Home - ENG 4980 - Major American Writers: Ralph Waldo Emerson

Interlibrary Loan or ILL

Interlibrary Loan, or ILL

When the library does not have something you are looking for, you can always borrow it from another library. Interlibrary Loan (ILL) is a free service offered to OU students, faculty, and staff by the Library. Through ILL you can borrow books, get copies of journal articles, or borrow other materials from other libraries. You can find out more via the following link:

Interlibrary Loan Homepage

Emerson Reference Sources

Bibliography of American Literature by Blanck, Jacob
Call Number: REF PS 504 .A1 B55
Accounts for and describes all early editions of select American authors (see vol. 3 for Emerson)
Emerson's Library by Harding, Walter
Call Number: 3rd Floor PS 1631 .H35
The books of Emerson.
Emerson: An Annotated Secondary Bibliography by Burkholder, Robert E., and Joel Myerson
Call Number: 3rd Floor PS 1631 .A1 B87 1985
A chronological, annotated bibliography of writing on Emerson through early 20th century

Primary Sources

American Periodicals
This collection includes digitized images of American magazines and journals ranging from special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, trade journals, children's and women's magazines, and many other historically significant periodicals.
Early American Imprints (Series I and II)
This collection is a definitive resource for teaching and researching the Early National Period in American History. It includes full text, digital images of books, pamphlets, broadsides and periodicals published in America from 1639-1800 (Series 1) and 1801-1819 (Series II). Both series cover subjects ranging from history, literature and culture to politics, government and society.
Harper's Weekly
Provides full-image reproductions of Harper's Weekly from 1857-1912, one of the most important weekly magazines read by Americans during the 19th Century.
Nineteenth Century British Pamphlets
Online access to the most significant British pamphlets from the 19th century held in UK research libraries. Focus is on the political, economic and social issues of the time.
New York Times Historical
This database includes full-text, full-image articles of The New York Times going back to 1851. The database can be used to search national and international news, editorials, obituaries, birth and marriage announcements, plus historical photos and advertisements. The documents are downloadable in PDF format.

Search also for collected and published Emerson letters (there are many! published in many different volumes!) using this subject heading: Emerson, Ralph Waldo, 1803-1882 Correspondence

HathiTrust
Search through out-of-copyright books for information on contemporaneous topics.

Secondary Sources

All books predominantly about Emerson will have the following subject heading:

Emerson, Ralph Waldo, 1803-1882

Added to this subject heading are often other useful phrases. If the book is predominantly about a scholarly interpretation of Emerson and his work, rather than containing his correspondence or an edition of his work, a useful subject heading is:

criticism and interpretation

Added to this subject heading can be any number of useful, additional phrases, like:

nature in literature

philosophy of nature in literature

nonlinear theories

Remember, because academic libraries use Library of Congress Subject Headings (LCSH), these phrases can help you find books in our library's catalog, as well as other libraries'.

Coordinator of Archives and Special Collections

Emily Spunaugle

she / her

Email Me

Contact:

KL Office 246

248-370-2498

Subjects: English, Film Studies and Production, Honors College

ENG 4980 - Major American Writers: Ralph Waldo Emerson: Home

Interlibrary Loan or ILL

Emerson Reference Sources

Primary Sources

Secondary Sources

Coordinator of Archives and Special Collections