LibGuides: Ob/Gyn Clerkship Guide: Home

NEW EDITION: RECOMMENDED: Beckmann and Ling's Obstetrics and Gynecology, 9th edition by Robert Casanova; Alice Goepfert; Nancy A. Hueppchen; Patrice M. Weiss; AnnaMarie Connolly
Call Number: Medical Library Study Room - 102 KL (non-circulating) ; RG 101 .B435 2024

ISBN: 9781975180577

Publication Date: 2023

Accessing the Medical Library Textbooks

An online version of selected textbooks is accessible to OUWB medical students on campus or off campus. To access these textbooks off campus, you must login with your OU NetID and password (the same ones for accessing your OU email account and Moodle).

Print copies of all required and recommended textbooks are on reserve in the OUWB Medical Library Study Room (KL 102). If you need any assistance with locating any of the following books, please email the OUWB Medical Library at medref@oakland.edu.

Ob/Gyn eBooks

Comprehensive Care of the Transgender Patient by Cecile A. Ferrando
ISBN: 9780323496421

Publication Date: 2020
Comprehensive Gynecology, 8th edition by David M. Gershenson; Gretchen M. Lentz; Fidel A. Valea; Rogerio A. Lobo
ISBN: 9780323653992

Publication Date: 2022
NEW EDITION! Creasy and Resnik's Maternal-Fetal Medicine: Principles and Practice, 9th edition by Charles J. Lockwood; Thomas Moore; Joshua Copel; Robert M. Silver; Robert Resnik; Lorraine Dugoff (Editor); Judette Louis (Editor)
ISBN: 9780323828499

Publication Date: 2023
Hacker and Moore's Essentials of Obstetrics and Gynecology, 6th edition by Neville F. Hacker; Joseph C. Gambone; Calvin J. Hobel
ISBN: 9781455775583

Publication Date: 2016
Maternal Medicine by George R. Saade; Luis Diego Pacheco; Gary D. V. Hankins
ISBN: 9780071824163

Publication Date: 2015
Oxorn-Foote Human Labor and Birth, 7th Edition by Glenn David Posner; Amanda Y. Black; Griffith David Jones; Jessica Dy
ISBN: 9781260019414

Publication Date: 2022
Williams Gynecology, 4th Edition by Lisa M. Halvorson; Joseph I. Schaffer; Marlene M. Corton; Barbara L. Hoffman; John O. Schorge; Karen D. Bradshaw
ISBN: 9781260456868

Publication Date: 2020
Williams Obstetrics, 26th edition by F. Gary Cunningham; Kenneth J. Leveno; Jodi S. Dashe; Barbara L. Hoffman; Catherine Y. Spong; Brian M. Casey
ISBN: 9781260462739

Publication Date: 2022
Yen and Jaffe's Reproductive Endocrinology, 9th edition by Jerome F. Strauss (Editor); Robert L. Barbieri (Editor)
ISBN: 9780323810074

Publication Date: 2023

Cases:

Case Files Obstetrics and Gynecology, 6th Edition by Eugene C. Toy; Patti Jayne Ross; Benton Baker; John Jennings
Call Number: Medical Library Study Room - 102 KL (non-circulating) ; RG111 .C37 2021

ISBN: 9781260468786

Publication Date: 2022

APGO uWise Modules

APGO uWise Modules
There are 25 modules that are mandatory, however students are encouraged to complete all the modules.

Unit 2 Obstetrics – All of Section B
Unit 4 – Puberty and Normal and Abnormal Uterine Bleeding
Unit 5 – Gestational Trophoblastic Neoplasia and Ovarian Neoplasms
Unit 6 – Sexuality and Modes of Sexual Expression
Unit 7 - Sexual Assault and Domestic Violence

ACOG

Students are required to obtain a free ACOG membership and access to their Resource Center.

Membership For Medical Students
Fill out the online Medical student information. This takes 2-3 weeks to process. Information is sent to students 2 weeks before the clerkship begins
ACOG Practice Bulletins
ACOG Resource Center
ACOG Medical Student Toolkit

Professional Organizations

Mobile Apps

The following apps are available for free. App links for Apple and Android devices are provided.

APGO Perinatal Depression (PPD)
Recognition of and screening for perinatal depression (PPD).
APGO Induction of Labor
Deciding if/when to induce labor and tracking/evaluating induction.

ObGyn Clinical Information

LactMed
LactMed includes information on drugs and other chemicals to which breastfeeding mothers may be exposed. It includes information on the levels of such substances in breast milk and infant blood, and the possible adverse effects in the nursing infant. Suggested therapeutic alternatives to those drugs are provided, where appropriate. All data are derived from the scientific literature and fully referenced.

Clinical Information

AccessMedicine
This collection includes medical and basic sciences books, including Harrison's Textbook of Medicine. AccessMedicine also includes images, videos, diagnostic tools, patient education handouts, and drug information.
ClinicalKey
ClinicalKey provides quick access to full-text medical and surgical resources including ebooks, journal articles, clinical practice guidelines, point-of-care clinical monographs, procedural guides, images, videos, drug information, and patient education handouts.

To download book chapter PDFs, please log in or register for a free account. NOTE: Vendor recommends updating to most recent version of browser.
DynaMed
An evidence-based clinical reference tool written by physicians who synthesize the evidence and provide objective analysis to help health care providers in their daily practice. Designed to provide quick answers to clinical questions. Includes thousands of graphics and images, specialty content, mobile access, and enhanced drug information.
UpToDate
This resource presents current clinical information and recommendations on patient care and treatment. Includes evidence-based, physician-authored articles and patient education resources to help make clinical decisions.
VisualDX
An image-based clinical support tool to aid in the identification of indentifiable diseases; including, dermatologic, infectious, genetic, metabolic, drug-induced conditions, and occupational injuries.

