Home - MDM1 9123 - Hematopoietic & Lymphoid - LibGuides at Oakland University

Required and Recommended Textbooks

Hematology:

REQUIRED: Harrison's Hematology and Oncology, 3rd edition by Dan L. Longo
Call Number: Medical Library Study Room - 102 KL (non-circulating) ; RC46 .H33 2017
ISBN: 9781259835834
Publication Date: 2016

Biochemistry:

RECOMMENDED / NEW EDITION!: Marks' Basic Medical Biochemistry, 6th edition by Michael A. Lieberman; Alisa Peet
Call Number: NEW EDITION! Medical Library Study Room 102 KL (non-circulating) - QP514.2 .L54 2023
ISBN: 9781975150143
Publication Date: 2023

Cell Biology / Molecular Biology:

RECOMMENDED: Essential Cell Biology, 6th edition by Bruce Alberts; Karen Hopkin; Alexander Johnson; David Morgan; Keith Roberts; Peter Walter; Rebecca Heald
Call Number: Medical Library Study Room - 102 KL (non-circulating) ; QH 581.2 .E78 2023
ISBN: 9781324033356
Publication Date: 2023
Print book only; no electronic version is available.

Genetics:

RECOMMENDED: Thompson and Thompson Genetics and Genomics in Medicine, 9th edition by Ada Hamosh MD, MPH, Ronald Cohn MD, FACMG, Stephen Scherer PhD
Call Number: Medical Library Study Room - 102 KL (non-circulating) ; RB 155 .T52 2024
ISBN: 9780323547628
Publication Date: 2024

Histology:

REQUIRED: Junqueira's Basic Histology: Text and Atlas, 17th Edition by Anthony L. Mescher
Call Number: Medical Library Study Room - 102 KL (non-circulating) ; QL 807 .M473 2024
ISBN: 9781264930395
Publication Date: 2023

Immunology:

RECOMMENDED: Basic Immunology, 7th edition by Abul K. Abbas; Andrew H. Lichtman; Shiv Pillai
Call Number: Medical Library Study Room - 102 KL (non-circulating) ; QR 181 .A28 2024
ISBN: 9780443105197
Publication Date: 2024

Microbiology:

RECOMMENDED: Medical Microbiology, 9th edition by Patrick R. Murray; Ken S. Rosenthal; Michael A. Pfaller
Call Number: Medical Library Study Room - 102 KL (non-circulating) ; QR46 .M4683 2021
ISBN: 9780323673228
Publication Date: 2020

Pathology:

RECOMMENDED: Robbins and Cotran Pathologic Basis of Disease, 11th edition by Vinay Kumar (Editor); Abul Abbas (Editor); Jon C. Aster (Editor); Andrea T. Deyrup (Editor)
Call Number: Medical Library Study Room - 102 KL (non-circulating) ; RB111 .K895 2023
ISBN: 9780323790185
Publication Date: 2023

Pharmacology:

RECOMMENDED: Principles of Pharmacology, 4th edition by David E. Golan
Call Number: Medical Library Study Room - 102 KL (non-circulating) ; RM301 .P65 2017
ISBN: 9781451191004
Publication Date: 2017

Physiology:

RECOMMENDED: Guyton and Hall Textbook of Medical Physiology, 14th edition by John E. Hall; Michael E. Hall
Call Number: Medical Library Study Room - 102 KL (non-circulating) ; QP 34.5 .G9 2021
ISBN: 9780323597128
Publication Date: 2021

Test Prep and Review Books

First Aid for the Basic Sciences: Organ Systems, 3rd Edition by Tao Le; William Hwang; Vinayak Muralidhar; Jared A. White
Call Number: Medical Library Study Room - 102 KL (non-circulating) ; R834.5 .F572 2017
ISBN: 9781259587030
Publication Date: 2017
Chapter 4 is dedicated to reviewing Hematology and Oncology concepts.
MedEssentials for the USMLE Step 1, 5th edition by Kaplan Medical
Call Number: Medical Library Study Room - 102 KL (non-circulating) R 834.5 .M355 2020
ISBN: 9781506223599
Publication Date: 2020
Chapter 9 reviews the Hematopoietic and Lymphatic system.
USMLE Step 1 Secrets in Color, 4th edition by Thomas A. Brown
Call Number: Medical Library Study Room - 102 KL (non-circulating) R834.5 .B765 2017
ISBN: 9780323396790
Publication Date: 2017
Chapter 14 reviews hematology.

Test Prep and Review Resources

BoardVitals This link opens in a new window
You must sign up with your @oakland.edu email here to access the Board Vitals question banks.

An interactive and powerful board review tool that can be used by practicing clinicians, residents and several types of healthcare students. With BoardVitals, you have the ability to create customized practice tests using many options including number of questions, subjects and more. Included are detailed, up-to-date explanations with each answer, with references and links to applicable sources.

Important Board Vitals Information:

Some of our students have reported problems with accessing the question banks on Board Vitals. Please be sure to follow these steps when registering for an account.

Use this link to register for an account. Be sure to use your Oakland University email.
Use this link to access the Board Vitals question banks. Log in with your OU email and the password you created when you registered for your account.

