LibGuides: Surgery Clerkship Guide: Surgery Clerkship

Ask Us!

Accessing the Medical Library Textbooks

An online version of selected textbooks is accessible to OUWB medical students on campus or off campus. To access these textbooks off campus, you must login with your OU NetID and password (the same ones for accessing your OU email account and Moodle).

Print copies of all required and recommended textbooks are on reserve in the OUWB Medical Library Study Room (KL 102). If you need any assistance with locating any of the following books, please email the OUWB Medical Library at medref@oakland.edu.

Library Tutorials

Library Tutorials
Find tutorials on virtually all the library resources and databases collected in one place!
Literature Searching
Find out how to use PubMed and other biomedical databases.
UpToDate
Instructions on how to use the premier point-of-care resource. You can also download the app for your mobile device.

Medical Librarian

David Stewart

He/Him

Email Me

Contact:

Medical Library

248-370-3777

Recommended Textbooks (From the Syllabus)

RECOMMENDED: Abernathy's Surgical Secrets, 7th edition by Alden H. Harken; Ernest E. Moore
Call Number: Medical Library Study Room - 102 KL (non-circulating) ; RD37.2 .H375 2018

ISBN: 9780323478731

Publication Date: 2018
RECOMMENDED: Sabiston Textbook of Surgery, 21st edition by Courtney M. Townsend (Editor)
Call Number: Medical Library Study Room - 102 KL (non-circulating) ; RD 31 .T473 2021

ISBN: 9780323640626

Publication Date: 2022
RECOMMENDED: Schwartz's Principles of Surgery, 11th edition by Dana K. Andersen; Timothy R. Billiar; David L. Dunn; John G. Hunter; Lillian Kao; Jeffrey B. Matthews; Raphael E. Pollock; F. Charles Brunicardi
Call Number: Medical Library Study Room - 102 KL (non-circulating) ; RD31 .P88 2019

ISBN: 9781259835353

Publication Date: 2019
RECOMMENDED: Surgery: A Case-Based Clinical Review, 2nd edition by Christian de Virgilio (Editor); Areg Grigorian (Editor)
Call Number: Books - 3rd Floor ; RD31 .V574 2020

ISBN: 9783030053864

Publication Date: 2020
RECOMMENDED: Surgical Recall, 10th Edition by Lorne Blackbourne
Call Number: Medical Library Study Room - 102 KL (non-circulating) ; RD37.2 .S9748 2025

ISBN: 9781975212483

Publication Date: 2024-11-05
RECOMMENDED: The Washington Manual of Surgery, 9th edition by Paul Wise
Call Number: Medical Library Study Room - 102 KL (non-circulating) ; RD37 .W37 2024

ISBN: 9781975201258

Publication Date: 2023

A copy of the new 9th edition is available in print, but not yet available electronically.

Many additional surgery ebooks are available through ClinicalKey, AccessSurgery, and other sources through the library's catalog.

Surgical Atlases

NEW EDITION! Zollinger's Atlas of Surgical Operations, 11th Edition by Patrick Vaccaro; Robert M. Zollinger; E. Christopher Ellison; Timothy M. Pawlik
ISBN: 9781260440850

Publication Date: 2022
Atlas of Minimally Invasive Surgical Operations by John G. Hunter; Donn H. Spight; Corinne Sandone; Jennifer Fairman
ISBN: 9780071449052

Publication Date: 2018

Additional General Anatomy resources are available in the Anatomical Foundations of Clinical Practice Guide

Surgery Test Prep & Review Books

Abernathy's Surgical Secrets, 7th edition by Alden H. Harken; Ernest E. Moore
Call Number: Medical Library Study Room - 102 KL (non-circulating) ; RD37.2 .H375 2018

ISBN: 9780323478731

Publication Date: 2018
Advanced Surgical Recall, 4th edition by Lorne H. Blackbourne
ISBN: 9781451116533

Publication Date: 2015
Blueprints Surgery, 5th edition by Seth J. Karp; James P. G. Morris; Stanley Zaslau
Call Number: Medical Library Study Room - 102 KL (non-circulating) ; RD 37.3 .K37 2009

ISBN: 9780781788687

Publication Date: 2009
Case Files Surgery, 6th Edition by Eugene C. Toy; Terrence H. Liu; Andre R. Campbell; Barnard Palmer
Call Number: Medical Library Study Room - 102 KL (non-circulating) ; RD31 .T69 2022

ISBN: 9781260468809

Publication Date: 2022
Essentials of General Surgery and Surgical Specialties, 6th edition by Peter F. Lawrence
ISBN: 9781496351043

