Home - MDM3 9516 - Pediatric Clerkship Guide - LibGuides at Oakland University

RECOMMENDED: Current Diagnosis & Treatment Pediatrics, 26th edition by Maya Bunik; William W. Hay; Myron J. Levin; Mark J. Abzug
Call Number: Medical Library Study Room - 102 KL (non-circulating) ; RJ50 .C976 2022
ISBN: 9781264269983
Publication Date: 2022
RECOMMENDED: The Harriet Lane Handbook, 23rd edition by Johns Hopkins Hospital; Camille Anderson; Sunaina Kapoor; Tiffany Mark
ISBN: 9780323876988
Publication Date: 2024
RECOMMENDED: Klaus and Fanaroff's Care of the High-Risk Neonate, 7th edition by Avroy A. Fanaroff; Jonathan M. Fanaroff
ISBN: 9780323608541
Publication Date: 2020
RECOMMENDED: Fischbach's a Manual of Laboratory and Diagnostic Tests,10th edition by Frances Talaska Fischbach; Margaret A. Fischbach
ISBN: 9781496377128
Publication Date: 2018
RECOMMENDED: Nelson Essentials of Pediatrics, 9th edition by Karen Marcdante (Editor); Robert M. Kliegman (Editor); Abigail M. Schuh (Editor)
ISBN: 9780323775625
Publication Date: 2023
RECOMMENDED: Nelson Textbook of Pediatrics, 21st edition by Robert M. Kliegman; Joseph St. Geme
Call Number: Medical Library Study Room - 102 KL (non-circulating) ; RJ 45 .N45 2020
ISBN: 9780323529501
Publication Date: 2020
RECOMMENDED: Pediatric Primary Care, 6th edition by Catherine E. Burns; Ardys M. Dunn; Margaret A. Brady; Nancy Barber Starr; Catherine G. Blosser; Dawn Lee Garzon
ISBN: 9780323243384
Publication Date: 2017
RECOMMENDED: Pediatric Secrets, 7th edition by Richard A. Polin; Mark F. Ditmar
Call Number: Medical Library Study Room - 102 KL (non-circulating) ; RJ 48.2 .P65 2021
ISBN: 9780323636650
Publication Date: 2021
RECOMMENDED: Red Book 2021, 32nd edition by David W. Kimberlin (Editor); Elizabeth Barnett (Associate Editor); Ruth Lynfield (Associate Editor); Mark H. Sawyer (Associate Editor)
ISBN: 9781610025218
Publication Date: 2021
RECOMMENDED: Rudolph's Pediatrics, 23rd Edition by Mark W. Kline; Susan M. Blaney; Angelo P. Giardino; Jordan S. Orange; Daniel J. Penny; Gordon E. Schutze; Lara S. Shekerdemian; Abraham M. Rudolph; Colin D. Rudolph
ISBN: 9781259588594
Publication Date: 2018
RECOMMENDED: Zitelli and Davis' Atlas of Pediatric Physical Diagnosis, 8th ediiton by Basil J. Zitelli (Editor); Sara C. McIntire (Editor); Andrew J. Nowalk (Editor); Jessica Garrison (Editor)
ISBN: 9780323777889
Publication Date: 2023
RECOMMENDED: Zuckerman Parker Handbook of Developmental and Behavioral Pediatrics for Primary Care, 4th edition by Marilyn Augustyn; Barry Zuckerman
ISBN: 9781496397393
Publication Date: 2019

Many additional pediatrics books are available through ClinicalKey, AccessPediatrics, and other sources through the library's catalog.

Accessing the Medical Library Textbooks

An online version of selected textbooks is accessible to OUWB medical students on campus or off campus. To access these textbooks off campus, you must login with your OU NetID and password (the same ones for accessing your OU email account and Moodle).

Print copies of all required and recommended textbooks are on reserve in the OUWB Medical Library Study Room (KL 102). If you need any assistance with locating any of the following books, please email the OUWB Medical Library at medref@oakland.edu.

Cases

NEW EDITION! Case Files Pediatrics, 6th Edition by Mark D. Hormann; Margaret C. McNeese; Sheela L. Lahoti; Mark Jason Sanders; Abby M. Geltemeyer; Eugene C. Toy; Robert J. Yetman
Call Number: Books - 3rd Floor ; RJ61 .C37 2022
ISBN: 9781260474954
Publication Date: 2022

Pediatric Databases

AccessPediatrics This link opens in a new window
This collection includes pediatric specialty and sub-specialty textbooks, including Rudolph's Pediatrics. AccessPediatrics also includes images, videos, patient education handouts, drug information, and self-assessment tools.

