LibGuides: Cardiovascular: Home

Required and Recommended Textbooks

Cardiology:

RECOMMENDED: Pathophysiology of Heart Disease, 7th edition by Leonard S. Lilly
Call Number: Medical Library Study Room - 102 KL (non-circulating) ; RC682.9 .P255 2021

ISBN: 9781975120597

Publication Date: 2021

Anatomy:

RECOMMENDED: Netter Atlas of Human Anatomy: Classic Regional Approach, 8th edition by Frank H. Netter
Call Number: Medical Library Study Room - 102 KL (non-circulating) ; QM25 .N46 2023

ISBN: 9780323680424

Publication Date: 2022
RECOMMENDED: Grant's Dissector, 18th edition by Alan J. Detton
Call Number: Medical Library Study Room - 102 KL (non-circulating) ; QM34 .D44 2025, 18th ed

ISBN: 9781975193669

Publication Date: 2025
RECOMMENDED: Gray's Anatomy for Students, 5th edition by Richard Drake; A. Wayne Vogl; Adam W. M. Mitchell
Call Number: Medical Library Study Room - 102 KL (non-circulating) ; QM23.2 D73 2023

ISBN: 9780323934237

Publication Date: 2023

Biochemistry:

RECOMMENDED / NEW EDITION!: Marks' Basic Medical Biochemistry, 6th edition by Michael A. Lieberman; Alisa Peet
Call Number: NEW EDITION! Medical Library Study Room 102 KL (non-circulating) - QP514.2 .L54 2023

ISBN: 9781975150143

Publication Date: 2023
RECOMMENDED: Lippincott Illustrated Reviews: Biochemistry, 8th edition by Emine E. Abali; Susan D. Cline; David S. Franklin; Susan M. Viselli
Call Number: Medical Library Study Room - 102 KL (non-circulating) ; QP514.2 .A23 2022

ISBN: 9781975155063

Publication Date: 2022

Embryology:

RECOMMENDED: Langman's Medical Embryology, 15th edition by T. W. Sadler
Call Number: Medical Library Study Room - 102 KL (non-circulating) ; QM601 .L35 2024

ISBN: 9781975179960

Publication Date: 2023

Histology:

REQUIRED: Junqueira's Basic Histology: Text and Atlas, 17th Edition by Anthony L. Mescher
Call Number: Medical Library Study Room - 102 KL (non-circulating) ; QL 807 .M473 2024

ISBN: 9781264930395

Publication Date: 2024
RECOMMENDED: Wheater's Functional Histology, 7th edition by Sylvia Wright; Geraldine O'Dowd; Sarah Bell
Call Number: Medical Library Study Room - 102 KL (non-circulating) ; QM 551 .W47 2024

ISBN: 9780702083341

Publication Date: 2023

Pathology:

RECOMMENDED: Robbins and Kumar Basic Pathology, 11th edition by Vinay Kumar (Editor); Abul Abbas (Editor); Jon C. Aster (Editor); Andrea T. Deyrup (Editor)
Call Number: Medical Library Study Room - 102 KL (non-circulating) ; RB111 .K895 2023

ISBN: 9780323790185

Publication Date: 2023

Physiology:

Guyton and Hall Textbook of Medical Physiology by John E. Hall; Michael E. Hall
Call Number: Medical Library Study Room - 102 KL (non-circulating) ; QP 34.5 .G9 2026

ISBN: 9780443111013

Publication Date: 2025-07-11
RECOMMENDED: Pocket Companion to Guyton and Hall Textbook of Medical Physiology, 14th edition by John E. Hall; Michael E. Hall
Call Number: Medical Library Study Room - 102 KL (non-circulating) ; QP 35 .G89 2020

ISBN: 9780323640077

Publication Date: 2021

Pharmacology:

RECOMMENDED: Katzung's Basic and Clinical Pharmacology, 16th Edition by Todd W. Vanderah
Call Number: Medical Library Study Room - 102 KL (non-circulating) ; RM300 .B28 2024

ISBN: 9781260463309

Publication Date: 2023

There is no Required Textbook for this course. The books listed above are the Recommended Textbooks.

Accessing the Medical Library Textbooks

An online version of selected textbooks is accessible to OUWB medical students on campus or off campus. To access these textbooks off campus, you must login with your OU NetID and password (the same ones for accessing your OU email account and Moodle).

Print copies of all required and recommended textbooks are on reserve in the OUWB Medical Library Study Room (KL 102). If you need any assistance with locating any of the following books, please email the OUWB Medical Library at medref@oakland.edu.

