History of Oakland County, Michigan

T. Seeley, History of Oakland County Michigan: A narrative account of its historic progress, its people, its principal interests (1912)
Chapters on the history of Pontiac to 1912.

L.D. Avery, An Account of Oakland County (1925)
A chapter on Pontiac.

Polk's Pontiac City Directory (1927-1930, 1945-1946,1948,1950,1952-1953)
    At KL, F 574 .P55 P6 (Special Collections)
Names and contact information for individuals and businesses in Pontiac; information on institutions, industry, and other aspects of life in Pontiac.

N. Kilmer, Pontiac Township, 1827-1983: The End of an Era (1983)
    At KL, F 572 .P6 R3 (3rd floor and Special Collections)

 S. Woods, Pontiac: The Making of a U.S. Automobile Capital, 1818-1950 (1991)
    At KL, F 574 .P6 W6 1992 (3rd floor and Special Collections)

A. Russell, Blacks in Pontiac (1977)
    At KL, F 574 .P55 R8 1977 (Special Collections)
Short biographies of prominent African American residents of Pontiac in the mid-1970s with photographs.

This newspaper, which was long based in Pontiac, has long been one of the main newspapers in Oakland County.

Its archive is available at the Archives and Special Collections in Kresge Library.

Contents:

• A rich photographic archive of the Oakland Press from the 1950s through the 2000s (40 linear ft. of prints and 1,914,318 digital images.
• a complete microfilm collection of all issues since 1845 until 2007.
• print copies of some issues from 1851 to 1905.

Some recent issues of the Oakland Press can be found online. Learn how to find them.

This project of the OU Urban Affairs in 1975-1977 documented the experiences of African Americans in Pontiac. 39 oral histories address all aspects of life in Pontiac before World War II from working conditions to churches.

Contact OU Archives and Special Collections to access them.

Learn more about the collection's origin.