interventions. These reviews evaluate the effects of health and social care interventions and the delivery and organization of health and social care services.

A full-text database for nursing and allied health journals from 1937 to the present. It includes access to scholarly journal articles, dissertations, magazines, pamphlets, evidence-based care sheets, books, and research instruments.

ClinicalKey provides quick access to full-text medical and surgical resources including ebooks, journal articles, clinical practice guidelines, point-of-care clinical monographs, procedural guides, images, videos, drug information, and patient education handouts.

This is a collection of databases that contain evidence for healthcare decision-making. Includes systematic review abstracts, technology assessments, economic evaluations and individual clinical trials.

A comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world. It includes materials from 1861 to the present day.

An evidence-based clinical reference tool written by physicians who synthesize the evidence and provide objective analysis to help health care providers in their daily practice. Designed to provide quick answers to clinical questions. Includes thousands of graphics and images, specialty content, mobile access, and enhanced drug information.

European-based database with journal articles and other biomedical literature from an international perspective. It includes comprehensive coverage of biomedical information with an emphasis on drugs and pharmacology. Covers all journals in Medline and unique journals not included in Medline.

The authoritative index for education research sources including government reports, journal articles, and conference papers. Covers all education topic areas and is sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences of the U.S. Department of Education.

Essential Science Indicators contains a vast collection of performance statistics and trends extracted from an in-depth analysis of article counts for articles (and the citations to those articles) published in scholarly journals. Article counts and citation data are gathered from journals indexed in the Web of Science Core Collection over a 10-year period.

Searches articles, theses, books, abstracts, patents, and court opinions from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities, and other web sites. You can check the availability of article full text if you use our link to Google Scholar, which will ask you to log in with your OU NetID.

JAMAevidence is an instructional resource from the American Medical Association that is intended to teach about concepts fundamental to the practice of evidence-based medicine. It helps identify the best available evidence by providing guides to the systematic consideration of the validity, importance, and applicability of claims about the assessment of health problems and the outcomes of health care.

A comprehensive resource that allows users to evaluate and compare journals using citation data drawn from scholarly and technical journals from publishers in over 80 countries. It is the only source of citation data on journals, and includes virtually all areas of science, technology, and social sciences. The OU community has access to the Science edition and the Social Sciences edition of JCR.

The Board Review Series covers the core basic sciences and focuses on content for board and course exams, covering material on each corresponding subject that is addressed on USMLE Step 1. Includes review questions, clinical information, full-color illustrations, photographs, and tables.

LWW Health Library for Medical Education offers a core collection of content covering key areas of studyanatomical sciences, pathology, and biochemistry. Also included are case studies, exam preparation, and Q&As to reinforce learned content and exam preparation.

MEDLINE is the premier database of the U.S. National Library of Medicine, covering biomedicine and life sciences topics. Through Web of Science users can access MEDLINE with the added value of citation data and the ability to simultaneously search content in the Web of Science Core Collection.

MedlinePlus provides consumer health information for patients, families, and health care providers. Produced by the National Institutes of Health and other trusted sources, it includes extensive information about drugs, an illustrated medical encyclopedia, a medical dictionary, interactive patient tutorials, health care provider directories, and latest health news.

Micromedex provides access to information on drugs, toxicology, and diseases. The drug information is detailed, referenced, and includes drug comparisons and identification, therapeutic class searching, and dosing

A database of evidence-based information on complementary and alternative medicine. Includes databases on food and supplements, health and wellness, medical conditions, brands and manufacturers, genomics and proteomics, and environmental and animal health, among others.

Collection of Netter Reference books that include anatomical images from the Green Books, Netter's Atlas of Human Anatomy, and Netter's Concise Radiologic Anatomy.

The Ovid interface provides access to a range of databases, e-journals and e- books on the health sciences and nursing. The databases are particularly useful for identifying journal articles and other publications on a particular topic within the subject areas covered by each database. Includes access to MEDLINE.

This full-text database includes peer-reviewed articles in a wide range of psychology subdisciplines. Includes all journals published by the American Psychological Association (APA).

Full-text access to books, journals and guidelines from the American Psychiatric Association, including the DSM Library, APPI journals and ebooks, treatment guidelines, and patient info.

This database provides indexing and abstracts for journal articles, books, chapters, and dissertations in psychology. Covers the research literature in all areas of psychology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. Other subjects such as neuroscience, psychiatry, and physiology are also included.

Provides access to psychological tests, measures, scales, surveys, and other assessments as well as descriptive summaries of the test and its development and administration.

MEDLINE is the National Library of Medicine's free bibliographic database covering the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and the preclinical sciences.

The R2 Digital Library is an electronic book collection from Rittenhouse Book Distributors offering medicine, nursing and allied health content from key health science publishers.

A general science database of full-text articles and e-books published by Elsevier. Covers the sciences, technology, medicine, and social sciences.

Scopus is an abstract and citation database that supports research needs in the scientific, technical, medical, social sciences, and the arts and humanities. It provides tools for tracking citations, creating researcher profiles, and visualizing search results.

SPORTDiscus offers comprehensive, bibliographic coverage of sport disciplines and subdisciplines, including sports medicine, kinesiology, applied physiology, training, sport techniques, coaching, doping, biomechanics, sport management, economics, history, biography and more.

ProQuest Statistical Abstract of the United States is the authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States. It is also designed to serve as a guide to other statistical publications and sources.

Collection of textbooks and color atlases in anatomy, medicine, and the life sciences published by Thieme. Authorized users can read the books online or download them to their personal devices.

MedOne Thieme Teaching Assistant Anatomy is a web-based presentation tool, featuring powerful functionality to enrich and deepen the classroom experience.
It features over 2,800+ full-color illustrations from Gilroy et al.’s Atlas of Anatomy, Schuenke et al.’s THIEME Atlas of Anatomy and Baker et al.’s Anatomy for Dental Medicine.

TRIP (Turning Research Into Practice) is a clinical search tool designed to allow users to identify quality clinical evidence for clinical practice. In addition to research evidence, users can also search across other content types including images, videos, patient information leaflets, educational courses, and news.

UlrichsWeb (Ulrich's International Periodicals Directory) contains subscription, publisher, ISSN and other information on active and ceased serials worldwide: magazines, journals, annuals and more.

This resource presents current clinical information and recommendations on patient care and treatment. Includes evidence-based, physician-authored articles and patient education resources to help make clinical decisions.

An image-based clinical support tool to aid in the identification of indentifiable diseases; including, dermatologic, infectious, genetic, metabolic, drug-induced conditions, and occupational injuries.

Provides access to the Arts & Humanities Index (A&HCI), Emerging Sources Citation Index (ESCI), Science Citation Index (SCI), and Social Science Citation Index (SSCI). The database can be searched by words in article titles and abstracts, by author, by journal, and to look for cited references.

Multinational, multi-lingual database of citations to the research literature on the Corona Virus and COVID-19 from the World Health Organization (WHO).