Supplemental Resources

Netter's Cardiology, 3rd edition by George Stouffer; Marschall S. Runge; Cam Patterson; Joseph S. Rossi
ISBN: 9780323547260

Publication Date: 2019

Provides a concise overview of cardiovascular anatomy, pathophysiology, diagnosis, and management in addition to images in the Netter tradition. Downloadable pdfs of each chapter are also available.
Physiology of the Heart, 5th edition by Arnold M. Katz
Call Number: Books - 3rd Floor ; QP 111.4 .K38 2011

ISBN: 9781608311712

Publication Date: 2011

This edition provides a comprehensive overview of the physiological and biophysical basis of cardiac function, including structure, biochemistry, biophysics, and pathophysiology in arrhythmias, ischemia, and heart failure. The interrelationships of basic processes among the cell, cardiac muscle function, and the biophysics of contractile and electrical behavior are particularly emphasized.
Cardiovascular Physiology, 9th Edition by David E. Mohrman; Lois Jane Heller
ISBN: 9781260026115

Publication Date: 2019

Targets beginning medical students and seeks to enhance their understanding of the basic principles of the cardiovascular system. Also included are study questions at the end of each chapter.

Clinical Information & Guidelines:

Fuster and Hurst's the Heart, 15th Edition by Valentin Fuster; Jagat Narula; Prashant Vaishnava; Martin B. Leon; David J. Callans; John S. Rumsfeld; Athena Poppas
ISBN: 9781264257560

Publication Date: 2022

Features a comprehensive overview of cardiovascular topics, including clinical advances in cardiology, evidence-based medicine, health outcomes, and health care quality.
Current Diagnosis & Treatment Cardiology, 6th Edition by Michael H. Crawford
ISBN: 9781264643578

Publication Date: 2023

Provides the essential knowledge for diagnosing and managing cardiovascular disease and covers the major diseases and their challenges.
The AHA Guidelines and Scientific Statements Handbook by Valentin Fuster (Editor)
ISBN: 9781405184632

Publication Date: 2009

From the American Heart Association, this eBook guides practitioners through the key AHA guidelines, statements, and performance measures.
Rapid Interpretation of EKG's, 6th edition by Dale Dubin
Call Number: Medical Library Study Room - 102 KL (non-circulating) ; RC 683.5 .E5 D8 2000

ISBN: 9780912912066

Publication Date: 2000

This essential text covers the basic principles of interpreting EKGs, including recording, heart rhythm and rate as well as monitoring for conditions such as hypertrophy and infarction and in premature infants.

Braunwald's Heart Disease & More

Braunwald's Heart Disease, 12th edition by Peter Libby; Robert O. Bonow; Douglas L. Mann; Gordon F. Tomaselli; Deepak Bhatt; Scott D. Solomon; Eugene Braunwald
ISBN: 9780323722193

Publication Date: 2022

Provides comprehensive information on contemporary cardiology issues, including molecular biology, genetics, pharmacology, electrophysiology, and interventional cardiology. Downloadable pdfs of each chapter are available.

The following titles are companions to Braunwald's Heart Disease:

Clinical Arrhythmology and Electrophysiology, 3rd edition by Ziad Issa; John M. Miller; Douglas P. Zipes
ISBN: 9780323523561

Publication Date: 2019
Clinical Lipidology: A Companion to Braunwald's Heart Disease, 3rd edition by Christie M. Ballantyne
ISBN: 9780323882866

Publication Date: 2024
Heart Failure: A Companion to Braunwald's Heart Disease, 4th edition by G. Michael Felker; Douglas L. Mann
ISBN: 9780323609876

Publication Date: 2020
Hypertension: a Companion to Braunwald's Heart Disease, 3rd edition by George L. Bakris (Editor); Matthew Sorrentino (Editor)
ISBN: 9780323429733

Publication Date: 2018
Vascular Medicine: a Companion to Braunwald's Heart Disease, 3rd edition by Mark Creager; Joshua A. Beckman; Joseph Loscalzo
ISBN: 9780323636001

Publication Date: 2020

Cardiovascular Test Prep & Review Books

Case Files Cardiology by Eugene C. Toy; Michael D. Faulx
ISBN: 9780071799195

Publication Date: 2015

Includes practice clinical cases and accompanying questions in cardiology topics.
First Aid for the Basic Sciences: Organ Systems, 3rd Edition by Tao Le; William Hwang; Vinayak Muralidhar; Jared A. White
Call Number: Medical Library Study Room - 102 KL (non-circulating) ; R834.5 .F572 2017

ISBN: 9781259587030

Publication Date: 2017

5 reference copies also available in the Medical Library Quiet Study Room

Cardiovascular Physiology Concepts
Website developed by Richard E. Klabunde (same author as your recommended textbook). Includes quizzes and tutorials, glossary, and summaries of concepts in cardiovascular physiology.
Cardiovascular Pharmacology Concepts
A sister-site to Cardiovasuclar Physiology Concepts by Richard E. Klabunde. Includes summaries on clinical disorders and therapeutic classes in addition to tutorials on cardiovascular drugs.

