Skip to Main Content

Library System and Resource Issues

System and eResource Issues

This page includes issues that may be impacting our resource and discovery services, such as the library's discovery or proxy systems as well as databases, eBooks, eJournals and other content.  If you are having problems with a resource or service not listed here or have a question about one listed, please contact us.

Specific issues are broken out into three categories and included on its own tab. They include the following:

  • Systems and Services: Library OneSearch, remote access, linking to full-text, or system errors.
  • eResources Content:  Access to content, subscription changes, platform upgrades, or discovery of items.
  • Scheduled Maintenance:  Disruption of services due to planned vendor upgrades, migrations, or site maintenance.

 

Library Systems and Services

This page includes issues related to Systems and Services.  These could includes issues with Library OneSearch, linking to resources, remote access to resources, or general error messages.  If you are having problems with a system or service not listed here or have a question about one listed, please contact us.

Status Resource Issue Details

3/13/2024
Testing

OneSearch and Ebsco Products Multiple Prompts to Log Into OneSearch and Databases The user receives multiple prompts to log in including a prompt initiated from the main search screen. See Troubleshooting tips for workaround suggestions.
2/22/24
Resolved
OneSearch Find @ OIASTER links direct users to paid content. OAISTER is an open access database, but some records are marked as full-text, resulting in linking to non-OA content.
2/13/24
Resolved
OneSearch Links to Gale: Oposing Viewpoints content not working for remote users. Remote users were unable to access content in Gale Opposing Viewpoints from OneSearch records. Updated a setting in discovery system to prompt authentication.
2/1/2024
Resolved
OneSearch Links to Gale: Oposing Viewpoints content not working. An issue with the document numbers in the Gale index was resulting in broken links. These identifiers were updated to resolve linking issue.
1/26/24
Resolved
OneSearch Find @ ISI Index links direct users to paid content. The ISI index includes content we do not have access to and linking was not set to check against our holdings.

 

eResources:  Databases, eBooks, eJournals and Other Content

This page includes issues related to databases, eBooks, eJournals and other content.  These could changes to provider platforms, subscribed content, or general discovery of items.  If you are having problems with an eResource not listed here or have a question about one listed, please contact us.

Status Resource Issue Details
  Ogoing Embargoed Content Appearing in OneSearch Results Some of our larger databases and collections have an embargo period for various journals, which includes a period of time for which we do not have access to journal content, generally a period of 6 months to 1 year. Typically embargoed content should not appear in Library OneSearch results, but if an article has multiple publication dates (online publication, pre-publication, print publication, etc), a record may appear in search results when we do not have access yet.
  Ongoing ProQuest Content Our OneSearch vendor (Ebsco) states that 95% of ProQuest content is discoverable due to overlap with its partner indexes, but since ProQuest declines to share their metadata with Ebsco, we do not have direct access to the ProQuest index. Therefore, users are unable to find unique ProQuest content in OneSearch (ie, Dissterations & Theses and Historical Newspapers) and may have difficulty finding other materials supplied by ProQuest. We are working to mitigate these issues, such as importing Marc records for our eBook collections into our catalog, but you may notice problems finding and accessing ProQuest resources in general due to this lack of vendor-supplied metadata.
  Ongoing ProQuest DDA Due to poor indexing of Proquest content and decreased automation coupled with increased staff labor to maintain it, Proquest DDA is not currently visible in OneSearch, but they are available in the ProQuest eBook Central database.

 

 

Scheduled Maintenance

This page includes scheduled maintenance to vendor site, which could include a disruption to services.  If you are having problems with a system not listed here or have a question about one listed, please contact us.

Date/Time Resource Issue Details
6/19/24 OneSearch Update to Advance Search terminology. Where the search mode once read "Boolean/Phrase," it will not read "Proximity." This change is being made to eliminate end user confusion over the meaning of "Boolean/Phrase."
3/19/24 Annual Reviews Migration to Ingenta Platform Annual Reviews journal content to migrate to Ingenta platform. The majority of URLs will remain unchanged, and redirects are in place when needed to ensure all content can be access without interruption.
3/16/24
9 AM - 2 PM EST
IEEE Explore Platfirn Maintenance IEEE Xplore will undergo scheduled maintenance. Due to the nature of the upgrade, the platform will be unavailable for the entire duration of this timeframe. We apologize for the inconvenience and appreciate your patience.
3/13/24 Annals of Internal Medicine Interface Update The Annals of Internal Medicine have updated and improved upon the online experience for their users. Here are some of the improvements you will see:

>
Enhanced reading experience: A clean and streamlined interface makes reading articles easier and more enjoyable.
>
Faster page loading: Improved page load times ensure users can access content quickly and efficiently.
>
Improved accessibility: Articles open by default in ePub format instead of PDF format, which offer several advantages over PDFs, including text reflow, font size adjustment, supports text-to-speech, improved navigation, and better content structure for accessibility.
3/13/24
7 AM - 8 AM EST
Ebsco User Accounts Maintenance EBSCO will be performing maintenance to user accounts. During this time, users will be able to access EBSCO interfaces using personal user authentication, however, they will be logged in as institutional users and may be unable to access the following:

* Folders/Custom Folders
* Search and journal alerts
* Saved searches
* Saved persistent links
* eBook checkouts and holds
* Saved preferences
3/10/24
1 AM EST
Ebsco eBooks   EBSCO will perform scheduled maintenance on Sunday, March 10th, starting at 1:00 AM EST (6:00 AM UTC) and it is expected to be completed in one hour or less.

During this maintenance window, end users will not be able to download EBSCO eBooks through EBSCOhost, EBSCO Discovery Service, or the EBSCO Mobile App. Online reading of eBooks and downloading of eBook sections will continue to be available during the maintenance window.