These online reference sources are a good place to find short and easy to read summaries on environmental topics.
Environment Dictionary
by
The Environment Dictionary provides an essential source of information on all aspects of the environment. It includes all the basic scientific terms and concepts along with socio-economic, cultural, historical and political elements which impact on the environment. This dictionary provides the interdisciplinary approach required to understand environmental issues worldwide. Designed for a wide range of readers, the dictionary is up-to-date, easy to read and to reference and clearly and attractively presented. Selected environmental issues which have particular importance are treated in greater depth through a series of boxed case studies. A wide range of maps, diagrams, figures and photos illustrate the texts and extensie cross-referencing between entries ensures readers can build on their knowledge. References and further reading sections are drawn from a wide range of accessible sources - from newspaper articles and popular magazines to academic texts and journals and provide easy access to further study and development of readers' specific interests.
Dictionary of Environmental Science and Technology
by
Dictionary of Environmental Science and Technology. 4th edition. This superb and highly-acclaimed dictionary includes over 4000 in-depth entries on scientific and technical terminology, associated with environmental protection and resource management. In addition, it contains numerous illustrations, a wide range of international case studies and extensive cross-references to guide the reader. The fourth edition represents a major update with 30% new material, additional illustrations and a greatly expanded list of relevant web resources. Reviews of previous editions: This is a veritable Whitakers' Almanac of useful information on all aspects of science and the natural environment, and its author needs little introduction. It is as useful for dipping into -- being crammed with fascinating facts -- as it is for checking definitions. Essential for layman and specialist alike. ...Porteous' book will contribute to better understanding and protection of the world's environment... This dictionary is highly recommended as a valuable reference for both students and professionals working in environmental science and technology. ...a formidable rival of many much more expensive and heavier volumes. Porteous succeeds to precisely describe the chosen terms without compromise to readability. Cross-references nicely bring together additional or related information. The reader is often captured by the well-written text and is kept reading far beyond the sought-after term. Environmental Geology Dictionary of Environmental Science and Technology, Fourth Edition will be an indispensable reference for all students and professionals concerned with world's environment.