Print Resources:

MedEssentials for the USMLE Step 1, 5th edition by Kaplan Medical
Call Number: Medical Library Study Room - 102 KL (non-circulating) R 834.5 .M355 2020

ISBN: 9781506223599

Publication Date: 2020

Chapter 2 reviews the cardiovascular system.
USMLE Step 1 Secrets in Color, 5th edition by Theodore X. O'Connell; Ryan A. Pedigo
Call Number: Medical Library Study Room - 102 KL (non-circulating) ; R834.5 .U85 2023

ISBN: 9780323810609

Publication Date: 2023

Chapter 1 reviews cardiology

Test Prep and Review Resources

PubMed

PubMed (MEDLINE)
MEDLINE is the National Library of Medicine's free bibliographic database covering the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and the preclinical sciences.

Clinical Information

AccessMedicine
This collection includes medical and basic sciences books, including Harrison's Textbook of Medicine. AccessMedicine also includes images, videos, diagnostic tools, patient education handouts, and drug information.
ClinicalKey
ClinicalKey provides quick access to full-text medical and surgical resources including ebooks, journal articles, clinical practice guidelines, point-of-care clinical monographs, procedural guides, images, videos, drug information, and patient education handouts.

To download book chapter PDFs, please log in or register for a free account. NOTE: Vendor recommends updating to most recent version of browser.
DynaMed
An evidence-based clinical reference tool written by physicians who synthesize the evidence and provide objective analysis to help health care providers in their daily practice. Designed to provide quick answers to clinical questions. Includes thousands of graphics and images, specialty content, mobile access, and enhanced drug information.
UpToDate
This resource presents current clinical information and recommendations on patient care and treatment. Includes evidence-based, physician-authored articles and patient education resources to help make clinical decisions.
VisualDX
An image-based clinical support tool to aid in the identification of indentifiable diseases; including, dermatologic, infectious, genetic, metabolic, drug-induced conditions, and occupational injuries.

Drug Information Resources

Micromedex
Micromedex provides access to information on drugs, toxicology, and diseases. The drug information is detailed, referenced, and includes drug comparisons and identification, therapeutic class searching, and dosing

Drug Information & Pharmacology Resources
A collection of all pharmacology resources available through the OUWB Medical Library.
Finding Answers to Questions on Drugs & Pharmacology
Determine which of the OUWB Medical Library resources to use in order to answer your drug or pharmacology question.

Multimedia Resources

Acland's Video Atlas of Human Anatomy
This resource includes three-dimensional videos of dissected human anatomic specimens. The videos show complex structures step by step - from bone to surface anatomy - to provide a foundation for understanding anatomical structure and function.
Anatomy.TV
An interactive 3D anatomy resource. Users may manipulate images by rotating, zooming, and removing layers to learn more about anatomical structures. It also includes MRI sections, slides, movies, animations, clinical text and patient education sheets..
Bates' Visual Guide
Bates Visual Guide contains videos of systems-based physical examination techniques for development of clinical skills.
To login, select the option: Library - Continue as anonymous library user.
IMAIOS (e-Anatomy)
e-Anatomy is an anatomical database providing more than 3,000 images of the human body. It provides cross-sectional, gross, and radiological anatomy derived from various types of medical imaging, including magnetic resonance imaging (MRI) and computed tomography (CT) scans.
Netter Reference
Collection of Netter Reference books that include anatomical images from the Green Books, Netter's Atlas of Human Anatomy, and Netter's Concise Radiologic Anatomy.

Anatomy Resources Comparison Chart
A chart comparing the Medical Library anatomy resources: description, ease of use, image types, mobile app, quizzes / self-assessment, and the ability to download / save images.

Journals

Browse All Cardiovascular Journals

Cardiovascular Patient Education Resources

American Heart Association
Features information for patients on heart conditions, nutrition, exercise, cholesterol, and more.
Blood, Heart & Circulation / MedlinePlus
Includes a variety of topics related to the cardiovascular system. Look for plain language summaries, videos, images, and links to non-profit and government agencies.
National Heart, Lung & Blood Institute
Includes informational materials for health professionals, patients, educational campaign information, and more.

Patient Education / Consumer Health Resources

MedlinePlus
MedlinePlus provides consumer health information for patients, families, and health care providers. Produced by the National Institutes of Health and other trusted sources, it includes extensive information about drugs, an illustrated medical encyclopedia, a medical dictionary, interactive patient tutorials, health care provider directories, and latest health news.

Access Medicine / Patient Education Handouts
Clinical Key / Patient Education Handouts
Micromedex / Care Notes
UpToDate Patient Education
UpToDate offers two levels of content for patients:
--The Basics are short overviews. They are written in accordance with plain language principles and answer the four or five most important questions a person might have about a medical problem.
--Beyond the Basics are longer, more detailed reviews. They are best for readers who want detailed information and are comfortable with some medical terminology.

Cardiovascular

Contact Us

Library Tutorials

Medical Librarian