LibGuides: Neuroscience 2: Home

Required and Recommended Textbooks

Microbiology:

RECOMMENDED - Medical Microbiology, 9th edition by Patrick R. Murray; Ken S. Rosenthal; Michael A. Pfaller
Call Number: Medical Library Study Room - 102 KL (non-circulating) ; QR46 .M4683 2021

ISBN: 9780323673228

Publication Date: 2020

Neuroanatomy:

RECOMMENDED - High-Yield Neuroanatomy, 5th edition by Douglas J. Gould; Jennifer K. Brueckner-Collins; James D. Fix
Call Number: Medical Library Study Room - 102 KL (non-circulating) ; QM451 .G68 2016

ISBN: 9781451193435

Publication Date: 2016

Print book only; no electronic version is available.

Neurology:

Introduction to Clinical Neurology by Douglas J. Gelb
ISBN: 9780197772904

Publication Date: 2024-06-11

Pathology:

Robbins & Cotran Pathologic Basis of Disease, Tenth Edition by Vinay Kumar MBBS, MD, FRCPath, Abul K. Abbas MBBS and Jon C. Aster MD, PhD
ISBN: 9780323609920

Publication Date: 2021

Pharmacology:

RECOMMENDED - Basic and Clinical Pharmacology 16th edition by Todd W. Vanderah
Call Number: Medical Library Study Room - 102 KL (non-circulating) ; RM300 .B28 2024

ISBN: 9781260463309

Publication Date: 2024

Radiology:

RECOMMENDED: Learning Radiology, 5th edition by William Herring
Call Number: Medical Library Study Room - 102 KL (non-circulating) ; R899 .H472 2024

ISBN: 9780323878173

Publication Date: 2024

30 videos are included with the book.
Accompanying web site with cases, lectures and PowerPoints - http://www.learningradiology.com

There is no required textbook for Neuroscience II. Disciplines that had required textbooks in previous courses will use the same texts in this course.

Accessing the Medical Library Textbooks

An online version of selected textbooks is accessible to OUWB medical students on campus or off campus. To access these textbooks off campus, you must login with your OU NetID and password (the same ones for accessing your OU email account and Moodle).

Print copies of all required and recommended textbooks are on reserve in the OUWB Medical Library Study Room (KL 102). If you need any assistance with locating any of the following books, please email the OUWB Medical Library at medref@oakland.edu.

Supplemental eBooks

Fitzgerald's Clinical Neuroanatomy and Neuroscience, 8th edition by Estomih Mtui; Gregory Gruener; Peter Dockery
ISBN: 9780702079092

Publication Date: 2021
Clinical Neuroanatomy, 30th Edition by Stephen G. Waxman
Call Number: Medical Library Study Room - 102 KL (non-circulating) ; QM 451 .W38 2020

ISBN: 9781264583621

Publication Date: 2024

We have not yet received the 30th edition of the print book.
Clinical Neuroanatomy, 2nd edition by Hans J. ten Donkelaar; Akira Hori; Anja K. E. Horn, et al.
ISBN: 9783030418809

Publication Date: 2021
Clinical Neuroanatomy by John Mendoza; Anne Foundas
ISBN: 9781441922663

Publication Date: 2010
Topical Diagnosis in Neurology, 6th edition by Mathias Bähr; Michael Frotscher
ISBN: 9783132409583

Publication Date: 2019
Fundamental Neuroscience for Basic and Clinical Applications, 5th edition by Duane E. Haines; Gregory A. Mihailoff
ISBN: 9780323396325

Publication Date: 2018
RECOMMENDED USMLE REVIEW BOOK: Lippincott's Illustrated Q&A Review of Anatomy and Embryology by H. Wayne Lambert; Lawrence E. Wineski
Call Number: Medical Library Study Room - KL 102 (Non-circulating). QM 31 .L36 2011

ISBN: 9781605473154

Publication Date: 2011

Print book only; no electronic version is available.
Neuroanatomy Through Clinical Cases, 3rd edition by Hal Blumenfeld
Call Number: Print only. Medical Library Study Room - 102 KL (non-circulating) ; QM 451 .B68 2021

