Oakland County Plat Maps – F. Hess, Surveyor (1857)
Large map of Oakland County.
The Archives and Special Collections at OU offers numerous collections documenting Oakland County's history. For example:
Oakland Press (formerly Pontiac Press) archive
The complete run of the newspaper from 1845 to 2007 (on microfilm); large collection of photographs covering the 1950s through the 2000s.
Eugene Mack Papers
Personal archive of Eugene Mack, a prominent farmer and business and civic leader of Addison Township, in Oakland County. Includes notebooks, diaries and ledgers as well as legal documents, correspondence, receipts and other miscellaneous documents relating to his activities as a farmer, business man, and civic leader, mostly from the 1880s through the 1910s.
Billy S. Farnum Papers
Papers of Billy Farnum who represented the 19th Congressional District in Oakland County in the House of Representatives (1965-1967). Local issues are documented, especially the implementation of the Johnson Administration's War on Poverty programs in Oakland County.
Oakland County Tuberculosis Sanatorium Records
Selected archive of the sanatorium, 1929-1949.
See the complete list.
Oakland County Historical Resources
Digitized history materials from local cultural heritage organizations, including local newspapers.
Michigan Memories
A portal for Michigan digitized collections, including Oakland County
Other local history collections
The Digital Public Library of America offers online access to other digital collections about Oakland County
Library of Congress digital collections
Photographs, maps, and other resources about Oakland County
Bloomfield Township Digital Library
Historical resources and archive of the Bloomfield-Birmingham Eccentric Newspaper, 1882-1964
Rochester Hills Public Library - Local History
Yearbooks and other digitized materials; also lists of physical collections
Pontiac Public Library - Pontiac History
Some digitized materials, including selected issues of the Pontiac Herald and Pontiac News, as well as photographs
Browse all publications about Oakland County available at Kresge Library.
