LibGuides: Journalism: Home

Introduction

Welcome to the Journalism LibGuide at Oakland University! This resource is designed to support students, faculty, and researchers in navigating the dynamic and ever-evolving field of journalism. As a discipline that plays a crucial role in informing the public, shaping opinions, and holding power accountable, journalism encompasses a wide range of practices, from investigative reporting to multimedia storytelling.This LibGuide provides access to essential resources, including databases, e-journals, books, and other materials that are vital for your coursework, projects, and research. Whether you are exploring the fundamentals of news writing, delving into media ethics, or investigating the impact of digital technologies on journalism, you will find valuable tools and information tailored to your needs.

Why Use Library Resources?

Results you retrieve from Google searches are found on the surface web where information is not evaluated. Results from library databases are found on the deep web where information is evaluated. With Google searches you're finding only the tip of the iceberg.

Library databases help you find information that has been vetted and checked for accuracy. Also, library databases help you find articles that you can't find via Google.

Find News Sources

Chicago Defender (Proquest Historical Newspapers) This link opens in a new window
This historical newspaper includes first-hand accounts and coverage of the politics, society and events of the time. This is an electronic database of articles, which includes the complete paper with full-page and article images in downloadable PDF format. Coverage is from 1909-1975.
Detroit Free Press Historical This link opens in a new window
This historical newspaper includes first-hand accounts and coverage of the politics, society and events of the time. This is an electronic database of articles, which includes the complete paper with full-page and article images in downloadable PDF format. Coverage is from 1831-1999.
International Newsstream This link opens in a new window
Provides recent news content outside of the US and Canada, with archives which stretch back decades featuring newspapers, newswires, and news sites in active full-text format.
Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A full-text digital collection of the world's major news content. It includes articles from newspapers, newswires, and news magazines. In addition, it offers television and radio transcripts and ongoing daily updates from popular news sources.
New York Times Historical This link opens in a new window
This database includes full-text, full-image articles of The New York Times going back to 1851. The database can be used to search national and international news, editorials, obituaries, birth and marriage announcements, plus historical photos and advertisements. The documents are downloadable in PDF format.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Explore controversial topics and find multiple sides of the debate backed by academic and news articles. Find full-text New York Times articles here.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
This multidisciplinary resource brings together complete databases across all major subject areas, including Business, Health and Medical, Social Sciences, Education, Science and Technology, and Humanities.
Regional Business News This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text regional business publications for the United States and Canadian provinces. Users can search newspapers, magazines and other resources from trusted news sources.
US Newsstream This link opens in a new window
Provides recent US news content, as well as archives which stretch back into the 1980s featuring top newspapers, newswires, blogs, and news sites in active full-text format.

Find Videos

Academic Video Online This link opens in a new window
This is a multidisciplinary collection of streaming videos that span a wide range of subject areas such as anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more.
World Newsreels Online: 1929-1966 This link opens in a new window
Streaming video collection that captures full runs key international newsreels produced during the early twentieth century. Produced from 1929 through the early post-war period, these films give users insight into how people learned about and lived through the events that occurred during this period of history.

Librarian

Molly McGuire

Email Me

Subjects: Communication, English as a Second Language, Journalism, Linguistics, Public Relations