Publication Date: 2019
First Aid for the Surgery Clerkship, 3rd Edition by Latha Ganti; Matthew S. Kaufman; Nitin Mishra
Call Number: Medical Library Study Room - 102 KL (non-circulating) ; RD 37.3 .G36 2017

ISBN: 9780071842099

Publication Date: 2016
The General Surgeon's Guide to Passing the Oral Boards by Shelby Reiter; Danielle Hayes
ISBN: 9781265082857

Publication Date: 2024
General Surgery Examination and Board Review, 2nd Edition by Robert B. Lim; Daniel B. Jones
Call Number: Medical Library Study Room - 102 KL (non-circulating) ; RC71 .G46 2021

ISBN: 9781260468083

Publication Date: 2023
NMS Surgery, 7th edition by Bruce Jarrell; David Strauss; Stephen M. Kavic
Call Number: Medical Library Study Room - 102 KL (non-circulating) ; RD37.2 .N58 2021

ISBN: 9781975112882

Publication Date: 2022
Shelf-Life Surgery by Stanley Zaslau
ISBN: 9781451191479

Publication Date: 2015
Step-Up to Surgery, 2nd edition by Stanley Zaslau
ISBN: 9781451187632

Publication Date: 2015
Surgery PreTest Self-Assessment and Review, 14th Edition by Lillian Kao; Tammy Lee
Call Number: Medical Library Study Room - 102 KL (non-circulating) ; RD37.2 .S97 2020

ISBN: 9781260143614

Publication Date: 2020
Surgical Recall, 10th Edition by Lorne Blackbourne
Call Number: Medical Library Study Room - 102 KL (non-circulating) ; RD37.2 .S9748 2025

ISBN: 9781975212483

Publication Date: 2024-11-05

Additional eBooks

NEW EDITION! Current Surgical Therapy, 14th edition by John L. Cameron (Editor); Andrew M. Cameron (Editor)
ISBN: 9780323796835

Publication Date: 2023
Current Diagnosis and Treatment Surgery, 15th Edition by Gerard M. Doherty
Call Number: Medical Library Study Room - 102 KL (non-circulating) ; RD 35 .C97 2020

ISBN: 9781260122213

Publication Date: 2020
Essentials of General Surgery and Surgical Specialties, 6th edition by Peter F. Lawrence
ISBN: 9781496351043

Publication Date: 2019
Current Procedures Surgery by Rebecca Minter; Gerard M. Doherty
ISBN: 9780071453165

Publication Date: 2010
Essential Surgery: Problems, Diagnosis & Management, 6th edition by Clive R. G. Quick (Editor); Suzanne Biers (Editor); Tan Arulampalam (Editor); Philip J. Deakin (Illustrator)
ISBN: 9780702076312

Publication Date: 2020

Self-Directed Learning Modules

Association of Surgical Educaion Teaching Modules
Case-based PowerPoint modules on a variety of surgical topics.
Patient Safety Modules / AccessSurgery
Self-paced course including three modules: Handwashing, Understanding Error, and Communication Concepts.
Gastroesophageal Junction / UCSF Department of Surgery Videos
Pre/Post Test - https://research.library.oakland.edu/sp/assets/users/_bulgarel/pre-test.pdf
Answer Key - https://research.library.oakland.edu/sp/assets/users/_bulgarel/answer-key.pdf
Stomach, Proximal Duodenum & the Lesser Omental Sac / UCSF Department of Surgery Videos
Pre/Post Test - https://research.library.oakland.edu/sp/assets/users/_bulgarel/pre-test.pdf
Answer Key - https://research.library.oakland.edu/sp/assets/users/_bulgarel/answer-key.pdf

Surgery Databases

AccessSurgery
This collection includes surgical specialty and sub-specialty textbooks and atlases, including Schwartz's Principles of Surgery and Zollinger's Atlas of Surgical Operations. AccessSurgery also includes images, videos, patient education handouts, drug information, and self-assessment tools.
LWW Health Library - Clerkship
LWW Health Library for Clerkship/Clinical Rotations offers a core collection of content for each of the core clerkship rotations - Internal Medicine, OB/GYN, Pediatrics, Surgery, Family Medicine, and Psychiatry. Contains review materials for USMLE Step 2 and 3, including key general reference and exam preparation texts as well as case studies and Q&As.
ClinicalKey
ClinicalKey provides quick access to full-text medical and surgical resources including ebooks, journal articles, clinical practice guidelines, point-of-care clinical monographs, procedural guides, images, videos, drug information, and patient education handouts.

To download book chapter PDFs, please log in or register for a free account. NOTE: Vendor recommends updating to most recent version of browser.

Surgery Books from Clinical Key
Links to the full-text of more than 60 surgical textbooks.

