NTR 3000 - Nutrition Research Methods

Part of the FDA. Oversees all FDA activities related to food safety and nutrition.

A joint project Departments of Agriculture and Health and Human Services, the Guidelines were first released in 1980, and by mandate are updated every five years under the 1990 National Nutrition Monitoring and Related Research Act. The law requires the Dietary Guidelines to be based on the current body of nutrition science. The website contains the full guideline as well as supplemental material for both consumers and healthcare professionals.

The Food Access Research Atlas presents an overview of food access indicators for low-income and other census tracts using different measures of supermarket accessibility; provides food access data for populations within census tracts; and offers census-tract-level data on food access that can be downloaded for community planning or research purposes. Use the Atlas to create maps showing food access indicators by census tract using different measures and indicators of supermarket accessibility; view indicators of food access for selected sub-populations; and download census-tract-level data on food access measures.

A service of the USDA, the FNIC provides information about food and human nutrition for the professional community.

The objectives of the Atlas are to assemble statistics on food environment indicators to stimulate research on the determinants of food choices and diet quality; and to provide a spatial overview of a community's ability to access health food.

Includes links to searchable databases including: What We Eat in America, Food and Nutrient Database for Dietary Studies, and What's in the Foods Your Eat.

A comprehensive source of information on physical activity, nutrition, and obesity in the United States.

From the National Center of Health Statistics, this site pulls together sources of statistical information from the federal government on diet and nutrition.

The Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics is the world's largest organization of nutrition and dietetics practitioners, representing more than 112,000 credentialed practitioners - registered dietitian nutritionists, nutrition and dietetics technicians, registered, and other food and nutrition professionals holding undergraduate and advanced degrees in nutrition and dietetics, and students. It is committed to improving health and advancing the profession of nutrition and dietetics through research, education and advocacy.

The American Society for Nutrition (ASN) is a non-profit organization for professional researchers and practitioners in the nutrition field. It publishes peer-reviewed journals, holds scientific conferences, and provides on-going continuing education.