Find Research Articles

This is a select list of some of the OU Libraries' databases that you may find most useful when researching your mindfulness topic.

Alt-Health Watch
A full-text alternative health research database focused on complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness. It offers the latest information about the evolving practice of holistic medicine and therapies.
CINAHL Complete
A full-text database for nursing and allied health journals from 1937 to the present. It includes access to scholarly journal articles, dissertations, magazines, pamphlets, evidence-based care sheets, books, and research instruments.
Cochrane Library
This is a collection of databases that contain evidence for healthcare decision-making. Includes systematic review abstracts, technology assessments, economic evaluations and individual clinical trials.
PsycINFO
This database provides indexing and abstracts for journal articles, books, chapters, and dissertations in psychology. Covers the research literature in all areas of psychology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. Other subjects such as neuroscience, psychiatry, and physiology are also included.
PubMed (MEDLINE)
MEDLINE is the National Library of Medicine's free bibliographic database covering the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and the preclinical sciences.
Web of Science
Provides access to the Arts & Humanities Index (A&HCI), Emerging Sources Citation Index (ESCI), Science Citation Index (SCI), and Social Science Citation Index (SSCI). The database can be searched by words in article titles and abstracts, by author, by journal, and to look for cited references.

Don't see what you are looking for? Click here to see all the databases available in the health sciences.

Helpful Websites

American Mindfulness Research Association
The AMRA tracks systematic reviews and meta-analyses on mindfulness by year in an easy-to-use interface.

Database Tutorials

While I am always happy to provide one-on-one training in database searching, you may find these brief tutorials helpful for just-in-time learning.

CINAHL

The Ebscohost system, of which CINAHL is a part, underwent a significant interface redesign in summer 2024. These tutorials are for the old interface, but may still be helpful. New tutorials will be posted as soon as they are available.

PubMed

Web of Science

Helpful Tutorial

Reading Scholarly Articles

This three-lesson micro-course will teach you about how to effectively read scholarly articles. Throughout these lessons, you’ll have opportunities to check your understanding about the concepts discussed; these questions are all for practice and are ungraded. Once you’ve worked through these lessons, in order, you can take a quiz to test your knowledge -- a score of at least 80% will earn you the Reading Scholarly Articles credential (or badge)!

Once you’ve worked through this tutorial, you will be able to:

Describe the kinds of information you’ll find in scholarly and popular articles, and identify the differences between these kinds of resources.
Identify the sections of a scholarly article as well as the kinds of of information you can expect to find in each section.
Explain strategies to read scholarly articles meaningfully and intentionally, and pick out the strategies that will be most useful as you read scholarly articles in your discipline.

If you have any questions about this micro-course, please contact Amanda Hess, nichols@oakland.edu.