LibGuides: Covidence: Getting Started

About Covidence

Covidence is a web-based software program for managing and streamlining systematic reviews: title/abstract screening, full-text screening, data extraction, and quality assessment. It was designed by researchers familiar with the systematic review process in order to make conducting reviews more efficient.

The OUWB Medical Library maintains a subscription to Covidence. It is free of charge for all Oakland University faculty, staff and students.

Contact the OUWB Medical Library for assistance in getting started with Covidence, setting up an account, as well as help with your literature search and importing citations.

Phone: 248-370-3772
Email: medref@oakland.edu

Creating a Covidence Account / Logging Into Covidence

Covidence - Sign Up or Sign In --

Covidence Sign-Up -- First time Covidence user? You need to first join Covidence with your OU email.
Covidence Sign-In / Login -- Already have an account? Once you have joined, you can log in to create and conduct reviews.

Signup Instructions: The link contains a one-time use 'Accept this invitation' button that will send you to a login page. Please check your spam folder if the email doesn't arrive in a few minutes. From there, you simply need to sign in or sign up for a Covidence account. You'll then be automatically linked to the organizational subscription.

Need help?

Contact the OUWB Medical Library to assist you with any aspect of Covidence:

Phone: 248-370-3772
Email: medref@oakland.edu

Steps of Your Research Project Using Covidence

Steps in the Research Process

A brief overview of your research project using Covidence:

Decide on your research project.
Gather your team members.
Identify the concepts and terminology you will be using.
Contact the OUWB Medical Library for assistance.
Select the databases that you will be searching.
Once your literature searches have been completed, you should import ALL of the citations retrieved from your database searches. Covidence will identify any duplicate citations.
The next step is screening the journal articles using the Title and Abstract. It is helpful to have your selection criteria (inclusion and exclusion) identified before your start the screening process. More than one of your team members can work on the screening process.
You can upload the PDF of the article at any point in the process.
After the Title / Abstract screening is completed, you can begin the Full-Text PDF review of the articles.

Databases & Resources for Literature Searches

Biomedical Literature:

EMBase This link opens in a new window
European-based database with journal articles and other biomedical literature from an international perspective. It includes comprehensive coverage of biomedical information with an emphasis on drugs and pharmacology. Covers all journals in Medline and unique journals not included in Medline.
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
This is a collection of databases that contain evidence for healthcare decision-making. Includes systematic review abstracts, technology assessments, economic evaluations and individual clinical trials.
PubMed (MEDLINE) This link opens in a new window
MEDLINE is the National Library of Medicine's free bibliographic database covering the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and the preclinical sciences.

Discipline / Subject Specific:

CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window
A full-text database for nursing and allied health journals from 1937 to the present. It includes access to scholarly journal articles, dissertations, magazines, pamphlets, evidence-based care sheets, books, and research instruments.
ERIC This link opens in a new window
The authoritative index for education research sources including government reports, journal articles, and conference papers. Covers all education topic areas and is sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences of the U.S. Department of Education.
PsychiatryOnline This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to books, journals and guidelines from the American Psychiatric Association, including the DSM Library, APPI journals and ebooks, treatment guidelines, and patient info.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
This database provides indexing and abstracts for journal articles, books, chapters, and dissertations in psychology. Covers the research literature in all areas of psychology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. Other subjects such as neuroscience, psychiatry, and physiology are also included.
Social Work Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing and abstracts for journals dealing with all aspects of the social work field, including theory and practice, areas of service and social issues and problems.

Multidisciplinary Databases:

Scopus This link opens in a new window
Scopus is an abstract and citation database that supports research needs in the scientific, technical, medical, social sciences, and the arts and humanities. It provides tools for tracking citations, creating researcher profiles, and visualizing search results.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Provides access to the Arts & Humanities Index (A&HCI), Emerging Sources Citation Index (ESCI), Science Citation Index (SCI), and Social Science Citation Index (SSCI). The database can be searched by words in article titles and abstracts, by author, by journal, and to look for cited references.

