Home - BIO 3000 - Biology and Society - LibGuides at Oakland University

Welcome!

This guide is designed to point you to helpful library and web resources for your Biology and Society course. Please feel free to reach out to me with any questions or suggestions.

Looking for articles on a topic? Visit the Find Articles box below.
Confused about whether your source is considered "scholarly" or "peer-reviewed"? Check out the resources on the Is an Article Scholarly or Popular? section.
Looking for help searching article databases? Contact me to schedule a research consultation or use Chat to work with a reference librarian 24/7.
Can't find a specific article or book? Use our free interlibrary loan service.

Find Articles

Opposing Viewpoints in Context
Full-text resource covering social issues with a focus on the United States. This series takes a pro-con approach to todays social issues and hot topics in politics, business, education, the environment, medicine, and more. Users can browse by issue to find topic pages that provide curated lists of viewpoint essays presenting each side of a debate, academic articles, news, statistics, and more about that issue.
PubMed (MEDLINE)
MEDLINE is the National Library of Medicine's free bibliographic database covering the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and the preclinical sciences.
Web of Science
Provides access to the Arts & Humanities Index (A&HCI), Emerging Sources Citation Index (ESCI), Science Citation Index (SCI), and Social Science Citation Index (SSCI). The database can be searched by words in article titles and abstracts, by author, by journal, and to look for cited references.

Consumer Level Information

Looking for background information on a health topic? Medlineplus, a free resource from the NIH is a great place to start.

MedlinePlus
MedlinePlus provides consumer health information for patients, families, and health care providers. Produced by the National Institutes of Health and other trusted sources, it includes extensive information about drugs, an illustrated medical encyclopedia, a medical dictionary, interactive patient tutorials, health care provider directories, and latest health news.

Librarian

Nancy Bulgarelli

she / her / hers

Email Me

Contact:

237 Kresge Library

248-370-2481

Subjects: Biological Sciences, Exercise Science, Health Sciences, Nutrition and Dietetics, Orthotist and Prosthetist, Physical Therapy

Related Guides

Biological Sciences
by Nancy Bulgarelli Last Updated Feb 3, 2025 207 views this year