LibGuides: Welcome to the OUWB Medical Library: Resources in the Library

Ask Us!

Is this guide useful?

How useful did you find this guide?

Very useful: 0 votes (0%)

Useful: 0 votes (0%)

Somewhat useful: 0 votes (0%)

Not useful: 0 votes (0%)

I don't know: 0 votes (0%)

Total Votes: 0

Accessing Library Resources from Off-Campus

OUWB students and faculty can access the library resources anytime from anywhere, both on campus and off campus, including at home or at Corewell / Beaumont.

When accessing library remotely, please access through the library website or course and subject guides. After clicking the resource link, you will be prompted to log in with your Oakland University NetID and password — the same credentials for accessing Moodle or your OU email. If you have any questions, please contact the Medical Library.

Resources in the Library

Textbooks

Most course required textbooks are available online. Please note that many electronic books are only available in the most current edition.

In addition, the Medical Library keeps at least two print copies of all curricular textbooks in the KL102 Study Room.

OUWB students can find course-related information on our Course & Subject Guides page.

Selected E-Book Collections (click here to see a more comprehensive list):

AccessMedicine
This collection includes medical and basic sciences books, including Harrison's Textbook of Medicine. AccessMedicine also includes images, videos, diagnostic tools, patient education handouts, and drug information.
ClinicalKey
ClinicalKey provides quick access to full-text medical and surgical resources including ebooks, journal articles, clinical practice guidelines, point-of-care clinical monographs, procedural guides, images, videos, drug information, and patient education handouts.
To download book chapter PDFs, please log in or register for a free account. NOTE: Vendor recommends updating to most recent version of browser.
LWW Health Library - Medical Education
LWW Health Library for Medical Education offers a core collection of content covering key areas of studyanatomical sciences, pathology, and biochemistry. Also included are case studies, exam preparation, and Q&As to reinforce learned content and exam preparation.
LWW Health Library - Board Review Series
The Board Review Series covers the core basic sciences and focuses on content for board and course exams, covering material on each corresponding subject that is addressed on USMLE Step 1. Includes review questions, clinical information, full-color illustrations, photographs, and tables.
STAT!Ref
STAT!Ref is a full-text healthcare library the enables uers to cross-search evidence-based references. It provides best-evidence summaries and answers to clinical questions concerning symptoms, disease, and treatments.
Thieme MedOne Education
Collection of textbooks and color atlases in anatomy, medicine, and the life sciences published by Thieme. Authorized users can read the books online or download them to their personal devices.

The OUWB Medical Library maintains a collection of review books in electronic format or as print books. The print collection are located in the OUWB Medical Library Quiet Study Room (Kresge Library Room 102). For more information on test prep resources, please visit the Subject Review & USMLE Prep Resources Guide.

If you need any assistance with locating any print or electronic books or would like to recommend any book titles for the library to consider adding to our collection, please contact us.

Question Banks and board review ebook collections for OUWB Medical Students:

Boards & Beyond
Includes board review videos and question banks to support medical students in preparation for USMLE and COMLEX exams. The on-demand video libraries and online resources focus on the fundamentals of medical basic sciences and clinical medicine.

Please note, users are required to create an account.
BoardVitals
You must sign up with your @oakland.edu email here to access the Board Vitals question banks.

An interactive and powerful board review tool that can be used by practicing clinicians, residents and several types of healthcare students. With BoardVitals, you have the ability to create customized practice tests using many options including number of questions, subjects and more. Included are detailed, up-to-date explanations with each answer, with references and links to applicable sources.
LWW Health Library - Board Review Series
The Board Review Series covers the core basic sciences and focuses on content for board and course exams, covering material on each corresponding subject that is addressed on USMLE Step 1. Includes review questions, clinical information, full-color illustrations, photographs, and tables.
AccessMedicine - Case Files
This collection includes the clinical medicine and post-graduate level cases from the Case Files series books in an interactive format. The Case Files expose students to patient cases and is personalized to let users mark their progress through completed and unseen cases.

If you need to look up a specific journal or browse the journal available through the Medical Library and the Kresge Library, you can search by journal title using the Library OneSearch Publication Finder or browse publications by name.

