Publication Manual 7th Edition of the American Psychological Association by
A WALL STREET JOURNAL, USA TODAY, AND PUBLISHERS WEEKLY BESTSELLER. The newest official release of the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, Seventh Edition includes four different formats--spiral-bound and tabbed, paperback, hardcover, and ebook, all of which are in full color. It is the official source for APA Style. With millions of copies sold worldwide in multiple languages, the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, Seventh Edition is the style manual of choice for writers, researchers, editors, students, and educators in the social and behavioral sciences, natural sciences, nursing, communications, education, business, engineering, and other fields. Known for its authoritative, easy-to-use reference and citation system, the Publication Manual also offers guidance on choosing the headings, tables, figures, language, and tone that will result in powerful, concise, and elegant scholarly communication. It guides users through the scholarly writing process--from the ethics of authorship to reporting research through publication. The seventh edition is an indispensable resource for students and professionals to achieve excellence in writing and make an impact with their work. The seventh edition has been thoroughly revised and updated to reflect best practices in scholarly writing and publishing. All formats are in full color, with a new tabbed spiral version Easy navigation, with topics divided into numbered sections to help users quickly location the information they need Resources for students on writing and formatting annotated bibliographies, response papers, and other paper types, guidelines on citing course materials, and guidance on writing clearly, precisely, and concisely Dedicated chapter for new users of APA Style covering paper elements and format, including sample papers for both professional authors and student writers New chapter on journal article reporting standards (JARS) that includes updates to reporting standards for quantitative research and the first-ever qualitative and mixed methods reporting standards in APA Style Updated chapter on bias-free language guidelines for writing about people with respect and inclusivity in areas including age, disability, gender, participation in research, racial and ethnic identity, sexual orientation, socioeconomic status, and intersectionality Updated chapter on essential style guidelines for scholarly writing, including punctuation, italics, capitalization, abbreviations, and numbers More than 40 new sample tables and figures Expanded guidance on ethical writing and publishing practices, including how to ensure the appropriate level of citation, avoid plagiarism and self-plagiarism, and navigate the publication process More than 100 new reference examples covering periodicals, books, audiovisual media, social media, webpages and websites, legal resources, and many other document types Guidelines that support accessibility for all users, including simplified reference, in-text citation, and heading formats as well as additional font options
Available at Kresge Library Service Desk and Reference / Non-Circulating collection (2nd floor).
Also at Educational Resources Lab (350 Pawley Hall).
Archives documents and collections are not included in the APA Publication Manual, Seventh Edition. However, the APA Style website contains guidelines for Archival Documents and Collections.
APA does not use endnotes or footnotes, unlike the Chicago or Turabian styles.
For the bibliography (reference list) in APA style:
Identify the specific item.
Find the information provided by the institution that holds this item. This will generally be online, in the form of an inventory of the collection. For example: the webpage for the Durward B. (Woody) Varner papers lists all the folders and boxes in the collection.
For example, to list a letter found in the Durward B. (Woody) Varner papers:
To cite an archival source in your text in APA style:
Insert author and date information in your text as you would for other sources.
For example:
Other examples (for photographs, newspaper articles, and more) can be found in the APA guidelines.
The Chicago Manual of Style, 17th Edition by
Technologies may change, but the need for clear and accurate communication never goes out of style. That is why for more than one hundred years The Chicago Manual of Style has remained the definitive guide for anyone who works with words. In the seven years since the previous edition debuted, we have seen an extraordinary evolution in the way we create and share knowledge. This seventeenth edition of The Chicago Manual of Style has been prepared with an eye toward how we find, create, and cite information that readers are as likely to access from their pockets as from a bookshelf. It offers updated guidelines on electronic workflows and publication formats, tools for PDF annotation and citation management, web accessibility standards, and effective use of metadata, abstracts, and keywords. It recognizes the needs of those who are self-publishing or following open access or Creative Commons publishing models. The citation chapters reflect the ever-expanding universe of electronic sources--including social media posts and comments, private messages, and app content--and also offer updated guidelines on such issues as DOIs, time stamps, and e-book locators. Other improvements are independent of technological change. The chapter on grammar and usage includes an expanded glossary of problematic words and phrases and a new section on syntax as well as updated guidance on gender-neutral pronouns and bias-free language. Key sections on punctuation and basic citation style have been reorganized and clarified. To facilitate navigation, headings and paragraph titles have been revised and clarified throughout. And the bibliography has been updated and expanded to include the latest and best resources available. This edition continues to reflect expert insights gathered from Chicago's own staff and from an advisory board of publishing experts from across the profession. It also includes suggestions inspired by emails, calls, and even tweets from readers. No matter how much the means of communication change, The Chicago Manual of Style remains the ultimate resource for those who care about getting the details right.
Available at Kresge Library Service Desk and Reference / Non-Circulating collection (2nd floor).
Resources for students are available online. A citation quick guide is also available. Specific requirements for citing archival materials are available in Sections 14.221 and 14.240 (pp. 854-857) of the Chicago Manual of Style.
For footnotes and endnotes in Chicago style:
Identify a specific item.
Find the information provided by the institution that holds this item. This will generally be online, in the form of an inventory of the collection. For example: the webpage for the Durward B. (Woody) Varner papers lists all the folders and boxes in the collection.