Still having problems? Email medref@oakland.edu - We are always happy to help!

Clinical Information

AccessMedicine This link opens in a new window
This collection includes medical and basic sciences books, including Harrison's Textbook of Medicine. AccessMedicine also includes images, videos, diagnostic tools, patient education handouts, and drug information.
ClinicalKey This link opens in a new window
ClinicalKey provides quick access to full-text medical and surgical resources including ebooks, journal articles, clinical practice guidelines, point-of-care clinical monographs, procedural guides, images, videos, drug information, and patient education handouts.
To download book chapter PDFs, please log in or register for a free account. NOTE: Vendor recommends updating to most recent version of browser.
DynaMed Plus This link opens in a new window
An evidence-based clinical reference tool written by physicians who synthesize the evidence and provide objective analysis to help health care providers in their daily practice. Designed to provide quick answers to clinical questions. Includes thousands of graphics and images, specialty content, mobile access, and enhanced drug information.
UpToDate This link opens in a new window
This resource presents current clinical information and recommendations on patient care and treatment. Includes evidence-based, physician-authored articles and patient education resources to help make clinical decisions.
VisualDX This link opens in a new window
An image-based clinical support tool to aid in the identification of indentifiable diseases; including, dermatologic, infectious, genetic, metabolic, drug-induced conditions, and occupational injuries.

PubMed

PubMed (MEDLINE) This link opens in a new window
MEDLINE is the National Library of Medicine's free bibliographic database covering the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and the preclinical sciences.

Drug Information Resources

Clinical Pharmacology This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive drug database that contains up-to-date, detailed information on thousands of drugs. Users can run reports on interactions, search by indication and contraindication, check IV compatibility, and print patient information materials.
Micromedex This link opens in a new window
Micromedex provides access to information on drugs, toxicology, and diseases. The drug information is detailed, referenced, and includes drug comparisons and identification, therapeutic class searching, and dosing

Drug Information & Pharmacology Resources
A collection of all pharmacology resources available through the OUWB Medical Library.
Finding Answers to Questions on Drugs & Pharmacology
Determine which of the OUWB Medical Library resources to use in order to answer your drug or pharmacology question.

Multimedia Resources

Acland's Video Atlas of Human Anatomy This link opens in a new window
This resource includes three-dimensional videos of dissected human anatomic specimens. The videos show complex structures step by step - from bone to surface anatomy - to provide a foundation for understanding anatomical structure and function.
Anatomy.TV This link opens in a new window
An interactive 3D anatomy resource. Users may manipulate images by rotating, zooming, and removing layers to learn more about anatomical structures. It also includes MRI sections, slides, movies, animations, clinical text and patient education sheets..
Bates' Visual Guide This link opens in a new window
Bates Visual Guide contains videos of systems-based physical examination techniques for development of clinical skills.
IMAIOS (e-Anatomy) This link opens in a new window
e-Anatomy is an anatomical database providing more than 3,000 images of the human body. It provides cross-sectional, gross, and radiological anatomy derived from various types of medical imaging, including magnetic resonance imaging (MRI) and computed tomography (CT) scans.
Netter Reference This link opens in a new window
Collection of Netter Reference books that include anatomical images from the Green Books, Netter's Atlas of Human Anatomy, and Netter's Concise Radiologic Anatomy.

Anatomy Resources Comparison Chart
A chart comparing the Medical Library anatomy resources: description, ease of use, image types, mobile app, quizzes / self-assessment, and the ability to download / save images.

Journals

Browse All Hematopoietic & Lymphoid Journals

Hematopoietic Patient Education Resources

Blood, Heart & Circulation / MedlinePlus
Includes a variety of topics related to the cardiovascular system. Look for plain language summaries, videos, images, and links to non-profit and government agencies.
Bleeding Disorders A-Z / National Hemophilia Association
Overviews of bleeding disorders and links to advocacy groups and non-profit organizations.
Medical Tests / MedlinePlus
Information on medical tests, including what the tests are used for, why a test is ordered, how a test will feel, and what the results may mean.
Diagnostic Tests / MedlinePlus
A list of common diagnostic tests.

Patient Education / Consumer Health Resources

MedlinePlus This link opens in a new window
MedlinePlus provides consumer health information for patients, families, and health care providers. Produced by the National Institutes of Health and other trusted sources, it includes extensive information about drugs, an illustrated medical encyclopedia, a medical dictionary, interactive patient tutorials, health care provider directories, and latest health news.

Access Medicine / Patient Education Handouts
Clinical Key / Patient Education Handouts
Micromedex / Care Notes
UpToDate Patient Education
UpToDate offers two levels of content for patients:
--The Basics are short overviews. They are written in accordance with plain language principles and answer the four or five most important questions a person might have about a medical problem.
--Beyond the Basics are longer, more detailed reviews. They are best for readers who want detailed information and are comfortable with some medical terminology.

MDM1 9123 - Hematopoietic & Lymphoid

Contact Us / Research Help

Library Tutorials

Mobile Apps

Stay Connected with the Medical Library

Medical Librarian