They include: point-of-care, drugs / interactions, medical calculators, patient education, productivity, and medical student education apps.
Stay Connected with the Medical Library
Read both the OUWB Medical Library Newsletter and our Blog in order to keep up-to-date with the latest tools, services, and resources for expert searching, scholarly communications, data management, publishing, research impact, and more!
Call Number: Medical Library Study Room - 102 KL (non-circulating) ; QM 451 .F59 2019
Publication Date: 2020
RECOMMENDED: Neuroscience, 7th edition by Anthony-Samuel LaMantia (Editor); Leonard E. White (Editor); Emeritus Purves; George J. Augustine (Editor); Jennifer M. Groh (Editor); Scott A. Huettel (Editor)
Call Number: Medical Library Study Room - 102 KL (non-circulating) ; QP355.2 .N487 2024
Publication Date: 2024
Print book only; no electronic version is available.
There is no required textbook for Neuroscience I. Disciplines that had required textbooks in previous courses will use the same texts in this course.
Accessing the Medical Library Textbooks
An online version of selected textbooks is accessible to OUWB medical students on campus or off campus. To access these textbooks off campus, you must login with your OU NetID and password (the same ones for accessing your OU email account and Moodle).
Print copies of all required and recommended textbooks are on reserve in the OUWB Medical Library Study Room (KL 102). If you need any assistance with locating any of the following books, please email the OUWB Medical Library at firstname.lastname@example.org.
This website is a good MRI atlas of structures. Remember that the only structures you are expected to learn by heart are the ones in the following PPTs (they are the same, one just shows each structure in the image).
You must sign up with your @oakland.edu email here to access the Board Vitals question banks.
An interactive and powerful board review tool that can be used by practicing clinicians, residents and several types of healthcare students. With BoardVitals, you have the ability to create customized practice tests using many options including number of questions, subjects and more. Included are detailed, up-to-date explanations with each answer, with references and links to applicable sources.
Important Board Vitals Information:
Some of our students have reported problems with accessing the question banks on Board Vitals. Please be sure to follow these steps when registering for an account.
This collection includes medical and basic sciences books, including Harrison's Textbook of Medicine. AccessMedicine also includes images, videos, diagnostic tools, patient education handouts, and drug information.
ClinicalKey provides quick access to full-text medical and surgical resources including ebooks, journal articles, clinical practice guidelines, point-of-care clinical monographs, procedural guides, images, videos, drug information, and patient education handouts.
To download book chapter PDFs, please log in or register for a free account. NOTE: Vendor recommends updating to most recent version of browser.
An evidence-based clinical reference tool written by physicians who synthesize the evidence and provide objective analysis to help health care providers in their daily practice. Designed to provide quick answers to clinical questions. Includes thousands of graphics and images, specialty content, mobile access, and enhanced drug information.
This resource presents current clinical information and recommendations on patient care and treatment. Includes evidence-based, physician-authored articles and patient education resources to help make clinical decisions.
An image-based clinical support tool to aid in the identification of indentifiable diseases; including, dermatologic, infectious, genetic, metabolic, drug-induced conditions, and occupational injuries.
MEDLINE is the National Library of Medicine's free bibliographic database covering the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and the preclinical sciences.
A comprehensive drug database that contains up-to-date, detailed information on thousands of drugs. Users can run reports on interactions, search by indication and contraindication, check IV compatibility, and print patient information materials.
Micromedex provides access to information on drugs, toxicology, and diseases. The drug information is detailed, referenced, and includes drug comparisons and identification, therapeutic class searching, and dosing
This resource includes three-dimensional videos of dissected human anatomic specimens. The videos show complex structures step by step - from bone to surface anatomy - to provide a foundation for understanding anatomical structure and function.
An interactive 3D anatomy resource. Users may manipulate images by rotating, zooming, and removing layers to learn more about anatomical structures. It also includes MRI sections, slides, movies, animations, clinical text and patient education sheets..
e-Anatomy is an anatomical database providing more than 3,000 images of the human body. It provides cross-sectional, gross, and radiological anatomy derived from various types of medical imaging, including magnetic resonance imaging (MRI) and computed tomography (CT) scans.
MedlinePlus provides consumer health information for patients, families, and health care providers. Produced by the National Institutes of Health and other trusted sources, it includes extensive information about drugs, an illustrated medical encyclopedia, a medical dictionary, interactive patient tutorials, health care provider directories, and latest health news.
UpToDate offers two levels of content for patients:
--The Basics are short overviews. They are written in accordance with plain language principles and answer the four or five most important questions a person might have about a medical problem.
--Beyond the Basics are longer, more detailed reviews. They are best for readers who want detailed information and are comfortable with some medical terminology.