Podcasts

Behind the Knife: The Surgery Podcast
A podcast that addresses a wide range of surgical topics in an "informal discussion and interview format." It has educational topics that covers all stages of a surgeon's career.

Resident Readiness General Surgery by Debra L. Klamen; Brian C. George; Alden H. Harken; Debra DaRosa
ISBN: 9780071773195

Publication Date: 2014

Click into the chapters to listen to the audio version.

Current Awareness

2 Minute Medicine: Concise Curated Evidence
From Harvard Medical School. Provides reports of breaking medical literature as well as seminal studies. This subset is from AccessSurgery.

Quick Answers

Surgery Multimedia Resources

Access Surgery Videos
Brief videos of a variety of procedures.
Behind the Knife Videos
A curated collection of videos from the popular podcast posted on AccessSurgery.
Clinical Key Surgery Procedure Videos
Procedures Consult
Videos with detailed instructions of common medical and surgical procedures. Part of the ClincalKey database.

Test Prep and Review Resources

Clinical Information

AccessMedicine
This collection includes medical and basic sciences books, including Harrison's Textbook of Medicine. AccessMedicine also includes images, videos, diagnostic tools, patient education handouts, and drug information.
ClinicalKey
ClinicalKey provides quick access to full-text medical and surgical resources including ebooks, journal articles, clinical practice guidelines, point-of-care clinical monographs, procedural guides, images, videos, drug information, and patient education handouts.

To download book chapter PDFs, please log in or register for a free account. NOTE: Vendor recommends updating to most recent version of browser.
DynaMed
An evidence-based clinical reference tool written by physicians who synthesize the evidence and provide objective analysis to help health care providers in their daily practice. Designed to provide quick answers to clinical questions. Includes thousands of graphics and images, specialty content, mobile access, and enhanced drug information.
UpToDate
This resource presents current clinical information and recommendations on patient care and treatment. Includes evidence-based, physician-authored articles and patient education resources to help make clinical decisions.
VisualDX
An image-based clinical support tool to aid in the identification of indentifiable diseases; including, dermatologic, infectious, genetic, metabolic, drug-induced conditions, and occupational injuries.

Multimedia Resources

Acland's Video Atlas of Human Anatomy
This resource includes three-dimensional videos of dissected human anatomic specimens. The videos show complex structures step by step - from bone to surface anatomy - to provide a foundation for understanding anatomical structure and function.
Anatomy.TV
An interactive 3D anatomy resource. Users may manipulate images by rotating, zooming, and removing layers to learn more about anatomical structures. It also includes MRI sections, slides, movies, animations, clinical text and patient education sheets..
Bates' Visual Guide
Bates Visual Guide contains videos of systems-based physical examination techniques for development of clinical skills.
To login, select the option: Library - Continue as anonymous library user.
IMAIOS (e-Anatomy)
e-Anatomy is an anatomical database providing more than 3,000 images of the human body. It provides cross-sectional, gross, and radiological anatomy derived from various types of medical imaging, including magnetic resonance imaging (MRI) and computed tomography (CT) scans.
Netter Reference
Collection of Netter Reference books that include anatomical images from the Green Books, Netter's Atlas of Human Anatomy, and Netter's Concise Radiologic Anatomy.

Anatomy Resources Comparison Chart
A chart comparing the Medical Library anatomy resources: description, ease of use, image types, mobile app, quizzes / self-assessment, and the ability to download / save images.

Drug Information Resources

Micromedex
Micromedex provides access to information on drugs, toxicology, and diseases. The drug information is detailed, referenced, and includes drug comparisons and identification, therapeutic class searching, and dosing

Drug Information & Pharmacology Resources
A collection of all pharmacology resources available through the OUWB Medical Library.
Finding Answers to Questions on Drugs & Pharmacology
Determine which of the OUWB Medical Library resources to use in order to answer your drug or pharmacology question.

Key Surgery Journals

Browse All Surgery Journals

Patient Education / Consumer Health Resources

MedlinePlus
MedlinePlus provides consumer health information for patients, families, and health care providers. Produced by the National Institutes of Health and other trusted sources, it includes extensive information about drugs, an illustrated medical encyclopedia, a medical dictionary, interactive patient tutorials, health care provider directories, and latest health news.

Access Medicine / Patient Education Handouts
Clinical Key / Patient Education Handouts
Micromedex / Care Notes
UpToDate Patient Education
UpToDate offers two levels of content for patients:
--The Basics are short overviews. They are written in accordance with plain language principles and answer the four or five most important questions a person might have about a medical problem.
--Beyond the Basics are longer, more detailed reviews. They are best for readers who want detailed information and are comfortable with some medical terminology.