The University Archives and Special Collections at Kresge Library have a number of original collections documenting Michigan history, especially Oakland County:
Oakland Press archive
The entire archive of the Oakland Press, formerly Pontiac Press, covering all issues 1835-2007; photographic archive for the 1960s-2000s.
Oakland County Historical Records
Tax rolls and other records of Oakland County and townships going back to the 1830s
Eugene Mack papers
Papers of a prominent farmer and business and civic leader of Addison Township, in Oakland County
Oakland County Tuberculosis Sanatorium records
Correspondence of the sanatorium's business manager. The sanatorium operated from 1927 to 1964, when the building and property were sold to Oakland Community College
Billie S. Farnum papers
Billie Farnum served in the House of Representatives as a Democrat for the new 19th Congressional District in 1965-1967. Before that he was Assistant Secretary of State of Michigan (1957-1960) and Auditor General of Michigan (1961-1965).
Michael J. Rogers Congressional Collection
Michael J. "Mike" Rogers (1963- ) served as a Republican member of the U.S. House of Representatives between 2001 and 2015, representing Michigan's 8th District. He was the chairman of the Permanent Select Committee on Intelligence (2010-2015). Before his election to the U.S. House of Representatives, he served as a Senator in the Michigan Senate in 1994-2000.
City Directories
Special Collections at Kresge Library also contain numerous reports regarding regional planning, economics, architectural heritage, and other topics for southeast Michigan cities and regions. Search the library's collections or ask special collections staff.
Other local history collections at Kresge Library are listed on the Special Collections website
Collected materials presented at the annual meetings of the Michigan Pioneer and Historical Society since 1876.
The first 7 volumes include mostly pioneer reminiscences, short biographies, and the proceedings of the local pioneer societies. Starting in 1886, original primary sources were included.
Online or at KL, for years 1874-1912 (F 561 .M47)
A Classified Finding List of the Collections of the Michigan Pioneer and Historical Society (F561 .M4712) can help understand how the volumes are organized. For more information, see Eastern Michigan University guide.
