LibGuides: Team-Based Learning : Home

Welcome

The resources on this web page are created to assist medical students with their team-based learning activities in the preclinical courses. The list is not exhaustive but representative of online resources licensed by the OUWB Medical Library and those free on the Internet. If there are any other resources you would like to see listed on the page, please contact Misa Mi. Thank you.

Search for Background Information

Health Information Resources from Medical Library (Online textbooks):

AccessMedicine This link opens in a new window
This collection includes medical and basic sciences books, including Harrison's Textbook of Medicine. AccessMedicine also includes images, videos, diagnostic tools, patient education handouts, and drug information.
ClinicalKey This link opens in a new window
ClinicalKey provides quick access to full-text medical and surgical resources including ebooks, journal articles, clinical practice guidelines, point-of-care clinical monographs, procedural guides, images, videos, drug information, and patient education handouts.
To download book chapter PDFs, please log in or register for a free account. NOTE: Vendor recommends updating to most recent version of browser.
AccessMedicine - Case Files This link opens in a new window
This collection includes the clinical medicine and post-graduate level cases from the Case Files series books in an interactive format. The Case Files expose students to patient cases and is personalized to let users mark their progress through completed and unseen cases.
DynaMed Plus This link opens in a new window
An evidence-based clinical reference tool written by physicians who synthesize the evidence and provide objective analysis to help health care providers in their daily practice. Designed to provide quick answers to clinical questions. Includes thousands of graphics and images, specialty content, mobile access, and enhanced drug information.
UpToDate This link opens in a new window
This resource presents current clinical information and recommendations on patient care and treatment. Includes evidence-based, physician-authored articles and patient education resources to help make clinical decisions.
Micromedex This link opens in a new window
Micromedex provides access to information on drugs, toxicology, and diseases. The drug information is detailed, referenced, and includes drug comparisons and identification, therapeutic class searching, and dosing

Free Resources from NLM

Genetics / MedlinePlus
Genetic Testing Registry
A searchable database of 74,335 tests, 22,490 conditions, 18,737 genes, and 518 labs.
Gene Reviews
A point-of-care resource providing clinically relevant and medically actionable information for inherited conditions in a standardized journal-style format, covering diagnosis, management, and genetic counseling for patients and their families.
Consumer Product Information Database
Health and safety information on household products.
NLM Bookshelf
Free access to full-text books and documents in life science and healthcare.
NLM Bookshelf Quick Start Guide
NLM Bookshelf Tutorials
MedGen
A portal to information on medical genetics.

MedlinePlus This link opens in a new window
MedlinePlus provides consumer health information for patients, families, and health care providers. Produced by the National Institutes of Health and other trusted sources, it includes extensive information about drugs, an illustrated medical encyclopedia, a medical dictionary, interactive patient tutorials, health care provider directories, and latest health news.

Library OneSearch

What is Library OneSearch?

Library OneSearch -- Find Articles, Books, etc. / Search by Author or Title

Library OneSearch uses one search box to search across many of the OUWB library's resources, including everything from the library catalog and licensed databases to free resources on the Internet (e.g., PubMed).

Your list of results will have materials ranked by relevance regardless of format.

Google Scholar

Find Full Text Journal Articles

Journals - Finding Articles & Full-Text
Electronic Journal Collection from OU Libraries
Find out if a particular journal is available online with full content.
Request Journal Articles
Use ILLiad (Interlibrary Loan System) to request an article that is not available through the OU libraries system.

Search for Journal Articles

PubMed (MEDLINE) This link opens in a new window
MEDLINE is the National Library of Medicine's free bibliographic database covering the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and the preclinical sciences.

PubMed User Guide
Entrez
Search multiple databases in biomedical and life sciences simultaneously. These databases (including PubMed), maintained by the National Library of Medicine, cover a wide range of disciplines and subjects.
Entrez User Guide

Dictionaries

Acronym Finder
MedlinePlus Medical Encyclopedia
4,000 articles on diseases, tests, symptoms, injuries, and surgery; an extensive collection of medical photographs and illustrations.
Merriam-Webster Medical Dictionary
Stedman's Medical Dictionary

Anatomical Resources

Acland's Video Atlas of Human Anatomy This link opens in a new window
This resource includes three-dimensional videos of dissected human anatomic specimens. The videos show complex structures step by step - from bone to surface anatomy - to provide a foundation for understanding anatomical structure and function.
Anatomy.TV This link opens in a new window
An interactive 3D anatomy resource. Users may manipulate images by rotating, zooming, and removing layers to learn more about anatomical structures. It also includes MRI sections, slides, movies, animations, clinical text and patient education sheets..
Bates' Visual Guide This link opens in a new window
Bates Visual Guide contains videos of systems-based physical examination techniques for development of clinical skills.
IMAIOS (e-Anatomy) This link opens in a new window
e-Anatomy is an anatomical database providing more than 3,000 images of the human body. It provides cross-sectional, gross, and radiological anatomy derived from various types of medical imaging, including magnetic resonance imaging (MRI) and computed tomography (CT) scans.
Netter Reference This link opens in a new window
Collection of Netter Reference books that include anatomical images from the Green Books, Netter's Atlas of Human Anatomy, and Netter's Concise Radiologic Anatomy.

Anatomy Resources Comparison Chart
A chart comparing the Medical Library anatomy resources: description, ease of use, image types, mobile app, quizzes / self-assessment, and the ability to download / save images.

Team-Based Learning

Contact Us / Research Help

Professor, Medical Librarian, PhD, MLIS

Medical Librarian