ISBN: 9781605359625

Publication Date: 2021

Print book only; no electronic version is available.
Neuroanatomy Atlas in Clinical Context, 10th edition by Duane E. Haines
Call Number: Medical Library Study Room - 102 KL (non-circulating) ; QP376 .H18 2019

ISBN: 9781496384164

Publication Date: 2019

Web Resources

Advice to Medical Students Studying Neurology / American Academy of Neurology
Brain MRI
This website is a good MRI atlas of structures. Remember that the only structures you are expected to learn by heart are the ones in the following PPTs (they are the same, one just shows each structure in the image).
National Institute of Neurological Disorders & Stroke
Neuroanatomy Atlas / Michigan State University
Neuroanatomy Resources / Duke University
NeuroLogic / University of Michigan Medical School
Great collection of interactive cases to practice lesion localization. The focus of the course is on the CNS cases, as the content for the brachial plexus cases you already covered in AFCP.
NeuroMedEd
This is a very simple website to review the effect that different lesions have on ocular movements.
Neuromuscular Disease Center / Washington University
Neuroscience Tutorial / Columbia University
Whole Brain Atlas / by Keith A. Johnson, M.D., A. Alex Becker, Ph.D.

Clinical Information

AccessMedicine
This collection includes medical and basic sciences books, including Harrison's Textbook of Medicine. AccessMedicine also includes images, videos, diagnostic tools, patient education handouts, and drug information.
ClinicalKey
ClinicalKey provides quick access to full-text medical and surgical resources including ebooks, journal articles, clinical practice guidelines, point-of-care clinical monographs, procedural guides, images, videos, drug information, and patient education handouts.

To download book chapter PDFs, please log in or register for a free account. NOTE: Vendor recommends updating to most recent version of browser.
DynaMed
An evidence-based clinical reference tool written by physicians who synthesize the evidence and provide objective analysis to help health care providers in their daily practice. Designed to provide quick answers to clinical questions. Includes thousands of graphics and images, specialty content, mobile access, and enhanced drug information.
UpToDate
This resource presents current clinical information and recommendations on patient care and treatment. Includes evidence-based, physician-authored articles and patient education resources to help make clinical decisions.
VisualDX
An image-based clinical support tool to aid in the identification of indentifiable diseases; including, dermatologic, infectious, genetic, metabolic, drug-induced conditions, and occupational injuries.

PubMed

PubMed (MEDLINE)
MEDLINE is the National Library of Medicine's free bibliographic database covering the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and the preclinical sciences.

Test Prep & Review Books

RECOMMENDED: High-Yield Neuroanatomy, 5th edition by Douglas J. Gould; Jennifer K. Brueckner-Collins; James D. Fix
Call Number: Medical Library Study Room - 102 KL (non-circulating) ; QM451 .G68 2016

ISBN: 9781451193435

Publication Date: 2016

Print book only; no electronic version is available.
RECOMMENDED: BRS Neuroanatomy, 6th edition by Douglas J. Gould
Call Number: Medical Library Study Room - 102 KL (non-circulating) ; QM 451 .F59 2019

ISBN: 9781496396181

Publication Date: 2020
Clinical Neuroanatomy Made Ridiculously Simple, 6th edition by Stephen Goldberg
Call Number: Medical Library Study Room - 102 KL (non-circulating) ; QM451 .G6 2023

ISBN: 9781935660514

Publication Date: 2023

Print book only; no electronic version is available.

Drug Information Resources

Micromedex
Micromedex provides access to information on drugs, toxicology, and diseases. The drug information is detailed, referenced, and includes drug comparisons and identification, therapeutic class searching, and dosing

Drug Information & Pharmacology Resources
A collection of all pharmacology resources available through the OUWB Medical Library.
Finding Answers to Questions on Drugs & Pharmacology
Determine which of the OUWB Medical Library resources to use in order to answer your drug or pharmacology question.

