LibGuides: Behavioral Medicine & Psychopathology: Home

Required and Recommended Textbooks

REQUIRED - BRS Behavioral Science, 8th edition by Barbara Fadem
Call Number: Medical Library Study Room - 102 KL (non-circulating) ; RC457.2 .F34 2021

ISBN: 9781975188856

Publication Date: 2022
REQUIRED - Introductory Textbook of Psychiatry, 7th edition by Donald W. Black; Nancy C. Andreasen
Call Number: Medical Library Study Room - 102 KL (non-circulating) ; RC454.4 .B58 2021

ISBN: 9781615373123

Publication Date: 2021
RECOMMENDED - The American Psychiatric Publishing Textbook of Suicide Assessment and Management, 3rd edition by Liza H. Gold (Editor); Richard L. Frierson (Editor)
Call Number: Medical Library Study Room - 102 KL (non-circulating) ; RC569 .A74 2020

ISBN: 9781615372232

Publication Date: 2020
RECOMMENDED - First Aid for the Psychiatry Clerkship, Sixth Edition by Latha Ganti; Matthew S. Kaufman; Sean M. Blitzstein
Call Number: Medical Library Study Room - 102 KL (non-circulating) ; RC480.5 .S665 2021

ISBN: 9781264257843

Publication Date: 2021-09-09
RECOMMENDED - Handbook of Behavioral Medicine by Kenneth Freedland; J. Richard Jennings; Maria M. Llabre; Stephen B. Manuck; Elizabeth J. Susman; Andrew Steptoe (Editor)
Call Number: Medical Library Study Room - 102 KL (non-circulating) ; R726.5 .H34 2011

ISBN: 9781441964830

Publication Date: 2011
RECOMMENDED - The Massachusetts General Hospital Handbook of Behavioral Medicine by Ana-Maria Vranceanu (Editor); Steven A. Safren (Editor); Joseph A. Greer (Editor)
Call Number: Medical Library Study Room - 102 KL (non-circulating) ; R 726.5 .M37 2017

ISBN: 9783319292922

Publication Date: 2017

Accessing the Medical Library Textbooks

An online version of selected textbooks is accessible to OUWB medical students on campus or off campus. To access these textbooks off campus, you must login with your OU NetID and password (the same ones for accessing your OU email account and Moodle).

Print copies of all required and recommended textbooks are on reserve in the OUWB Medical Library Study Room (KL 102). If you need any assistance with locating any of the following books, please email the OUWB Medical Library at medref@oakland.edu.

Clinical Information

AccessMedicine
This collection includes medical and basic sciences books, including Harrison's Textbook of Medicine. AccessMedicine also includes images, videos, diagnostic tools, patient education handouts, and drug information.
ClinicalKey
ClinicalKey provides quick access to full-text medical and surgical resources including ebooks, journal articles, clinical practice guidelines, point-of-care clinical monographs, procedural guides, images, videos, drug information, and patient education handouts.

To download book chapter PDFs, please log in or register for a free account. NOTE: Vendor recommends updating to most recent version of browser.
DynaMed
An evidence-based clinical reference tool written by physicians who synthesize the evidence and provide objective analysis to help health care providers in their daily practice. Designed to provide quick answers to clinical questions. Includes thousands of graphics and images, specialty content, mobile access, and enhanced drug information.
UpToDate
This resource presents current clinical information and recommendations on patient care and treatment. Includes evidence-based, physician-authored articles and patient education resources to help make clinical decisions.
VisualDX
An image-based clinical support tool to aid in the identification of indentifiable diseases; including, dermatologic, infectious, genetic, metabolic, drug-induced conditions, and occupational injuries.

PubMed

PubMed (MEDLINE)
MEDLINE is the National Library of Medicine's free bibliographic database covering the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and the preclinical sciences.

Psychiatry Test Prep & Review Books

Psychiatry Self-Assessment / LWW Health Library
Includes 77 questions and three clinical cases related to psychiatry. Note: you will need to create a free LWW personal account to use the self-assessment.

Blueprints Clinical Cases in Psychiatry, 2nd edition by Jennifer Hoblyn; Asher B. Simon; Judith Neugroschl; Aaron B. Caughey
Call Number: Medical Library Study Room - 102 KL (non-circulating) ; RC465 .H59 2008

ISBN: 9781405104968

Publication Date: 2008
Blueprints Psychiatry, 6th edition by Michael Murphy
Call Number: Medical Library Study Room - 102 KL (non-circulating) ; RC 457 .M87 2019

ISBN: 9781496381347

Publication Date: 2019
Case Files Psychiatry, 6th Edition by Eugene C. Toy; Debra L. Klamen
Call Number: Medical Library Study Room - 102 KL (non-circulating) ; RC465 .C285 2021

ISBN: 9781260468731

Publication Date: 2021
Clinical Medicine Complete 5-Book Subject Review 2023: Clinical Psychiatry by Kaplan Medical
Call Number: Medical Library Study Room - 102 KL (non-circulating) ; RC443 .C55 2023

ISBN: 9781506284217

Publication Date: 2023

Previous Title - USMLE CK Step 2 Lecture Notes
Deja Review Psychiatry, 2nd Edition by Abilash A. Gopal; Alexander E. Ropper; Louis A. Tramontozzi
Call Number: Medical Library Study Room - 102 KL (non-circulating) ; RC457 .G57 2011