Clinical Trials & Research Registers:

ClinicalTrials.gov / NIH
A registry and results database of publicly and privately supported clinical studies of human participants conducted around the world.
Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL) / Cochrane Library
The European Union Clinical Trails Register
ISRCTN
A simple numeric system for the unique identification of randomized controlled trails worldwide.

Dissertations & Theses:

Dissertations and Theses This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world. It includes materials from 1861 to the present day.
Dissertations and Theses @ OU This link opens in a new window
Provides full text access to Oakland University dissertations and theses.

EThOS
Open access to UK's doctoral research theses.
NOTE: This resource is temporarily unavailable due to a cyber attack as of 2/29/2024.

Grey Literature (not formerly published in sources such as books or journal articles):

Searching the Grey Literature: A Handbook for Searching Reports, Working Papers, and Other Unpublished Research by Sarah Bonato
ISBN: 9781538100646
Publication Date: 2018

GreyNet Newsletter
A quarterly newsletter on grey literature.
Grey Matters
The Canadian Agency for Drugs and Technologies in Health produces Grey Matters: a practical tool for evidence-based searching.
GreySource
GreySource is a web portal that provides links to a wide variety of information about grey literature. Maintained by GreyNet International, which also produces The Grey Journal.
OpenGrey
The System for Information on Grey Literature in Europe provides open access to 700,000 bibliographical references of grey literature from European sources.
Grey Literature / University of Michigan
Grey literature is the unpublished, non-commercial, hard-to-find information that organizations such as professional associations, research institutes, think tanks, and government departments produce.
Resources for Searching the Grey Literature / Duke University
Grey Literature Report / New York Academy of Medicine
A New York Academy of Medicine publication alerting readers to grey literature publications in health services research and selected public health topics. It was published from 1999 through 2016. Search this content by using the link and then limiting the search to Grey Literature (check box).

Covidence

Contact Us / Research Help

Professor, Medical Librarian, PhD, MLIS

Medical Librarian

About Covidence

The OUWB Medical Library maintains a subscription to Covidence. It is free of charge for all Oakland University faculty, staff and students.

Contact the OUWB Medical Library for assistance in getting started with Covidence, setting up an account, as well as help with your literature search and importing citations.

Phone: 248-370-3772
Email: medref@oakland.edu

Creating a Covidence Account / Logging Into Covidence

Covidence - Sign Up or Sign In --

Need help?

Steps of Your Research Project Using Covidence

Steps in the Research Process

A brief overview of your research project using Covidence:

Databases & Resources for Literature Searches

Biomedical Literature:

Discipline / Subject Specific:

Multidisciplinary Databases:

Clinical Trials & Research Registers:

Dissertations & Theses:

Grey Literature (not formerly published in sources such as books or journal articles):

Help with Covidence

Contact the OUWB Medical Library:

Phone: 248-370-3772
Email: medref@oakland.edu

Go to the Covidence Help Page - https://support.covidence.org/help.

Contact Covidence directly at support@covidence.org

Covidence

About Covidence

The OUWB Medical Library maintains a subscription to Covidence. It is free of charge for all Oakland University faculty, staff and students.

Contact the OUWB Medical Library for assistance in getting started with Covidence, setting up an account, as well as help with your literature search and importing citations.

Phone: 248-370-3772 Email: medref@oakland.edu

Creating a Covidence Account / Logging Into Covidence

Covidence - Sign Up or Sign In --

Need help?

Steps of Your Research Project Using Covidence

Steps in the Research Process

A brief overview of your research project using Covidence:

Databases & Resources for Literature Searches

Biomedical Literature:

Discipline / Subject Specific:

Multidisciplinary Databases:

Clinical Trials & Research Registers:

Dissertations & Theses:

Grey Literature (not formerly published in sources such as books or journal articles):

Help with Covidence

Contact the OUWB Medical Library:

Phone: 248-370-3772 Email: medref@oakland.edu

Go to the Covidence Help Page - https://support.covidence.org/help.

Contact Covidence directly at support@covidence.org

Phone: 248-370-3772
Email: medref@oakland.edu

Phone: 248-370-3772
Email: medref@oakland.edu