If you need to find journal articles on your topic, you may search on your topic in article databases such as PubMed. Use the Get It @ OU Libraries link to access or request full text if the article isn't available as open access or free PMC article.

Look for the icon when you search in OUWB subscribed databases to access Full Text.

You can access the OUWB Medical Library journal subscriptions through BrowZine on any mobile device, tablet or computer. You can search by specific journal title or browse by subject. Save your favorite journal titles and automatically receive the table of contents and full-text articles.

Please note that not all of the OUWB journals are available in BrowZine.

The Medical Library subscribes to a wide range of electronic resources including biomedical databases, ebook collections, point of care resources. You can browse the A-Z Databases: Medicine to find out more. There are other subject databases available to OUWB students and faculty as well.

Selected Databases:

PubMed (MEDLINE)
MEDLINE is the National Library of Medicine's free bibliographic database covering the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and the preclinical sciences.
EMBase
European-based database with journal articles and other biomedical literature from an international perspective. It includes comprehensive coverage of biomedical information with an emphasis on drugs and pharmacology. Covers all journals in Medline and unique journals not included in Medline.
Scopus
Scopus is an abstract and citation database that supports research needs in the scientific, technical, medical, social sciences, and the arts and humanities. It provides tools for tracking citations, creating researcher profiles, and visualizing search results.
Web of Science
Provides access to the Arts & Humanities Index (A&HCI), Emerging Sources Citation Index (ESCI), Science Citation Index (SCI), and Social Science Citation Index (SSCI). The database can be searched by words in article titles and abstracts, by author, by journal, and to look for cited references.

The Medical Library provides various clinical resources to support medical education and clinical rotations.

Selected clinical resources:

UpToDate
This resource presents current clinical information and recommendations on patient care and treatment. Includes evidence-based, physician-authored articles and patient education resources to help make clinical decisions.
DynaMed
An evidence-based clinical reference tool written by physicians who synthesize the evidence and provide objective analysis to help health care providers in their daily practice. Designed to provide quick answers to clinical questions. Includes thousands of graphics and images, specialty content, mobile access, and enhanced drug information.
Micromedex
Micromedex provides access to information on drugs, toxicology, and diseases. The drug information is detailed, referenced, and includes drug comparisons and identification, therapeutic class searching, and dosing
AccessAnesthesiology
This collection includes anesthesiology and pain management specialty and sub-specialty textbooks. Access Anesthesiology also includes procedural videos, calculators, study tools and review questions, patient cases, and patient safety modules.
AccessNeurology
This collection includes neurology and neuroscience books, including Adams and Victor's Principles of Neurology. AccessNeurology also includes images, videos, and self-assessment study tools.
AccessPediatrics
This collection includes pediatric specialty and sub-specialty textbooks, including Rudolph's Pediatrics. AccessPediatrics also includes images, videos, patient education handouts, drug information, and self-assessment tools.
AccessObGyn
This collection includes OB/GYN specialty and sub-specialty textbooks, including William's Obstetrics. AccessObGyn also includes images, videos, drug information, and self-assessment tools.
AccessSurgery
This collection includes surgical specialty and sub-specialty textbooks and atlases, including Schwartz's Principles of Surgery and Zollinger's Atlas of Surgical Operations. AccessSurgery also includes images, videos, patient education handouts, drug information, and self-assessment tools.
ClinicalKey
ClinicalKey provides quick access to full-text medical and surgical resources including ebooks, journal articles, clinical practice guidelines, point-of-care clinical monographs, procedural guides, images, videos, drug information, and patient education handouts.
To download book chapter PDFs, please log in or register for a free account. NOTE: Vendor recommends updating to most recent version of browser.
VisualDX
An image-based clinical support tool to aid in the identification of indentifiable diseases; including, dermatologic, infectious, genetic, metabolic, drug-induced conditions, and occupational injuries.
Acland's Video Atlas of Human Anatomy
This resource includes three-dimensional videos of dissected human anatomic specimens. The videos show complex structures step by step - from bone to surface anatomy - to provide a foundation for understanding anatomical structure and function.
Bates' Visual Guide
Bates Visual Guide contains videos of systems-based physical examination techniques for development of clinical skills.

To login, select the option: Library - Continue as anonymous library user.