Michigan History Directory
Reference, F561 .M5
Local Historical Organizations
Historical societies, museums, archives, and other history organizations that are members of the Historical Society of Michigan
State Library and Archives
The Archives of Michigan preserves the records of the Michigan government and other public institutions. The collections also include documents, maps, photographs and film from private individuals and organizations. The Library of Michigan collects all Michigan publications.
Bentley Historical Library (University of Michigan)
Collections that range from the papers of governors of Michigan, to the records of student and faculty life at the University of Michigan, to the papers of many Michigangers and the records of Michigan organizations.
Clarke Historical Library (Central Michigan University)
Collections on the history of Michigan and the Old Northwest Territory and the history of Central Michigan University.
Michigan State University Archives and Special Collections
Materials that document Michigan State University, the physical campus and grounds, early student life, the lumber industry, environmentalism in Michigan, and the Civil War.
The Wright Museum of African American History
Houses over 35,000 artifacts and archival materials and is home to the Blanche Coggin Underground Railroad Collection, Harriet Tubman Museum Collection, Coleman A. Young Collection and the Sheffield Collection, a repository of documents of the labor movement in Detroit.
The Arab American National Museum’s Russell J. Ebeid Library & Resource Center (L&RC)
Administers the single largest collection of materials by and about Arab Americans.
The Walter P. Reuther Library of Labor and Urban Affairs
Collections of numerous unions and labor-related organizations. Its collection strengths extend to the political and community life of urban and metropolitan Detroit, the civil rights movement in Michigan and nationally, and women's struggles in the workplace.
The Burton Historical Collection (Detroit Public Library)
Vast collection of local history (including genealogy). It includes personal papers, records of organizations, businesses and churches, as well as the governmental archives of Detroit and Wayne County. Also photographs and clippings. Also a subject file on many aspects of local history.
The Ernie Harwell Sports Collection (Detroit Public Library)
Primarily focuses on baseball and includes books, programs, scorecards, baseball cards, video and audio tapes of games, clippings, and photographs.
The National Automotive History Collection
Automotive archive documenting the history and development of the automobile and other wheeled land transportation.
The E. Azalia Hackley Collection of African Americans in the Performing Arts
Includes photographs, recordings, rare books, manuscripts, and archives of performing artists.