LWW Health Library - Clerkship Collection: Pediatrics
Collection of key texts and review books specific to the pediatic clerkship including the popular Blueprints and Shelf-Life series. Also includes self-assessment quizzes and cases.
Pediatric Care Online
A collection of key resources from the AAP including the Red Book, policy statements, webinars, patient education handouts, and much more.

Clinical Information

AccessMedicine This link opens in a new window
This collection includes medical and basic sciences books, including Harrison's Textbook of Medicine. AccessMedicine also includes images, videos, diagnostic tools, patient education handouts, and drug information.
ClinicalKey This link opens in a new window
ClinicalKey provides quick access to full-text medical and surgical resources including ebooks, journal articles, clinical practice guidelines, point-of-care clinical monographs, procedural guides, images, videos, drug information, and patient education handouts.
To download book chapter PDFs, please log in or register for a free account. NOTE: Vendor recommends updating to most recent version of browser.
DynaMed Plus This link opens in a new window
An evidence-based clinical reference tool written by physicians who synthesize the evidence and provide objective analysis to help health care providers in their daily practice. Designed to provide quick answers to clinical questions. Includes thousands of graphics and images, specialty content, mobile access, and enhanced drug information.
UpToDate This link opens in a new window
This resource presents current clinical information and recommendations on patient care and treatment. Includes evidence-based, physician-authored articles and patient education resources to help make clinical decisions.
VisualDX This link opens in a new window
An image-based clinical support tool to aid in the identification of indentifiable diseases; including, dermatologic, infectious, genetic, metabolic, drug-induced conditions, and occupational injuries.

PubMed

PubMed (MEDLINE) This link opens in a new window
MEDLINE is the National Library of Medicine's free bibliographic database covering the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and the preclinical sciences.

Pediatrics Test Prep & Review Books

Blueprints Pediatrics, 7th edition by Bradley Marino
ISBN: 9781496396464
Publication Date: 2020
BRS Pediatrics, 2nd edition by Lloyd J. Brown; Ryan J. Coller; Lee Todd Miller
ISBN: 9781496309754
Publication Date: 2018
Case Files Pediatrics, 6th Edition by Mark D. Hormann; Margaret C. McNeese; Sheela L. Lahoti; Mark Jason Sanders; Abby M. Geltemeyer; Eugene C. Toy; Robert J. Yetman
Call Number: Books - 3rd Floor ; RJ61 .C37 2022
ISBN: 9781260474954
Publication Date: 2022
First Aid for the Pediatric Boards, 2nd Edition by Tao Le; Wilbur Lam; Shervin Rabizadeh; Alan Schroeder; Kimberly Vera
ISBN: 9780071626934
Publication Date: 2010
First Aid for the Pediatrics Clerkship, 5th Edition by Robert J. Yetman; Mark D. Hormann; Latha Ganti; Matthew S. Kaufman
Call Number: Medical Library Study Room - 102 KL (non-circulating) ; RJ 48.3 .G36 2023
ISBN: 9781264264490
Publication Date: 2023
Pediatric Secrets, 7th edition by Richard A. Polin; Mark F. Ditmar
Call Number: Medical Library Study Room - 102 KL (non-circulating) ; RJ 48.2 .P65 2021
ISBN: 9780323636650
Publication Date: 2021
Pediatrics for Medical Students, 3rd edition by Daniel Bernstein; Steven P. Shelov
Call Number: Medical Library Study Room - 102 KL (non-circulating) ; RJ 45 .P3987 2012
ISBN: 9780781770309
Publication Date: 2012
Pediatrics PreTest Self-Assessment and Review, 15th Edition by Robert J. Yetman; Mark D. Hormann
Call Number: Medical Library Study Room - 102 KL (non-circulating) ; RJ 48.2 .P42 2020
ISBN: 9781260440331
Publication Date: 2020
Pediatrics Recall, 4th edition by Eugene D. McGahren; William G. Wilson
Call Number: Medical Library Study Room - 102 KL (non-circulating) ; RJ48.2 .M37 2011
ISBN: 9781605476766
Publication Date: 2011
Schwartz's Clinical Handbook of Pediatrics, 5th edition by Joseph J. Zorc; Elizabeth R. Alpern; Lawrence W. Brown; Kathleen M. Loomes; Bradley S. Marino; Cynthia J. Mollen; Leslie J. Raffini
ISBN: 9781608315789
Publication Date: 2013
Shelf-Life Pediatrics by Veeral S. Sheth
ISBN: 9781451189575
Publication Date: 2015
Step-Up to Pediatrics, 1st edition by Samir S. Shah; Brian Alverson; Jeanine Ronan
Call Number: Medical Library Study Room - 102 KL (non-circulating) ; RJ 48.2 .S29 2014
ISBN: 9781451145809
Publication Date: 2014

Test Prep and Review Resources

BoardVitals This link opens in a new window
You must sign up with your @oakland.edu email here to access the Board Vitals question banks.

