International Baccalaureate Programmes: Home

• Keyword Searching Strategies
• Tips for Conducting an Organized Lit Review
• Popular vs Scholarly Sources
• Evaluating Sources - online tutorial

Don't forget about the Michigan Electronic Library (MeL) databases, which are available to every Michigan resident. You just need your Michigan driver's license or ID card number!

Access the most relevant MeL databases or view a complete list of e-resources.

Please visit our Guest Users page for information on checking out materials, accessing the Internet while on campus, and more.

Library OneSearch is the recommended search tool for IB students. This resource allows users to search all of our 200+ databases at one time, searching across every discipline at once. This is an especially effective tool for interdisciplnary topics. 

Start your research in Library OneSearch:

If you would like to explore databases in specific subject areas, you can browse our Databases page to find resources listed by subject, title, and format. Please note that these databases are only available to guest users on campus.

Some relevant resources may include:

There are literally hundreds of digitized primary source collections available for free online -- here are just some options to explore!

Multidisciplinary Collections

• Digital Collections at the Library of Congress: This extensive resource includes digitized documents, visual material, audio recordings, sheet music, maps, and more. Subject areas include American history, architecture, business history, and performing arts.
• Digital Public Library of America: DPLA is a searchable online catalog of digitized collections in America's cultural institutions that provides free and immediate access to documents, photographs, books, maps, news footage, and more.
• HathiTrust: This collection includes millions of digitized titles from academic and research libraries around the world. Items in the public domain are available in full-text.

National Collections

• Early American Digital Archive: A collection of original texts written in or about the Americas from 1492 to approximately 1820, maintained by the University of Maryland Libraries.
• The Making of America: This is a collection of "primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through Reconstruction," provided through a partnership between the University of Michigan and Cornell University.
• National Archives: "See scanned images of America's founding documents accompanied by transcripts, investigate U.S. locations and buildings, explore military records and foreign policy documents, research civil rights movements and the people affected by them, and more."
• Chronicling America: The Library of Congress provides access to this collection of historic American newspapers from 1789-1963.

Local Collections

• Digital Collections from the Detroit Public Library
• Seeking Michigan: Nineteenth century Michigan materials available from HathiTrust. Items in the public domain are available in full-text.
• Michigan History Collection: Operated by the Michigan History Foundation, this site includes digitized primary source documents from pre-statehood to the late 1960s.