Find Books and Articles

START by exploring Library OneSearch (includes books, ebooks, academic journals, newspapers)

*Try search terms like "health promotion" AND "at risk" AND teen* (using * will get teens, teenages etc) and use facets on left to narrow by source type - choose "Limit to articles from scholarly publications, including peer-review"

Recommended databases:

CINAHL Complete
A full-text database for nursing and allied health journals from 1937 to the present. It includes access to scholarly journal articles, dissertations, magazines, pamphlets, evidence-based care sheets, books, and research instruments.
PubMed (MEDLINE)
MEDLINE is the National Library of Medicine's free bibliographic database covering the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and the preclinical sciences.
Cochrane Library
This is a collection of databases that contain evidence for healthcare decision-making. Includes systematic review abstracts, technology assessments, economic evaluations and individual clinical trials.

Examples of Health Promotion Programs

ERIC
The authoritative index for education research sources including government reports, journal articles, and conference papers. Covers all education topic areas and is sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences of the U.S. Department of Education.
MedlinePlus
MedlinePlus provides consumer health information for patients, families, and health care providers. Produced by the National Institutes of Health and other trusted sources, it includes extensive information about drugs, an illustrated medical encyclopedia, a medical dictionary, interactive patient tutorials, health care provider directories, and latest health news.

National Guidelines Clearinghouse
A clearinghouse of practice guidelines and measures published by the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ).

TRIP
TRIP (Turning Research Into Practice) is a clinical search tool designed to allow users to identify quality clinical evidence for clinical practice. In addition to research evidence, users can also search across other content types including images, videos, patient information leaflets, educational courses, and news.

Sample Books

Health Promotion and Disease Prevention for Advanced Practice: Integrating Evidence-Based Lifestyle Concepts / Loureen Downes; Lilly Tryon. Burlington: Jones & Bartlett Learning. 2023.

Community Organizing and Community Building for Health and Social Equity, 4th Edition. / Meredith Minkler; Patricia Wakimoto. New Brunswick, NJ : Rutgers University Press. 2021

Integrative health promotion: conceptual bases for nursing practice / Susan Kun Leddy. Sudbury, Mass. : Jones and Bartlett Publishers, c2006.

Health promotion in practice / Sherri Sheinfeld Gorin, Joan Arnold, editors. San Francisco : Jossey-Bass, c2006.

Government Data

Center for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) -

U.S. Census data-

Data Access Tools

Associate Professor, Nursing Librarian

Mariela Hristova

she / her

Email Me

Subjects: Nursing