LibGuides: Anesthesiology & Pain Medicine Clerkship Guide: Home

Required and Recommended Textbooks

REQUIRED: Miller's Basics of Anesthesia, 8th edition by Manuel Pardo (Editor)
Call Number: Medical Library Study Room - 102 KL (non-circulating) ; RD81 .B37 2022

ISBN: 9780323796774

Publication Date: 2023

Chapters 9 (Opioids), 10 (Local Anesthetics), 13 (Preoperative Evaluation) and 16 (Airway Management) - (with particular emphasis on page 255 which discusses the difficult airway algorithm)
REQUIRED (PREVIOUS EDITION): Basics of Anesthesia, 7th edition by Manuel Pardo; Ronald D. Miller
Call Number: Books - 3rd Floor ; RD81 .B37 2018

ISBN: 9780323401159

Publication Date: 2018

Chapters 9 (Opioids), 10 (Local Anesthetics), 13 (Preoperative Evaluation & Medication) and 16 (Airway Management with particular emphasis on page 240 which discusses the difficult airway algorithm)

Accessing the Medical Library Textbooks

An online version of selected textbooks is accessible to OUWB medical students on campus or off campus. To access these textbooks off campus, you must login with your OU NetID and password (the same ones for accessing your OU email account and Moodle).

Print copies of all required and recommended textbooks are on reserve in the OUWB Medical Library Study Room (KL 102). If you need any assistance with locating any of the following books, please email the OUWB Medical Library at medref@oakland.edu.

eBooks

Key eBooks from this collection include:

Basics of Anesthesiology: A Primer for Medical Students by Gauruv Patel
Publication Date: 2016
Anesthesiology, 3rd Edition by Sean Mackey; David E. Longnecker; Mark F. Newman; Warren M. Zapol; Warren Sandberg
ISBN: 9780071848817

Publication Date: 2018
Clinical Pharmacology for Anesthesiology by Ken B. Johnson
ISBN: 9780071736169

Publication Date: 2015
Principles and Practice of Pain Medicine, 3rd Edition by Carol A. Warfield; Zahid H. Bajwa; R. Joshua Wootton
ISBN: 9780071766838

Publication Date: 2017

Supplemental eBooks

Opioid Epidemic

Addressing the Opioid Epidemic / American Medical Association (AMA)
Includes reports and resources from the AMA Opioid Task Force and links to CME opportunities.
Analysis in Brief Report - Addressing the Opioid Epidemic: U.S. Medical School Curricular Approaches / Association of American Medical Colleges (AAMC)
Chasing Heroin / PBS Frontline
A 2016 documentary film highlighting the effects of heroin and opioids.
Opioid Overdose / Centers for Disease Control & Prevention (CDC)
Covers facts, statistics, and information for patients & providers on opioids.
Opioid Overdose Crisis / National Institute on Drug Abuse (NIDA)
Opioids, Addiction and Pain Education / MedEdPORTAL
Highlights curricular interventions targeting medical and health sciences students regarding opioids.
Understanding the Opioid Epidemic / PBS
A 2018 documentary film showcasing the stories of those affected by the opioid crisis.

Clinical Information

AccessMedicine
This collection includes medical and basic sciences books, including Harrison's Textbook of Medicine. AccessMedicine also includes images, videos, diagnostic tools, patient education handouts, and drug information.
ClinicalKey
ClinicalKey provides quick access to full-text medical and surgical resources including ebooks, journal articles, clinical practice guidelines, point-of-care clinical monographs, procedural guides, images, videos, drug information, and patient education handouts.

To download book chapter PDFs, please log in or register for a free account. NOTE: Vendor recommends updating to most recent version of browser.
DynaMed
An evidence-based clinical reference tool written by physicians who synthesize the evidence and provide objective analysis to help health care providers in their daily practice. Designed to provide quick answers to clinical questions. Includes thousands of graphics and images, specialty content, mobile access, and enhanced drug information.
UpToDate
This resource presents current clinical information and recommendations on patient care and treatment. Includes evidence-based, physician-authored articles and patient education resources to help make clinical decisions.
VisualDX
An image-based clinical support tool to aid in the identification of indentifiable diseases; including, dermatologic, infectious, genetic, metabolic, drug-induced conditions, and occupational injuries.

PubMed

PubMed (MEDLINE)
MEDLINE is the National Library of Medicine's free bibliographic database covering the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and the preclinical sciences.

Anesthesiology Test Prep & Review Books

Anesthesiology Core Review: Part One: BASIC Exam, 2nd Edition by Brian Freeman; Jeffrey Berger
ISBN: 9781264285518

Publication Date: 2023
Anesthesiology Core Review: Part Two ADVANCED Exam, 2nd Edition by Brian Freeman; Jeffrey Berger
ISBN: 9781264285730

Publication Date: 2024
Anesthesia Secrets, 6th edition by Brian M. Keech (Editor); Ryan D. Laterza (Editor)
Call Number: Medical Library Study Room - 102 KL (non-circulating) ; RD 82.3 ,D85 2021

ISBN: 9780323640152

Publication Date: 2021
Multiple Choice Questions in Pain Management by Rajesh Gupta
ISBN: 9783319569154

Publication Date: 2017

Review book containing multiple choice questions on a variety of topics related to pain management.
Pain Management Secrets, 4th edition by Charles E. Argoff; Andrew Dubin; Julie Pilitsis
ISBN: 9780323277914

Publication Date: 2019

AccessAnesthesiology
This collection includes anesthesiology and pain management specialty and sub-specialty textbooks. Access Anesthesiology also includes procedural videos, calculators, study tools and review questions, patient cases, and patient safety modules.

Test Prep and Review Resources

Drug Information Resources

Micromedex
Micromedex provides access to information on drugs, toxicology, and diseases. The drug information is detailed, referenced, and includes drug comparisons and identification, therapeutic class searching, and dosing

Drug Information & Pharmacology Resources
A collection of all pharmacology resources available through the OUWB Medical Library.
Finding Answers to Questions on Drugs & Pharmacology
Determine which of the OUWB Medical Library resources to use in order to answer your drug or pharmacology question.

Multimedia Resources

Acland's Video Atlas of Human Anatomy
This resource includes three-dimensional videos of dissected human anatomic specimens. The videos show complex structures step by step - from bone to surface anatomy - to provide a foundation for understanding anatomical structure and function.
Anatomy.TV
An interactive 3D anatomy resource. Users may manipulate images by rotating, zooming, and removing layers to learn more about anatomical structures. It also includes MRI sections, slides, movies, animations, clinical text and patient education sheets..
Bates' Visual Guide
Bates Visual Guide contains videos of systems-based physical examination techniques for development of clinical skills.
To login, select the option: Library - Continue as anonymous library user.
IMAIOS (e-Anatomy)
e-Anatomy is an anatomical database providing more than 3,000 images of the human body. It provides cross-sectional, gross, and radiological anatomy derived from various types of medical imaging, including magnetic resonance imaging (MRI) and computed tomography (CT) scans.
Netter Reference
Collection of Netter Reference books that include anatomical images from the Green Books, Netter's Atlas of Human Anatomy, and Netter's Concise Radiologic Anatomy.

Anatomy Resources Comparison Chart
A chart comparing the Medical Library anatomy resources: description, ease of use, image types, mobile app, quizzes / self-assessment, and the ability to download / save images.

Journals

Patient Education / Consumer Health Resources

MedlinePlus
MedlinePlus provides consumer health information for patients, families, and health care providers. Produced by the National Institutes of Health and other trusted sources, it includes extensive information about drugs, an illustrated medical encyclopedia, a medical dictionary, interactive patient tutorials, health care provider directories, and latest health news.

Access Medicine / Patient Education Handouts
Clinical Key / Patient Education Handouts
Micromedex / Care Notes
UpToDate Patient Education
UpToDate offers two levels of content for patients:
--The Basics are short overviews. They are written in accordance with plain language principles and answer the four or five most important questions a person might have about a medical problem.
--Beyond the Basics are longer, more detailed reviews. They are best for readers who want detailed information and are comfortable with some medical terminology.

Anesthesiology & Pain Medicine Clerkship Guide

Contact Us

Library Tutorials

Medical Librarian