PubMed

PubMed (MEDLINE)
MEDLINE is the National Library of Medicine's free bibliographic database covering the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and the preclinical sciences.

Obstetrics / Gynecology Test Prep & Review Books

NEW EDITION: Beckmann and Ling's Obstetrics and Gynecology, 9th edition by Robert Casanova; Alice Goepfert; Nancy A. Hueppchen; Patrice M. Weiss; AnnaMarie Connolly
Call Number: Medical Library Study Room - 102 KL (non-circulating) ; RG 101 .B435 2024

ISBN: 9781975180577

Publication Date: 2023
Blueprints Obstetrics and Gynecology, 7th edition by Tamara Callahan
Call Number: Medical Library Study Room - 102 KL (non-circulating) ; RG112 .C35 2017

ISBN: 9781975134877

Publication Date: 2019
Case Files Obstetrics and Gynecology, 6th Edition by Eugene C. Toy; Patti Jayne Ross; Benton Baker; John Jennings
Call Number: Medical Library Study Room - 102 KL (non-circulating) ; RG111 .C37 2021

ISBN: 9781260468786

Publication Date: 2022
First Aid for the Obstetrics and Gynecology Clerkship, 5th Edition by Latha Ganti; Matthew S. Kaufman; Shireen Madani Sims
ISBN: 9781259644061

Publication Date: 2022
Ob/Gyn Secrets, 4th edition by Amanda Mularz; Steven Dalati; Ryan A. Pedigo
ISBN: 9780323399227

Publication Date: 2017
PreTest Obstetrics & Gynecology, 15th Edition by Shireen Madani Sims
Call Number: Medical Library Study Room - 102 KL (non-circulating) ; RG111 .S56 2021

ISBN: 9781260468427

Publication Date: 2021
Shelf-Life Obstetrics and Gynecology by Robert Casanova
ISBN: 9781451190458

Publication Date: 2015
Step-Up to Obstetrics and Gynecology, 1st edition by Russell Snyder; Nancy Dent; Wesley Fowler; Frank Ling
ISBN: 9781451112443

Publication Date: 2015
Step-Up to USMLE Step 2 CK, 5th edition by Latha Ganti
Call Number: Medical Library Study Room - 102 KL (non-circulating) ; RC58 .S744 2020

ISBN: 9781975106263

Publication Date: 2020
Step-Up to USMLE Step 3 by Jonathan P. Van Kleunen
Call Number: Medical Library Study Room - 102 KL (non-circulating) ; R 834.5 .V36 2009

ISBN: 9780781779630

Publication Date: 2009
Williams Obstetrics Study Guide, 25th Edition by Shivani Patel; Scott Roberts; Vanessa Rogers; Ashley Zink; Elaine Duryea; Jamie Morgan
Call Number: Medical Library Study Room - 102 KL (non-circulating) ; RG532 .W55 2019

ISBN: 9781259642906

Publication Date: 2019

Test Prep and Review Resources

Drug Information Resources

Micromedex
Micromedex provides access to information on drugs, toxicology, and diseases. The drug information is detailed, referenced, and includes drug comparisons and identification, therapeutic class searching, and dosing

Drug Information & Pharmacology Resources
A collection of all pharmacology resources available through the OUWB Medical Library.
Finding Answers to Questions on Drugs & Pharmacology
Determine which of the OUWB Medical Library resources to use in order to answer your drug or pharmacology question.

Multimedia Resources

Acland's Video Atlas of Human Anatomy
This resource includes three-dimensional videos of dissected human anatomic specimens. The videos show complex structures step by step - from bone to surface anatomy - to provide a foundation for understanding anatomical structure and function.
Anatomy.TV
An interactive 3D anatomy resource. Users may manipulate images by rotating, zooming, and removing layers to learn more about anatomical structures. It also includes MRI sections, slides, movies, animations, clinical text and patient education sheets..
Bates' Visual Guide
Bates Visual Guide contains videos of systems-based physical examination techniques for development of clinical skills.
To login, select the option: Library - Continue as anonymous library user.
IMAIOS (e-Anatomy)
e-Anatomy is an anatomical database providing more than 3,000 images of the human body. It provides cross-sectional, gross, and radiological anatomy derived from various types of medical imaging, including magnetic resonance imaging (MRI) and computed tomography (CT) scans.
Netter Reference
Collection of Netter Reference books that include anatomical images from the Green Books, Netter's Atlas of Human Anatomy, and Netter's Concise Radiologic Anatomy.

Anatomy Resources Comparison Chart
A chart comparing the Medical Library anatomy resources: description, ease of use, image types, mobile app, quizzes / self-assessment, and the ability to download / save images.

Journals

Additional Journals:

Patient Education / Consumer Health Resources

MedlinePlus
MedlinePlus provides consumer health information for patients, families, and health care providers. Produced by the National Institutes of Health and other trusted sources, it includes extensive information about drugs, an illustrated medical encyclopedia, a medical dictionary, interactive patient tutorials, health care provider directories, and latest health news.

Access Medicine / Patient Education Handouts
Clinical Key / Patient Education Handouts
Micromedex / Care Notes
UpToDate Patient Education
UpToDate offers two levels of content for patients:
--The Basics are short overviews. They are written in accordance with plain language principles and answer the four or five most important questions a person might have about a medical problem.
--Beyond the Basics are longer, more detailed reviews. They are best for readers who want detailed information and are comfortable with some medical terminology.

Ob/Gyn Clerkship Guide

Contact Us

Ask Us!

Library Tutorials

Assistant Professor, Medical Librarian

Recommended Textbook