LibGuides: Citing Archival Sources: For More Information

For More Information - OU's Archives and Special Collections

At Oakland University, direct access to archival sources is typically at the discretion of the Archives & Special Collections. To contact the ASC directly, please call (248) 370-2419. Please be aware that visits to the ASC are to be made by appointment only.

More information about the ASC at Oakland University is available at the links below:

Archives & Special Collections
This page serves as the main hub of information for Oakland University's Archives & Special Collections. Find out the hours and location of the ASC, browse our digital exhibits, and learn how to engage in the process of archival research at Oakland University.
ASC Directory
Contact our colleagues in the ASC for research assistance and/or questions about the university's collections.
Digital Archives
OUR@Oakland is the online repository for digitized collections. Search this database when looking for online access to digital materials related to the history of the University and its impact in Oakland County, Michigan, and beyond.
Oakland University Digital Collections
ASC digitized collections are available for research and review, with new collections being added according to archives staff discretion.
Research Request Form
Looking for archival sources or access to our collections? The first step is contacting the ASC directly! Fill out a research request form with the full nature of your inquiry, and provide as much detail as possible. You will be contacted as soon as possible by our colleagues in the ASC.

For More Information - Citing Archival Sources

Citing Archival Sources guidelines (Purdue Online Writing Lab)
Tips on citing archival sources in adapted MLA format.

Chicago Style Citation Quick Guide
An overview and examples of citations for the most common types of sources.

Turabian Style sample citations
Examples provided by the Chicago/Turabian Manual of Style website.

APA style guidelines for archival documents and collections
A very thorough and clear presentation for archival sources.

Information in this guide is based on related guides developed by B.D. Owens Library, the Gerth Archives & Special Collections at CSUDH; and George J. Mitchell Department of Special Collections & Archives at the Bowdoin Library.