Statistics, Tests & Measures - EC 6995 - Research in Early Childhood

Statistics and Data Sources

The Libraries subscribe to two data-centric databases that are useful for education-related topics:

ICPSR
ICPSR is an international consortium of academic institutions and research organizations, which provides data access, curation, and methods of analysis for the social science research community. ICPSR web portal provides access to a data archive on topics in the social and behavioral sciences, including specialized collections in education, aging, criminal justice, substance abuse, terrorism, and other fields. Includes survey data, census records, election returns, economic data, and legislative records.

Access to download data requires the creation of a personal accout using your Oakland email address.
Statistical Abstract of the United States (Proquest)
ProQuest Statistical Abstract of the United States is the authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States. It is also designed to serve as a guide to other statistical publications and sources.

Historical statistical abstracts available 1878-2012

In addition to the Libraries' data and statistics resources, you can also use a number of internet resources to find education-related data and statistics.

Federal Data Sources:

NCES Resources	Other Federal Data Sources
National Center for Education Statistics - Common Core of Data, America's Public Schools: The US Department of Education's "primary database on public elementary and secondary education in the United States." This resource is comprehensive, annually updated, and nationally representative of all public K-12 schools and school districts. National Center for Education Statistics - Fast Facts: Concise information from the US Department of education "on a range of educational issues, from early childhood to adult learning." National Center for Education Statistics -- Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System (IPEDS): Collected information on US colleges, universities, and technical / vocational institutions. National Center for Education Statistics -- National Teacher and Principal Survey: These data represent "a system of related questionnaires that provide descriptive data on the context of public and private elementary and secondary education in addition to giving local, state, and national policymakers a variety of statistics on the condition of education in the United States." The Nation's Report Card: "The largest ongoing assessment of what U.S. students know and can do", provided via the US Department of Education.	The Nation's Report Card - State Profiles: Drill down the nationwide assessment data to specific states / jurisdictions. Civil Rights Data Collection from the US Department of Education: These data include information about enrollment demographics, preschool, math and science courses, Advanced Placement, SAT and ACT, student retention, harassment or bullying, discipline, restraint or seclusion, school staff, and school expenditures. ChildStats.gov - America's Children: The Federal Interagency Forum on Child and Family Statistics (the Forum) publishes America's Children: Key National Indicators of Well-Being (most recent: September 22, 2021). These reports represent collaboration between federal agencies that collect data on children across a range of domains, including family and social environment, economic circumstances, health care, physical environment and safety, behavior, education, and health. US Census Bureau -- School Enrollment Data: Includes enrollment information about elementary, middle, and high school, as well as colleges and professional schools; public, private, and homeschool data are all represented in this resource. MapED from the US Department of Education: Tool that allows you to create maps of educational data sets.

NCES Resources

Other Federal Data Sources

National Center for Education Statistics - Common Core of Data, America's Public Schools: The US Department of Education's "primary database on public elementary and secondary education in the United States." This resource is comprehensive, annually updated, and nationally representative of all public K-12 schools and school districts.
National Center for Education Statistics - Fast Facts: Concise information from the US Department of education "on a range of educational issues, from early childhood to adult learning."
National Center for Education Statistics -- Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System (IPEDS): Collected information on US colleges, universities, and technical / vocational institutions.
National Center for Education Statistics -- National Teacher and Principal Survey: These data represent "a system of related questionnaires that provide descriptive data on the context of public and private elementary and secondary education in addition to giving local, state, and national policymakers a variety of statistics on the condition of education in the United States." The Nation's Report Card: "The largest ongoing assessment of what U.S. students know and can do", provided via the US Department of Education.

The Nation's Report Card - State Profiles: Drill down the nationwide assessment data to specific states / jurisdictions.
Civil Rights Data Collection from the US Department of Education: These data include information about enrollment demographics, preschool, math and science courses, Advanced Placement, SAT and ACT, student retention, harassment or bullying, discipline, restraint or seclusion, school staff, and school expenditures.
ChildStats.gov - America's Children: The Federal Interagency Forum on Child and Family Statistics (the Forum) publishes America's Children: Key National Indicators of Well-Being (most recent: September 22, 2021). These reports represent collaboration between federal agencies that collect data on children across a range of domains, including family and social environment, economic circumstances, health care, physical environment and safety, behavior, education, and health.
US Census Bureau -- School Enrollment Data: Includes enrollment information about elementary, middle, and high school, as well as colleges and professional schools; public, private, and homeschool data are all represented in this resource.
MapED from the US Department of Education: Tool that allows you to create maps of educational data sets.

Other Useful Data Sources:

Data about Private / Charter Schools	State-level Data Sources
Council for American Private Education -- Facts and Studies National Charter School Resource Center from the US Department of Education: Provides " in-depth reports on a breadth of topics that are important to the charter school sector... [as well as] informative reports from supporting education organizations."	State of Michigan - School Accountability data: Information from "Michigan's school accountability systems," which "use statewide student assessment scores and other quality metrics to provide transparency on school performance for all Michigan public schools." MI School Data: Michigan's official education data source, which provides a dashboard for parents in the interest of transparency. State of Michigan - Center for Educational Performance and Information: This is the statewide agency that is "responsible for collecting, securely managing, and reporting education data in Michigan." State of Michigan - Bulletin 104, Michigan Public Schools ranked by Select Financial Information: These documents provide "various pieces of financial information about Michigan Public Schools including revenue and expenditure per pupil."

Data about Private / Charter Schools

State-level Data Sources

Council for American Private Education -- Facts and Studies
National Charter School Resource Center from the US Department of Education: Provides " in-depth reports on a breadth of topics that are important to the charter school sector... [as well as] informative reports from supporting education organizations."

State of Michigan - School Accountability data: Information from "Michigan's school accountability systems," which "use statewide student assessment scores and other quality metrics to provide transparency on school performance for all Michigan public schools."
MI School Data: Michigan's official education data source, which provides a dashboard for parents in the interest of transparency.
State of Michigan - Center for Educational Performance and Information: This is the statewide agency that is "responsible for collecting, securely managing, and reporting education data in Michigan."
State of Michigan - Bulletin 104, Michigan Public Schools ranked by Select Financial Information: These documents provide "various pieces of financial information about Michigan Public Schools including revenue and expenditure per pupil."

Information about Tests, Instruments, and Measures

It can be very difficult to find tests, instruments, or measures that others have used in their research -- often, these tools are proprietary and are owned by a testing company. However, the Libraries subscribe to several resources you can use to find information about tests and measures (and, occasionally, find the instruments as well):

Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print
A comprehensive guide and bibliography to contemporary testing instruments. Contains descriptive information (test purpose, publisher, pricing, population, and scores) and edited reviews written by leading content area experts.
PsycTESTS
Provides access to psychological tests, measures, scales, surveys, and other assessments as well as descriptive summaries of the test and its development and administration.

Librarian

Amanda Hess

she / her / hers

Email Me

Subjects: Counseling, Early Childhood Education, Education, Educational Leadership and Administration, Human Resource Development, Reading and Language Arts, Special Education, Teacher Development and Educational Studies

Library OneSearch

EC 6995 - Research in Early Childhood

Statistics and Data Sources

Federal Data Sources:

Other Useful Data Sources:

Information about Tests, Instruments, and Measures

Librarian