Find Background Information - HS 2000 - Introduction to Health and Health Behaviors

Sources for General Background Information

These resources are good starting points for finding background information on your topic.

AccessMedicine
This collection includes medical and basic sciences books, including Harrison's Textbook of Medicine. AccessMedicine also includes images, videos, diagnostic tools, patient education handouts, and drug information.
MedlinePlus
MedlinePlus provides consumer health information for patients, families, and health care providers. Produced by the National Institutes of Health and other trusted sources, it includes extensive information about drugs, an illustrated medical encyclopedia, a medical dictionary, interactive patient tutorials, health care provider directories, and latest health news.
Natural Medicines
A database of evidence-based information on complementary and alternative medicine. Includes databases on food and supplements, health and wellness, medical conditions, brands and manufacturers, genomics and proteomics, and environmental and animal health, among others.
UpToDate
This resource presents current clinical information and recommendations on patient care and treatment. Includes evidence-based, physician-authored articles and patient education resources to help make clinical decisions.

Government Websites

HealthFinder
Trusted information to help you and your family stay healthy. Part of the Office of Disease Prevention and Health Promotion, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services.
Healthy People 2030
Healthy People 2030 sets data-driven national objectives to improve health and well-being over the next decade. Part of the Office of Disease Prevention and Health Promotion, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services.
National Center for Health Statistics (NCHS)
Part of the CDC, the NCHS is a rich source of health statistics. Click the "Topics" tab to go to their FastStats page which pulls together key stats on a wide variety of topics.

Books and eBooks

Affective Determinants of Health Behavior by David M. Williams (Editor); Ryan E. Rhodes (Editor); Mark T. Conner (Editor)
Call Number: RA 423.8 .A34 2018 (3rd Floor)

ISBN: 9780190499037

Publication Date: 2018

In the last 20-30 years, research on affective determinants of health behavior has proliferated. Affective Determinants of Health Behavior brings together this burgeoning area of research into a single volume and features contributions from leading experts in their respective areas.
Encyclopedia of Behavioral Medicine by Marc Gellman (Editor)
ISBN: 9783030399016

Publication Date: 2020

A small sampling of entries: Active coping; Adherence; Behavioral medicine; Benefit-risk estimation; Binge eating; Cancer prevention; Children's Health Study; Coping strategies; Developmental disabilities; Diabetes; Disparities; Heart failure; Heart rate; Integrative medicine; Lifestyle, sedentary; Obesity; Physical activity interventions; Racism; Risky behavior; Self-medication; Successful aging; Women's health; Yoga
The Handbook of Health Behavior Change by Kristin A. Riekert (Editor); Judith K. Ockene (Editor); Lori Pbert (Editor)
Call Number: RA 776.9 .H36 2014 (3rd Floor)

ISBN: 9780826199355

Publication Date: 2013

Provides a comprehensive overview of behavior change as it relates to public health. Includes chapters on lifestyle change and prevention and chronic disease management, with an intensive focus on specific behaviors (i.e. diet and nutrition, tobacco use) and chronic illness (i.e diabetes, heart disease). A new section on Community, System, and Provider Interventions to Support Health Behavior Change focuses on the efficacy of interventions implemented within various systems such as schools, workplaces, and health care systems.
Health Behavior by Karen Glanz (Editor); Barbara K. Rimer (Editor); K. Viswanath (Editor)
ISBN: 9781118628980

Publication Date: 2015

The essential health behavior text, updated with the latest theories, research, and issues Health Behavior: Theory, Research and Practice provides a thorough introduction to understanding and changing health behavior, core tenets of the public health role. Covering theory, applications, and research, this comprehensive book has become the gold standard of health behavior texts.
The Oxford Handbook of Health Psychology by Howard S. Friedman (Editor)
Call Number: R 726.7 .O94 2001 (3rd Floor)

ISBN: 9780195342819

Publication Date: 2011

The flaws in today's healthcare systems and practices are well-documented: millions remain far from optimal health due to a variety of psychological and social factors; large numbers of patients do not fully cooperate with medical advice; errors in medical decision-making - some stemming from flaws in interpersonal relations - regularly lead to needless suffering and death. Further, the effects of emotions, personality, and motivation on healing are not well incorporated into traditional medical care.The Oxford Handbook of Health Psychology compiles the most relevant scholarship from psychology, medicine, and public health to offer a thorough and authoritative model of the biopsychosocial approach to health. A collection of international contributors addresses all relevant concepts in this model, including its applications to health promotion, health behavior change, and treatment.