Home - MKT 4550 - Product Management - LibGuides at Oakland University

Industry Research Resources

Resources for Industry Research and Reports

The following resources contain relevant information on US and/or International industries. Many of these resources contain downloadable reports.

IBISWorld This link opens in a new window
Industry research database covering thousands of industries in the U.S., China, and global economies at the 5-digit NAICS code level. Reports include market characteristics, segmentation, industry conditions, industry performance, key competitors, key success factors, and outlook.
MarketLine This link opens in a new window
Market Line provides searchable company, industry, and country information. Includes company and industry reports, country profiles, as well as market data and country statistics
ProQuest One Business This link opens in a new window
Provides access to articles in scholarly, peer-reviewed business journals, trade journals and business news publications. Includes the full-text of the Wall Street Journal, the Financial Times and the Economist.
Passport GMID (Global Market Information Database) This link opens in a new window
A global market research database that provides statistics, analysis, reports, surveys, and breaking news on industries, countries, and consumers worldwide. Covers consumer and industrial market details from over 200 countries and 27 industries with historic data from 1997.

Company Research Resources

The resources listed below are all useful in some way for researching companies. You can expect to find company histories, lists of subsidiaries, detailed reports, financial statements, and much more in these resources.

MarketLine This link opens in a new window
Market Line provides searchable company, industry, and country information. Includes company and industry reports, country profiles, as well as market data and country statistics
ProQuest One Business This link opens in a new window
Provides access to articles in scholarly, peer-reviewed business journals, trade journals and business news publications. Includes the full-text of the Wall Street Journal, the Financial Times and the Economist.
Business Source Elite This link opens in a new window
Provides access to articles in scholarly, peer-reviewed business journals, trade journals and business news publications. Includes the full-text of the Harvard Business Review. Also includes company profiles, investment research reports, industry reports, market research, country reports, SWOT analyses, and more.

Consumer Research Sources

The following resources can be used to research consumers. They contain information such as demographics, spending, and other habits or articles related to consumer research.

DemographicsNow This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
DemographicsNow provides demographics and comprehensive business and residential information for users to assess business viability, create sales leads and/or marketing mailing lists, analyze population trends, find potential sponsors and donors, and more. Users can can search for people or businesses and create demographic reports.
Passport GMID (Global Market Information Database) This link opens in a new window
A global market research database that provides statistics, analysis, reports, surveys, and breaking news on industries, countries, and consumers worldwide. Covers consumer and industrial market details from over 200 countries and 27 industries with historic data from 1997.
ProQuest One Business This link opens in a new window
Provides access to articles in scholarly, peer-reviewed business journals, trade journals and business news publications. Includes the full-text of the Wall Street Journal, the Financial Times and the Economist.

The US Census Bureau
This site contains a wealth of information about the United States and its residents. There is information on population, race, ethnicity, income, and many other demographic indicators. You can use tools to explore data on your own or view the reports and briefs made by the Census Bureau.

Business Librarian

Shawn McCann

He/Him

Email Me

Contact:

Office: 240

mccann@oakland.edu

Subjects: Accounting, Business, Decision and Information Science, Economics, Entrepreneurship, Finance, Management, Marketing