For example, to cite a letter found in the Durward B. (Woody) Varner papers:
If you cite this archival source more than once, you can abbreviate the citation the next time.
For bibliographies in Chicago style:
Generally, identify only the collection and repository, as well as the repository's geographic location.
For example:
MLA Handbook by
Relied on by generations of writers, the MLA Handbookis published by the Modern Language Association and is the only official, authorized book on MLA style. The new, ninth edition builds on the MLA's unique approach to documenting sources using a template of core elements--facts, common to most sources, like author, title, and publication date--that allows writers to cite any type of work, from books, e-books, and journal articles in databases to song lyrics, online images, social media posts, dissertations, and more. With this focus on source evaluation as the cornerstone of citation, MLA style promotes the skills of information and digital literacy so crucial today. The many new and updated chapters make this edition the comprehensive, go-to resource for writers of research papers, and anyone citing sources, from business writers, technical writers, and freelance writers and editors to student writers and the teachers and librarians working with them. Intended for a variety of classroom contexts--middle school, high school, and college courses in composition, communication, literature, language arts, film, media studies, digital humanities, and related fields--the ninth edition of the MLA Handbookoffers *New chapters on grammar, punctuation, capitalization, spelling, numbers, italics, abbreviations, and principles of inclusive language *Guidelines on setting up research papers in MLA format with updated advice on headings, lists, and title pages for group project *Revised, comprehensive, step-by-step instructions for creating a list of works cited in MLA format that are easier to learn and use than ever before *A new appendix with hundreds of example works-cited-list entries by publication format, including websites, YouTubevideos, interviews, and more *Detailed examples of how to find publication information for a variety of sources *Newly revised explanations of in-text citations, including comprehensive advice on how to cite multiple authors of a single work *Detailed guidance on footnotes and endnotes *Instructions on quoting, paraphrasing, summarizing, and avoiding plagiarism *A sample essay in MLA format *Annotated bibliography examples *Numbered sections throughout for quick navigation *Advanced tips for professional writers and scholars
Available at Kresge Library Service Desk and Reference / Non-Circulating collection (2nd floor).
Helpful tips on MLA style are available online through Purdue Online Writing Lab. Specific citation requirements are available in Part I (pp. 20 - 58) of the MLA Handbook.
The MLA style lists core elements needed to cite all sources, regardless of their format, including archival sources. However, some of the elements are not relevant for archival sources and can be omitted.
For a bibliography (Works Cited) in MLA style:
Identify a specific item.
Find the information provided by the institution that holds this item. This will generally be online, in the form of an inventory of the collection. For example: the webpage for the Durward B. (Woody) Varner papers lists all the folders and boxes in the collection.
For example, to cite a letter found in the Durward B. (Woody) Varner papers:
To cite an archival source in your text in MLA style:
Insert author information (the last name, in parentheses) in your text as you would for other sources.
For example:
A Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations, Ninth Edition by
When Kate L. Turabian first put her famous guidelines to paper, she could hardly have imagined the world in which today's students would be conducting research. Yet while the ways in which we research and compose papers may have changed, the fundamentals remain the same: writers need to have a strong research question, construct an evidence-based argument, cite their sources, and structure their work in a logical way. A Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations--also known as "Turabian"--remains one of the most popular books for writers because of its timeless focus on achieving these goals. This new edition filters decades of expertise into modern standards. While previous editions incorporated digital forms of research and writing, this edition goes even further to build information literacy, recognizing that most students will be doing their work largely or entirely online and on screens. Chapters include updated advice on finding, evaluating, and citing a wide range of digital sources and also recognize the evolving use of software for citation management, graphics, and paper format and submission. The ninth edition is fully aligned with the recently released Chicago Manual of Style, 17th edition, as well as with the latest edition of The Craft of Research. Teachers and users of the previous editions will recognize the familiar three-part structure. Part 1 covers every step of the research and writing process, including drafting and revising. Part 2 offers a comprehensive guide to Chicago's two methods of source citation: notes-bibliography and author-date. Part 3 gets into matters of editorial style and the correct way to present quotations and visual material. A Manual for Writers also covers an issue familiar to writers of all levels: how to conquer the fear of tackling a major writing project. Through eight decades and millions of copies, A Manual for Writers has helped generations shape their ideas into compelling research papers. This new edition will continue to be the gold standard for college and graduate students in virtually all academic disciplines.
Available at Kresge Library Service Desk and Reference / Non-Circulating collection (2nd floor).
Turabian quick style guidelines are also available online. Specific citation requirements are available in Part II (Chapters 15 to 19) of A Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations, Ninth Edition.
Turabian style is similar to the Chicago style.
For footnotes and endnotes in Turabian style:
Identify a specific item.
Find the information provided by the institution that holds this item. This will generally be online, in the form of an inventory of the collection. For example: the webpage for the Durward B. (Woody) Varner papers lists all the folders and boxes in the collection.
For example, to cite a letter found in the Durward B. (Woody) Varner papers:
If you cite this archival source more than once, you can abbreviate the citation the next time.
For bibliographies in Turabian style:
Generally, identify only the collection and repository, as well as the repository's geographic location.
For example:
