LibGuides: Neurology Clerkship Guide: Home

Required and Recommended Textbooks (from the syllabus)

Textbooks:

There are no required textbooks for this clerkship.

RECOMMENDED: Bradley and Daroff's Neurology in Clinical Practice, 8th edition by Joseph Jankovic; John C. Mazziotta; Scott L. Pomeroy; Nancy J. Newman (Editor)
Call Number: Medical Library Study Room - 102 KL (non-circulating) ; RC 346 .B7281 2022

ISBN: 9780323642613

Publication Date: 2022
RECOMMENDED: Escourolle and Poirier's Manual of Basic Neuropathology, 6th edition by Francoise Gray (Editor); Charles Duyckaerts (Editor); Umberto de Girolami (Editor)
Call Number: Medical Library Study Room - 102 KL (non-circulating) ; RC347 .E8138 2019

ISBN: 9780190675011

Publication Date: 2018

Print book only; no electronic version is available.. Copies available in the OUWB and Beaumont medical libraries.
RECOMMENDED: Introduction to Clinical Neurology, 5th edition by Douglas J. Gelb
Call Number: Medical Library Study Room - 102 KL (non-circulating) ; RC 346 .G45 2016

ISBN: 9780190467197

Publication Date: 2016
RECOMMENDED: Merritt's Neurology, 14th edition by Elan D. Louis; Stephan A. Mayer; James M. Noble
Call Number: Medical Library Study Room - 102 KL (non-circulating) ; RC346 .M4 2022

ISBN: 9781975141226

Publication Date: 2022
RECOMMENDED: Neuroanatomy Through Clinical Cases, 3rd edition by Hal Blumenfeld
Call Number: Print only. Medical Library Study Room - 102 KL (non-circulating) ; QM 451 .B68 2021

ISBN: 9781605359625

Publication Date: 2021

Print book only; no electronic version is available.
RECOMMENDED: Osborn's Brain, 3rd edition by Anne G. Osborn; Gary L. Hedlund; Karen L. Salzman
Call Number: Medical Library Study Room - 102 KL (non-circulating) ; RC 386.5 .O83 2024

ISBN: 9780443109379

Publication Date: 2024

New edition of the print book is now available. Checking to see about new edition of the online book - 1/18/2024.
RECOMMENDED: Structure of the Human Brain: A Photographic Atlas, 3rd edition by Stephen J. DeArmond; Madeline M. Fusco; Maynard M. Dewey
Call Number: Medical Library Study Room - 102 KL (non-circulating) ; QM 455 .D4 1989

ISBN: 9780195043570

Publication Date: 1989

Print book only; no electronic version is available.
Copies available in the OUWB and Beaumont medical libraries.

Study Guides:

Blueprints Neurology, 5th edition by Frank Drislane
Call Number: Medical Library Study Room - 102 KL (non-circulating) ; RC 336 .B575 2019

ISBN: 9781496387394

Publication Date: 2019
NEW EDITION! Case Files Neurology, 4th Edition by Eugene C. Toy; Pedro Mancias; Erin Furr Stimming; Doris H. Kung
Call Number: Medical Library Study Room - 102 KL (non-circulating) ; RC343.5 .C33 2023

ISBN: 9781264268801

Publication Date: 2023
Pretest Neurology, 10th Edition by David J. Anschel
Call Number: Medical Library Study Room - 102 KL (non-circulating) ; RC343.5 .A57 2021

ISBN: 9781260468298

Publication Date: 2021

Accessing the Medical Library Textbooks

An online version of selected textbooks is accessible to OUWB medical students on campus or off campus. To access these textbooks off campus, you must login with your OU NetID and password (the same ones for accessing your OU email account and Moodle).

Print copies of all required and recommended textbooks are on reserve in the OUWB Medical Library Study Room (KL 102). If you need any assistance with locating any of the following books, please email the OUWB Medical Library at medref@oakland.edu.

Other eBooks

Adams and Victor's Principles of Neurology, 12th Edition by Allan H. Ropper; Martin A. Samuels; Joshua P. Klein; Sashank Prasad
ISBN: 9781264264520

Publication Date: 2023
Clinical Neuroanatomy, 30th Edition by Stephen G. Waxman
Call Number: Medical Library Study Room - 102 KL (non-circulating) ; QM 451 .W38 2020

ISBN: 9781264583621

Publication Date: 2024

We have not yet received the 30th edition of the print book.
Current Diagnosis & Treatment Neurology, 3rd Edition by John C. M. Brust
ISBN: 9781259835315

Publication Date: 2019
Harrison's Neurology in Clinical Medicine, 4th Edition by Stephen L. Hauser; S. Andrew Josephson
ISBN: 9781259835865

Publication Date: 2017
Lange Clinical Neurology, 11th Edition by David Greenberg; Michael J. Aminoff; Roger P. Simon
Call Number: Medical Library Study Room - 102 KL (non-circulating) ; RC346 .C535 2021

ISBN: 9781260458350

Publication Date: 2020
Neuroanatomy Atlas in Clinical Context, 10th edition by Duane E. Haines
Call Number: Medical Library Study Room - 102 KL (non-circulating) ; QP376 .H18 2019

ISBN: 9781496384164

Publication Date: 2019
Neurology Secrets, 6th edition by Joseph S. Kass; Eli M. Mizrahi
ISBN: 9780323359481

Publication Date: 2017

Additional Study Resources (From Moodle)

Clinical Information

AccessMedicine
This collection includes medical and basic sciences books, including Harrison's Textbook of Medicine. AccessMedicine also includes images, videos, diagnostic tools, patient education handouts, and drug information.
ClinicalKey
ClinicalKey provides quick access to full-text medical and surgical resources including ebooks, journal articles, clinical practice guidelines, point-of-care clinical monographs, procedural guides, images, videos, drug information, and patient education handouts.

To download book chapter PDFs, please log in or register for a free account. NOTE: Vendor recommends updating to most recent version of browser.
DynaMed
An evidence-based clinical reference tool written by physicians who synthesize the evidence and provide objective analysis to help health care providers in their daily practice. Designed to provide quick answers to clinical questions. Includes thousands of graphics and images, specialty content, mobile access, and enhanced drug information.
UpToDate
This resource presents current clinical information and recommendations on patient care and treatment. Includes evidence-based, physician-authored articles and patient education resources to help make clinical decisions.
VisualDX
An image-based clinical support tool to aid in the identification of indentifiable diseases; including, dermatologic, infectious, genetic, metabolic, drug-induced conditions, and occupational injuries.

PubMed

PubMed (MEDLINE)
MEDLINE is the National Library of Medicine's free bibliographic database covering the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and the preclinical sciences.

COVID Resources

American Academy of Neurology COVID-19 Resource Center
A curated collection of links and other resources of interest to the practicing neurologist.
Elsevier Novel Coronavirus Information Center
From a major STEM publisher, here you will find expert, curated information for the research and health community on SARS-CoV-2 (the novel coronavirus) and COVID-19 (the disease).
Elsevier COVID-19 Healthcare Hub
COVID-19 information from Elsevier is organized by outpatient, emergency care, inpatient care, and intensive care.
JAMA Coronavirus Resource Center
Updated daily with new articles, infographics, multimedia, and links to important information from the CDC and WHO. All articles are free to the public. The site also includes useful information for patients.
NEJM Coronavirus (COVID-19) Topic Page
Collection of articles and other resources on the outbreak, including clinical reports, management guidelines, and commentary.

WHO COVID-19 Database
Multinational, multi-lingual database of citations to the research literature on the Corona Virus and COVID-19 from the World Health Organization (WHO).

Neurology Test Prep & Review Books

Blueprints Neurology, 5th edition by Frank Drislane
Call Number: Medical Library Study Room - 102 KL (non-circulating) ; RC 336 .B575 2019

ISBN: 9781496387394

Publication Date: 2019
NEW EDITION! Case Files Neurology, 4th Edition by Eugene C. Toy; Pedro Mancias; Erin Furr Stimming; Doris H. Kung
Call Number: Medical Library Study Room - 102 KL (non-circulating) ; RC343.5 .C33 2023

ISBN: 9781264268801

Publication Date: 2023
Neurology Secrets, 6th edition by Joseph S. Kass; Eli M. Mizrahi
ISBN: 9780323359481

Publication Date: 2017
Pretest Neurology, 10th Edition by David J. Anschel
Call Number: Medical Library Study Room - 102 KL (non-circulating) ; RC343.5 .A57 2021

ISBN: 9781260468298

Publication Date: 2021

Test Prep and Review Resources

Drug Information Resources

Micromedex
Micromedex provides access to information on drugs, toxicology, and diseases. The drug information is detailed, referenced, and includes drug comparisons and identification, therapeutic class searching, and dosing

Drug Information & Pharmacology Resources
A collection of all pharmacology resources available through the OUWB Medical Library.
Finding Answers to Questions on Drugs & Pharmacology
Determine which of the OUWB Medical Library resources to use in order to answer your drug or pharmacology question.

Multimedia Resources

Acland's Video Atlas of Human Anatomy
This resource includes three-dimensional videos of dissected human anatomic specimens. The videos show complex structures step by step - from bone to surface anatomy - to provide a foundation for understanding anatomical structure and function.
Anatomy.TV
An interactive 3D anatomy resource. Users may manipulate images by rotating, zooming, and removing layers to learn more about anatomical structures. It also includes MRI sections, slides, movies, animations, clinical text and patient education sheets..
Bates' Visual Guide
Bates Visual Guide contains videos of systems-based physical examination techniques for development of clinical skills.
To login, select the option: Library - Continue as anonymous library user.
IMAIOS (e-Anatomy)
e-Anatomy is an anatomical database providing more than 3,000 images of the human body. It provides cross-sectional, gross, and radiological anatomy derived from various types of medical imaging, including magnetic resonance imaging (MRI) and computed tomography (CT) scans.
Netter Reference
Collection of Netter Reference books that include anatomical images from the Green Books, Netter's Atlas of Human Anatomy, and Netter's Concise Radiologic Anatomy.

Anatomy Resources Comparison Chart
A chart comparing the Medical Library anatomy resources: description, ease of use, image types, mobile app, quizzes / self-assessment, and the ability to download / save images.

Neurology Journals

Journals

Patient Education / Consumer Health Resources

MedlinePlus
MedlinePlus provides consumer health information for patients, families, and health care providers. Produced by the National Institutes of Health and other trusted sources, it includes extensive information about drugs, an illustrated medical encyclopedia, a medical dictionary, interactive patient tutorials, health care provider directories, and latest health news.

Access Medicine / Patient Education Handouts
Clinical Key / Patient Education Handouts
Micromedex / Care Notes
UpToDate Patient Education
UpToDate offers two levels of content for patients:
--The Basics are short overviews. They are written in accordance with plain language principles and answer the four or five most important questions a person might have about a medical problem.
--Beyond the Basics are longer, more detailed reviews. They are best for readers who want detailed information and are comfortable with some medical terminology.

Neurology Clerkship Guide

Contact Us

Ask Us!

Library Tutorials

Assistant Professor, Medical Librarian