Find Books and Articles

START by exploring Library OneSearch (includes books, ebooks, academic journals, newspapers)

*Try search terms like "health promotion" AND "at risk" AND teen* (using * will get teens, teenages etc) and use facets on left to narrow by source type - choose "Limit to articles from scholarly publications, including peer-review"

Recommended databases:

CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window
A full-text database for nursing and allied health journals from 1937 to the present. It includes access to scholarly journal articles, dissertations, magazines, pamphlets, evidence-based care sheets, books, and research instruments.
PubMed (MEDLINE) This link opens in a new window
MEDLINE is the National Library of Medicine's free bibliographic database covering the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and the preclinical sciences.
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
This is a collection of databases that contain evidence for healthcare decision-making. Includes systematic review abstracts, technology assessments, economic evaluations and individual clinical trials.

Selected Community Health Books

Community health nursing: an alliance for health / edited by Stephen Paul Holzemer, Marilyn Klainberg.:Jones & Bartlett Learning, c2014

Community as partner: theory and practice in nursing / Elizabeth T. Anderson, Judith McFarlane.Wolters Kluwer Health/Lippincott Williams & Wilkins, c2011.

Foundations of nursing in the community: community-oriented practice / Marcia Stanhope, Jeanette Lancaster.Mosby/Elsevier, c2010.

Nursing Librarian

Mariela Hristova

she / her

Subjects: Nursing