Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Using GET IT @ OU Libraries to Find Full-Text Articles

How do you find full-text articles? Use GET IT!

Library Contact

Instruction and Research Help

KL 235

248.370.4426

ref@oakland.edu

http://library.oakland.edu/ask/index.htm

Using GET IT @ OU Libraries

Using GET IT @ OU Libraries to Find Full-Text Articles

How do you find full-text articles?  Use GET IT!
 

What is GET IT?  GET IT links connect you to the library’s electronic journal collections.

Here's an example: This article is from the ERIC database. There’s no PDF or HTML full-text link, so the complete article is not available in this particular database.  Instead you can use the GET IT @ OU Libraries link in the upper right corner to check if the full-text is available from elsewhere in the library collection.

Screenshot from ERIC database of an article record with the Get It @ OU Libraries link highlighted.

Once you click GET IT, you will be taken to the library record with a link to the full-text article if OU has access to it. Click on the link to view the location of the full-text.

Screenshot of article record in Library OneSearch with Full text availability link highlighted.

Once you are there, locate the full-text link.  It will most likely be a PDF.

Screenshot from the Science Direct database of an article result with Download PDF link highlighted.


Not every article is available online, so when you click the GET IT button, you might see a screen like this with a link to Request via Interlibrary Loan:

Screenshot of article record in Library OneSearch with Request via Interlibrary Loan link highlighted.

This link will take you to the ILLiad Interlibrary Loan service where you can request your item from another library.

Screenshot of ILLiad interlibrary loan logon page with logon fields highlighted.

Alternatively, you may see a screen like this:

Screenshot of article record in Library OneSearch with Locations highlighted.  

This shows that the library has the article in print. Print Journals can be located on the 4th floor of the library.

If you have any questions, please ask a librarian for assistance.