LibGuides: Resources for Conducting a Systematic Review: Home

Databases & Resources for Literature Searches

Biomedical Literature:

EMBase This link opens in a new window
European-based database with journal articles and other biomedical literature from an international perspective. It includes comprehensive coverage of biomedical information with an emphasis on drugs and pharmacology. Covers all journals in Medline and unique journals not included in Medline.
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
This is a collection of databases that contain evidence for healthcare decision-making. Includes systematic review abstracts, technology assessments, economic evaluations and individual clinical trials.
PubMed (MEDLINE) This link opens in a new window
MEDLINE is the National Library of Medicine's free bibliographic database covering the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and the preclinical sciences.

Discipline / Subject Specific:

CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window
A full-text database for nursing and allied health journals from 1937 to the present. It includes access to scholarly journal articles, dissertations, magazines, pamphlets, evidence-based care sheets, books, and research instruments.
ERIC This link opens in a new window
The authoritative index for education research sources including government reports, journal articles, and conference papers. Covers all education topic areas and is sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences of the U.S. Department of Education.
PsychiatryOnline This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to books, journals and guidelines from the American Psychiatric Association, including the DSM Library, APPI journals and ebooks, treatment guidelines, and patient info.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
This database provides indexing and abstracts for journal articles, books, chapters, and dissertations in psychology. Covers the research literature in all areas of psychology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. Other subjects such as neuroscience, psychiatry, and physiology are also included.
Social Work Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing and abstracts for journals dealing with all aspects of the social work field, including theory and practice, areas of service and social issues and problems.

Multidisciplinary Databases:

Scopus This link opens in a new window
Scopus is an abstract and citation database that supports research needs in the scientific, technical, medical, social sciences, and the arts and humanities. It provides tools for tracking citations, creating researcher profiles, and visualizing search results.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Provides access to the Arts & Humanities Index (A&HCI), Emerging Sources Citation Index (ESCI), Science Citation Index (SCI), and Social Science Citation Index (SSCI). The database can be searched by words in article titles and abstracts, by author, by journal, and to look for cited references.

Clinical Trials & Research Registers:

ClinicalTrials.gov / NIH
A registry and results database of publicly and privately supported clinical studies of human participants conducted around the world.
Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL) / Cochrane Library
The European Union Clinical Trails Register
ISRCTN
A simple numeric system for the unique identification of randomized controlled trails worldwide.

Dissertations & Theses:

Dissertations and Theses This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world. It includes materials from 1861 to the present day.
Dissertations and Theses @ OU This link opens in a new window
Provides full text access to Oakland University dissertations and theses.

EThOS
Open access to UK's doctoral research theses.
NOTE: This resource is temporarily unavailable due to a cyber attack as of 2/29/2024.

Grey Literature (not formerly published in sources such as books or journal articles):

Searching the Grey Literature: A Handbook for Searching Reports, Working Papers, and Other Unpublished Research by Sarah Bonato
ISBN: 9781538100646
Publication Date: 2018

GreyNet Newsletter
A quarterly newsletter on grey literature.
Grey Matters
The Canadian Agency for Drugs and Technologies in Health produces Grey Matters: a practical tool for evidence-based searching.
GreySource
GreySource is a web portal that provides links to a wide variety of information about grey literature. Maintained by GreyNet International, which also produces The Grey Journal.
OpenGrey
The System for Information on Grey Literature in Europe provides open access to 700,000 bibliographical references of grey literature from European sources.
Grey Literature / University of Michigan
Grey literature is the unpublished, non-commercial, hard-to-find information that organizations such as professional associations, research institutes, think tanks, and government departments produce.
Resources for Searching the Grey Literature / Duke University
Grey Literature Report / New York Academy of Medicine
A New York Academy of Medicine publication alerting readers to grey literature publications in health services research and selected public health topics. It was published from 1999 through 2016. Search this content by using the link and then limiting the search to Grey Literature (check box).