Multimedia Resources

Acland's Video Atlas of Human Anatomy
This resource includes three-dimensional videos of dissected human anatomic specimens. The videos show complex structures step by step - from bone to surface anatomy - to provide a foundation for understanding anatomical structure and function.
Anatomy.TV
An interactive 3D anatomy resource. Users may manipulate images by rotating, zooming, and removing layers to learn more about anatomical structures. It also includes MRI sections, slides, movies, animations, clinical text and patient education sheets..
Bates' Visual Guide
Bates Visual Guide contains videos of systems-based physical examination techniques for development of clinical skills.
To login, select the option: Library - Continue as anonymous library user.
IMAIOS (e-Anatomy)
e-Anatomy is an anatomical database providing more than 3,000 images of the human body. It provides cross-sectional, gross, and radiological anatomy derived from various types of medical imaging, including magnetic resonance imaging (MRI) and computed tomography (CT) scans.
Netter Reference
Collection of Netter Reference books that include anatomical images from the Green Books, Netter's Atlas of Human Anatomy, and Netter's Concise Radiologic Anatomy.

Anatomy Resources Comparison Chart
A chart comparing the Medical Library anatomy resources: description, ease of use, image types, mobile app, quizzes / self-assessment, and the ability to download / save images.

Journals

Browse All Neuroscience Journals

Neuroscience Patient Education Resources

Patient Education / Consumer Health Resources

MedlinePlus
MedlinePlus provides consumer health information for patients, families, and health care providers. Produced by the National Institutes of Health and other trusted sources, it includes extensive information about drugs, an illustrated medical encyclopedia, a medical dictionary, interactive patient tutorials, health care provider directories, and latest health news.

Access Medicine / Patient Education Handouts
Clinical Key / Patient Education Handouts
Micromedex / Care Notes
UpToDate Patient Education
UpToDate offers two levels of content for patients:
--The Basics are short overviews. They are written in accordance with plain language principles and answer the four or five most important questions a person might have about a medical problem.
--Beyond the Basics are longer, more detailed reviews. They are best for readers who want detailed information and are comfortable with some medical terminology.

Exam Prep Resources

BoardVitals
You must sign up with your @oakland.edu email here to access the Board Vitals question banks.

An interactive and powerful board review tool that can be used by practicing clinicians, residents and several types of healthcare students. With BoardVitals, you have the ability to create customized practice tests using many options including number of questions, subjects and more. Included are detailed, up-to-date explanations with each answer, with references and links to applicable sources.

Important Board Vitals Information:

Some of our students have reported problems with accessing the question banks on Board Vitals. Please be sure to follow these steps when registering for an account. If the problems persists, contact the Medical Library for assistance through the Ask a Medical Librarian form (https://oakland.libwizard.com/f/medref).

Register for BoardVitals
Please be sure to use you Oakland email to register.
Access Question banks in BoardVitals
Login with the account you created using your Oakland email to access questions banks in BoardVitals.

Boards & Beyond
Includes board review videos and question banks to support medical students in preparation for USMLE and COMLEX exams. The on-demand video libraries and online resources focus on the fundamentals of medical basic sciences and clinical medicine. Includes access to Clinical Confidence collection.

Please note, you'll need an access code when registering for an account. Please contact the OUWB Medical Library for the access code.

First Aid Forward - Step 1
First Aid Forward - Step 1 is a digital study companion for preclinical education and USMLE Step 1 prep.

Please note, you must create an account using your OU email address.
First Aid Forward - Step 2
First Aid Forward - Step 2 is a digital study companion for preclinical education and USMLE Step 2 prep.

Please note, you must create an account using your OU email address.

LWW Health Library - Board Review Series
The Board Review Series covers the core basic sciences and focuses on content for board and course exams, covering material on each corresponding subject that is addressed on USMLE Step 1. Includes review questions, clinical information, full-color illustrations, photographs, and tables.

Self Assessment in BRS
You must create a personal account to be able to access quizzes, create custom quizzes, and view progress report. Please create a personal account using your Oakland email address.

Neuroscience 2

Contact Us

Library Tutorials