Find Articles - HS 3250 - Research Methods in Health Care

Find Research Articles

This is a select list of the OU Libraries' most frequently used databases in the health sciences.

Alt-Health Watch This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A full-text alternative health research database focused on complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness. It offers the latest information about the evolving practice of holistic medicine and therapies.
CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window
A full-text database for nursing and allied health journals from 1937 to the present. It includes access to scholarly journal articles, dissertations, magazines, pamphlets, evidence-based care sheets, books, and research instruments.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
This database provides indexing and abstracts for journal articles, books, chapters, and dissertations in psychology. Covers the research literature in all areas of psychology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. Other subjects such as neuroscience, psychiatry, and physiology are also included.
PubMed (MEDLINE) This link opens in a new window
MEDLINE is the National Library of Medicine's free bibliographic database covering the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and the preclinical sciences.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Provides access to the Arts & Humanities Index (A&HCI), Emerging Sources Citation Index (ESCI), Science Citation Index (SCI), and Social Science Citation Index (SSCI). The database can be searched by words in article titles and abstracts, by author, by journal, and to look for cited references.

Don't see what you are looking for? Click here to see all the databases available in the health sciences.

Database Tutorials

While I am always happy to provide one-on-one training in database searching, you may find these brief tutorials helpful for just-in-time learning.

CINAHL

PubMed

Web of Science

Handouts

Crafting Your Search Strategy
Covers combining search terms with Boolean operators (AND, OR, NOT), phrase searching, nesting, and truncation.
Tips for Using PubMed
Provides basic overview of PubMed searching at OU.

Librarian

Nancy Bulgarelli

she / her / hers

Email Me

Contact:

237 Kresge Library

248-370-2481

Subjects: Biological Sciences, Exercise Science, Health Sciences, Nutrition and Dietetics, Orthotist and Prosthetist, Physical Therapy