ISBN: 9780071715164

Publication Date: 2011
First Aid for the Psychiatry Clerkship, 6th Edition by Latha Ganti; Matthew S. Kaufman; Sean M. Blitzstein
Call Number: Medical Library Study Room - 102 KL (non-circulating) ; RC480.5 .S665 2021

ISBN: 9781264257843

Publication Date: 2021
First Aid for the USMLE Step 2 CK, 11th Edition by Tao Le; Vikas Bhushan; Mona Ascha; Abhishek Bhardwaj; Marina Boushra; Daniel Griffin
Call Number: Medical Library Study Room - 102 KL (non-circulating) ; R834.5 .F523 2023

ISBN: 9781264855100

Publication Date: 2023
Kaplan and Sadock's Concise Textbook of Clinical Psychiatry, 5th edition by Robert Boland; Marcia Verduin
ISBN: 9781975167486

Publication Date: 2023
Kaplan and Sadock's Pocket Handbook of Clinical Psychiatry, 6th edition by Benjamin J. Sadock; Samoon Ahmad; Virginia A. Sadock
ISBN: 9781496386939

Publication Date: 2019
Lange Q&A Psychiatry, 11th Edition by Sean M. Blitzstein
Call Number: Medical Library Study Room - 102 KL (non-circulating) ; RC457 .E18 2017

ISBN: 9781259643941

Publication Date: 2017
NMS Psychiatry, 6th edition by Joshua T. Thornhill
Call Number: Medical Library Study Room - 102 KL (non-circulating) ; RC 457.2 .P78 2012

ISBN: 9781608315741

Publication Date: 2012
Psychiatry Made Ridiculously Simple, 5th edition by Jefferson Nelson; William Good
Call Number: Medical Library Study Room - 102 KL (non-circulating) ; RC454 .N45 2016

ISBN: 9781935660132

Publication Date: 2016
Psychiatry PreTest Self-Assessment and Review, 15th Edition by Debra L. Klamen; Philip Pan
Call Number: Medical Library Study Room - 102 KL (non-circulating) ; RC 457 .W66 2021

ISBN: 9781260467413

Publication Date: 2021
Study Guide to Psychiatry, 7th edition / A companion to the APA Textbook of Psychiatry by Philip R. Muskin; Anna L. Dickerman; Claire Holderness; Vivian Liu
ISBN: 9781615373291

Publication Date: 2022

Includes 414 questions.
Underground Clinical Vignettes: Psychiatry, 4th edition by Sandra I. Kim; Jason P. Caplan; Sandra Kim; Todd A. Swanson
Call Number: Medical Library Study Room - 102 KL (non-circulating) ; RC465 .B526 2007

ISBN: 9780781768467

Publication Date: 2007
USMLE Step 2 CK Lecture Notes 2022: 5-Book Set by Kaplan Medical
Call Number: Medical Library Study Room - 102 KL (non-circulating) ; R834.5 .U852 2022

ISBN: 9781506272467

Publication Date: 2022

Test Prep and Review Resources

Drug Information Resources

Micromedex
Micromedex provides access to information on drugs, toxicology, and diseases. The drug information is detailed, referenced, and includes drug comparisons and identification, therapeutic class searching, and dosing

Drug Information & Pharmacology Resources
A collection of all pharmacology resources available through the OUWB Medical Library.
Finding Answers to Questions on Drugs & Pharmacology
Determine which of the OUWB Medical Library resources to use in order to answer your drug or pharmacology question.

Multimedia Resources

Acland's Video Atlas of Human Anatomy
This resource includes three-dimensional videos of dissected human anatomic specimens. The videos show complex structures step by step - from bone to surface anatomy - to provide a foundation for understanding anatomical structure and function.
Anatomy.TV
An interactive 3D anatomy resource. Users may manipulate images by rotating, zooming, and removing layers to learn more about anatomical structures. It also includes MRI sections, slides, movies, animations, clinical text and patient education sheets..
Bates' Visual Guide
Bates Visual Guide contains videos of systems-based physical examination techniques for development of clinical skills.
To login, select the option: Library - Continue as anonymous library user.
IMAIOS (e-Anatomy)
e-Anatomy is an anatomical database providing more than 3,000 images of the human body. It provides cross-sectional, gross, and radiological anatomy derived from various types of medical imaging, including magnetic resonance imaging (MRI) and computed tomography (CT) scans.
Netter Reference
Collection of Netter Reference books that include anatomical images from the Green Books, Netter's Atlas of Human Anatomy, and Netter's Concise Radiologic Anatomy.

Anatomy Resources Comparison Chart
A chart comparing the Medical Library anatomy resources: description, ease of use, image types, mobile app, quizzes / self-assessment, and the ability to download / save images.

Journals

Browse All Behavioral Medicine Journals

Patient Education / Consumer Health Resources

MedlinePlus
MedlinePlus provides consumer health information for patients, families, and health care providers. Produced by the National Institutes of Health and other trusted sources, it includes extensive information about drugs, an illustrated medical encyclopedia, a medical dictionary, interactive patient tutorials, health care provider directories, and latest health news.

Access Medicine / Patient Education Handouts
Clinical Key / Patient Education Handouts
Micromedex / Care Notes
UpToDate Patient Education
UpToDate offers two levels of content for patients:
--The Basics are short overviews. They are written in accordance with plain language principles and answer the four or five most important questions a person might have about a medical problem.
--Beyond the Basics are longer, more detailed reviews. They are best for readers who want detailed information and are comfortable with some medical terminology.

Behavioral Medicine & Psychopathology

Contact Us

Library Tutorials

Medical Librarian