Searching for Literature - NRS 6761 - Emergency Preparedness and Disaster Management

Getting Started

START by exploring Library OneSearch (includes books, ebooks, academic journals, newspapers).

*Try search terms like "health promotion" AND "at risk" AND teen* (using * will get teens, teenages etc) and use facets on left to narrow by source type - choose "Academic Journals."

Searching CINAHL

CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window
A full-text database for nursing and allied health journals from 1937 to the present. It includes access to scholarly journal articles, dissertations, magazines, pamphlets, evidence-based care sheets, books, and research instruments.

CINAHL Virtual Workshop - available live or as a recorded webinar
CINAHL: Locating Nursing Research Articles - which limits to use in Advanced Search
CINAHL: Reading and Emailing Records - how to use email feature and get full text of articles

Other Recommended Databases

PubMed (MEDLINE) This link opens in a new window
MEDLINE is the National Library of Medicine's free bibliographic database covering the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and the preclinical sciences.
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
This is a collection of databases that contain evidence for healthcare decision-making. Includes systematic review abstracts, technology assessments, economic evaluations and individual clinical trials.

Visit the full list of Library Databases in Nursing.

Nursing Librarian

Mariela Hristova

she / her

Subjects: Nursing