Search Filters / Hedges

PubMed Search Strategies Blog
Search Filters Resource
Filters built in several online databases (e.g., MEDLINE, CINAHL, PsycINFO, and EMBASE)
PRISMA for Searching

Learning about Systematic Reviews

Journal Articles:

Selected journal articles on conducting a systematic review / meta-analysis - from PubMed

eBooks:

Advances in Meta-Analysis by Terri Pigott
ISBN: 9781489993656
Publication Date: 2014
Cochrane Handbook for Systematic Reviews of Interventions by Julian P. T. Higgins (Editor); James Thomas (Editor); Jacqueline Chandler (Associate Editor); Miranda Cumpston (Associate Editor); Tianjing Li (Associate Editor); Matthew J. Page (Associate Editor); Vivian A. Welch (Associate Editor)
Call Number: Kresge Library, 3rd Floor - R 723.7 .C63 2019
ISBN: 9781119536628
Publication Date: 2019
Finding What Works in Health Care: Standards and Systematic Reviews by Jill Eden (Editor); Laura Levit (Editor); Alfred Berg (Editor); Sally Morton (Editor); Committee on Standards for Systematic Reviews of Comparative Effectiveness Research; Institute of Medicine; Board on Health Care Services Staff
ISBN: 9780309164252
Publication Date: 2011
How to Perform a Systematic Literature Review by Edward Purssell; Niall Mc Crae
ISBN: 9783030496715
Publication Date: 2020
Principles and Practice of Systematic Reviews and Meta-Analysis by Sanjay Patole (Editor)
ISBN: 9783030719203
Publication Date: 2021
Synthesizing Qualitative Research: Choosing the Right Approach by Karin Hannes; Craig Lockwood
ISBN: 9780470656389
Publication Date: 2012
Systematic Reviews by Carole Torgerson
ISBN: 9780826465801
Publication Date: 2003
Systematic Reviews in Health Care, 2nd edition by Matthias Egger (Editor); George Davey Smith (Editor); Douglas Altman (Editor)
Call Number: Books - 3rd Floor ; R 853 .S94 S94 2001
ISBN: 9780727914880
Publication Date: 2001

Print Books (3rd floor, Kresge Library):

Assembling the Pieces of a Systematic Review by Margaret J. Foster (Editor); Sarah T. Jewell (Editor)
Call Number: Books - 3rd Floor ; R 858 .S94 A87 2017
ISBN: 9781442277014
Publication Date: 2017
Finding What Works in Health Care by Jill Eden (Editor); Laura Levit (Editor); Alfred Berg (Editor); Sally Morton (Editor); Committee on Standards for Systematic Reviews of Comparative Effectiveness Research; Institute of Medicine; Board on Health Care Services Staff
ISBN: 9780309164252
Publication Date: 2011
The Handbook of Research Synthesis and Meta-Analysis, 3rd edition by Harris Cooper (Editor); Larry V. Hedges (Editor); Jeffrey C. Valentine (Editor)
Call Number: Kresge Library, 3rd Floor - Q 180.55 .M4 H35 2019
ISBN: 9780871540058
Publication Date: 2019
Introduction to Meta-Analysis, 2nd edition by Michael Borenstein; Larry V. Hedges; Julian P. T. Higgins; Hannah R. Rothstein
Call Number: Kresge Library, 3rd Floor - R 853 .M48 158 2021
ISBN: 9781119558354
Publication Date: 2021
Meta-Study of Qualitative Health Research: A Practical Guide to Meta-Analysis and Meta-Synthesis by Barbara L. Paterson; Sally E. Thorne; Connie Canam; Carol Jillings
Call Number: Books - 3rd Floor ; R 853 .M48 M47 2001
ISBN: 9780761924142
Publication Date: 2001
Systematic Reviews and Meta-Analysis by Julia H. Littell; Jacqueline Corcoran; Vijayan Pillai
Call Number: Books - 3rd Floor ; H 62 .L497 2008
ISBN: 9780195326543
Publication Date: 2008
Systematic Reviews in Health Care, 2nd edition by Matthias Egger (Editor); George Davey Smith (Editor); Douglas Altman (Editor)
Call Number: Books - 3rd Floor ; R 853 .S94 S94 2001
ISBN: 9780727914880
Publication Date: 2001
Systematic Reviews in Health Care: A Practical Guide by Paul Glasziou; Chris Bain; Graham Colditz; Les Irwig
Call Number: Books - 3rd Floor ; R 853 .S94 S945 2001
ISBN: 9780521799621
Publication Date: 2001