An interactive and powerful board review tool that can be used by practicing clinicians, residents and several types of healthcare students. With BoardVitals, you have the ability to create customized practice tests using many options including number of questions, subjects and more. Included are detailed, up-to-date explanations with each answer, with references and links to applicable sources.

Important Board Vitals Information:

Some of our students have reported problems with accessing the question banks on Board Vitals. Please be sure to follow these steps when registering for an account.

Use this link to register for an account. Be sure to use your Oakland University email.
Use this link to access the Board Vitals question banks. Log in with your OU email and the password you created when you registered for your account.

Still having problems? Email medref@oakland.edu - We are always happy to help!

Web Resources

National Institute for Children's Healthcare Quality (NICHQ)
NICHQ seeks to catalyze a national commitment to improve health care for children, as well as to achieve better outcomes in practices that care for children by developing, testing and deploying new methods to provide and improve care.
PedsCases
Developed by medical students at the University of Alberta with faculty oversight to supplement the undergraduate curriculum. It has grown to include interactive cases, podcasts, videos, and links to other sites with content supplied by physicians and students from across Canada.

Drug Information Resources

Clinical Pharmacology This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive drug database that contains up-to-date, detailed information on thousands of drugs. Users can run reports on interactions, search by indication and contraindication, check IV compatibility, and print patient information materials.
Micromedex This link opens in a new window
Micromedex provides access to information on drugs, toxicology, and diseases. The drug information is detailed, referenced, and includes drug comparisons and identification, therapeutic class searching, and dosing

Drug Information & Pharmacology Resources
A collection of all pharmacology resources available through the OUWB Medical Library.
Finding Answers to Questions on Drugs & Pharmacology
Determine which of the OUWB Medical Library resources to use in order to answer your drug or pharmacology question.

Pediatrics Multimedia Resources

Access Pediatrics Videos
Alexander Street Pediatric Videos
Searchable database of videos and lectures on a variety of pediatric topics, including physical assessment.
Clinical Key Pediatrics Procedures Videos
Head-to-Toe Assessment: Child / Bates Physical Examination Videos
Head-to-Toe Assessment: Infant / Bates Physical Examination Videos
OSCE Clinical Skills Videos / Bates Physical Examination Videos

Multimedia Resources

Acland's Video Atlas of Human Anatomy This link opens in a new window
This resource includes three-dimensional videos of dissected human anatomic specimens. The videos show complex structures step by step - from bone to surface anatomy - to provide a foundation for understanding anatomical structure and function.
Anatomy.TV This link opens in a new window
An interactive 3D anatomy resource. Users may manipulate images by rotating, zooming, and removing layers to learn more about anatomical structures. It also includes MRI sections, slides, movies, animations, clinical text and patient education sheets..
Bates' Visual Guide This link opens in a new window
Bates Visual Guide contains videos of systems-based physical examination techniques for development of clinical skills.
IMAIOS (e-Anatomy) This link opens in a new window
e-Anatomy is an anatomical database providing more than 3,000 images of the human body. It provides cross-sectional, gross, and radiological anatomy derived from various types of medical imaging, including magnetic resonance imaging (MRI) and computed tomography (CT) scans.
Netter Reference This link opens in a new window
Collection of Netter Reference books that include anatomical images from the Green Books, Netter's Atlas of Human Anatomy, and Netter's Concise Radiologic Anatomy.

Anatomy Resources Comparison Chart
A chart comparing the Medical Library anatomy resources: description, ease of use, image types, mobile app, quizzes / self-assessment, and the ability to download / save images.

Key Pediatric Journals

Browse All Pediatric Journals

Associations

Patient Education / Consumer Health Resources

MedlinePlus This link opens in a new window
MedlinePlus provides consumer health information for patients, families, and health care providers. Produced by the National Institutes of Health and other trusted sources, it includes extensive information about drugs, an illustrated medical encyclopedia, a medical dictionary, interactive patient tutorials, health care provider directories, and latest health news.

Access Medicine / Patient Education Handouts
Clinical Key / Patient Education Handouts
Micromedex / Care Notes
UpToDate Patient Education
UpToDate offers two levels of content for patients:
--The Basics are short overviews. They are written in accordance with plain language principles and answer the four or five most important questions a person might have about a medical problem.
--Beyond the Basics are longer, more detailed reviews. They are best for readers who want detailed information and are comfortable with some medical terminology.

MDM3 9516 - Pediatric Clerkship Guide

Contact Us / Research Help

Library Tutorials

Mobile Apps

Stay Connected with the Medical Library

Professor, Medical Librarian, PhD, MLIS

Medical Librarian

Recommended Textbooks