Guidelines for Conducting Systematic Reviews

PRISMA for Searching
The Preferred Reporting Items for Systematic Reviews and Meta-analysis (including PRISMA Checklist, PRISMA 2020 flow diagram, PRISMA Statement)
Extensions of the PRISMA Statement
Including PRISMA for Abstracts, Protocols, Scoping Reviews, Searching, etc.

Cochrane Handbook for Systematic Reviews of Interventions, 2nd edition by Julian P. T. Higgins (Editor); James Thomas (Editor); Jacqueline Chandler (Associate Editor); Miranda Cumpston (Associate Editor); Tianjing Li (Associate Editor); Matthew J. Page (Associate Editor); Vivian A. Welch (Associate Editor)
ISBN: 9781119536628
Publication Date: 2019

Protocol Registration

Covidence

Covidence is a web-based software program for managing and streamlining systematic reviews (screening and data extraction). View our Covidence Guide to learn how to login, import citations, review journal articles and more!
https://oakland.libguides.com/covidence

Getting Started with Covidence - Video

Covidence Tutorials

Covidence Quick Start Guide

Getting Started with Covidence - Videos
Main Steps of Covidence - Multiple Videos
Covidence YouTube Webinar, Part 1: Signing In and Importing References (7 minutes)
Covidence YouTube Webinar, Part 2: Title & Abstract / Screening & Settings (16 minutes)
Covidence YouTube Webinar, Part 3: Full-Text Screening (5 minutes)
Covidence YouTube Webinar, Part 4: Data Extraction (15 minutes)
Covidence YouTube Webinar, Part 5: Data Export (4 minutes)
Covidence Data Extraction - 2 Videos
Covidence Academy
Multiple videos, guides, and tutorials to assist you with Covidence.
Contact Covidence
Email - support@covidence.org

Covidence - Step by Step Guide to Completing Your Systematic Review

Resources for Conducting a Systematic Review

Contact Us / Research Help

Professor, Medical Librarian, PhD, MLIS

Medical Librarian

Databases & Resources for Literature Searches

Biomedical Literature:

Discipline / Subject Specific:

Multidisciplinary Databases:

Clinical Trials & Research Registers:

Dissertations & Theses:

Grey Literature (not formerly published in sources such as books or journal articles):

Search Filters / Hedges

Learning about Systematic Reviews

Journal Articles:

eBooks:

Print Books (3rd floor, Kresge Library):

Guidelines for Conducting Systematic Reviews

Protocol Registration

Covidence

Covidence is a web-based software program for managing and streamlining systematic reviews (screening and data extraction). View our Covidence Guide to learn how to login, import citations, review journal articles and more!
https://oakland.libguides.com/covidence

Covidence Tutorials

How to Conduct A Scoping Review

Resources for Conducting a Systematic Review

Databases & Resources for Literature Searches

Biomedical Literature:

Discipline / Subject Specific:

Multidisciplinary Databases:

Clinical Trials & Research Registers:

Dissertations & Theses:

Grey Literature (not formerly published in sources such as books or journal articles):

Search Filters / Hedges

Learning about Systematic Reviews

Journal Articles:

eBooks:

Print Books (3rd floor, Kresge Library):

Guidelines for Conducting Systematic Reviews

Protocol Registration

Covidence

Covidence is a web-based software program for managing and streamlining systematic reviews (screening and data extraction). View our Covidence Guide to learn how to login, import citations, review journal articles and more! https://oakland.libguides.com/covidence

Covidence Tutorials

How to Conduct A Scoping Review

Covidence is a web-based software program for managing and streamlining systematic reviews (screening and data extraction). View our Covidence Guide to learn how to login, import citations, review journal articles and more!
https://oakland.libguides.com/covidence