Associate Professor / Nancy Bulgarelli
Swanberg, S.M., Bulgarelli, N., Jayakumar, M., Look, E., Shubitowski, T.B., Wedemeyer, R., Yuen, E.W., Lucia, V.C. (2022). A health education outreach partnership between an academic medical library and public library: Lessons learned before and during a pandemic. Journal of the Medical Library Association, 110(2), 212-221. dx.doi.org/10.5195/jmla.2022.1413
Professor / Kristine Condic
Condic, K. (2021). Examination of academic library websites regarding COVID-19 responsiveness. Journal of Web Librarianship, 15(1), 32-45. 10.1080/19322909.2021.1906823
Condic, K. (2020). AAU library directors: Past employment and educational credentials. Journal of Library Administration, 60(7), 714-725.
Professor / Dominique Daniel
Daniel, D. (2021). Research distancing: Conducting library history research online during a pandemic. Libraries: Culture, History, and Society, 5(1), 230-235. 10.5325/libraries.5.2.0230 [editorially reviewed]
Associate Professor / Katie Greer
Statton Thompson, D., Beene, S., Greer, K., Wegmann, M., Fullmer, M., Murphy, M., ... & Saulter, T. (2022). A proliferation of images: Trends, obstacles, and opportunities for visual literacy. Journal of Visual Literacy, 41(2), 1-19.
Beene, S., & Greer, K. (2021). A call to action for librarians: Countering conspiracy theories in the age of QAnon. The Journal of Academic Librarianship, 47(1), 102292. https://doi.org/10.1016/j.acalib.2020.102292
CHOICE Review, Michelangelo
Putting the Framework for Visual Literacy in Higher Education into Practice (workshop), with Maggie Murphy and Dana S. Thompson, ARLIS/NA Conference, Chicago, April 2022
ACRL, April 2021: High-Impact Librarianship: Engaging Students Online, with Hazel McClure, Gayle Schaub, and Doug Wendell.
International Visual Literacy Association Conference, August 2021: Perceiving the Metaliteracy Landscape, with Mary Wegmann and Dana Thompson.
LILLY Conference, November 2021: Critical Pedagogy and Critical IL in the Online Environment.
Professor / Amanda Nichols Hess
Nichols Hess, A. (2020). Modular online learning design: A flexible approach for diverse learning needs. ALA Editions.
McCann, S., Greer, K., & Nichols Hess, A. (2020). High-impact practices: Collaborative assignments and projects. In H. McClure & G. Schaub (Eds.), Engaging students through campus libraries: High impact learning models (93-108). ABC-CLIO.
Nichols Hess, A. (2020). Instructional experience and teaching identities: How academic librarians’ years of experience in instruction impact their perceptions of themselves as educators. Communications in Information Literacy, 14(2), 153-180.
Levenson, H. N., & Nichols Hess, A. (2020). Collaborative collection development: Current perspectives leading to future initiatives. The Journal of Academic Librarianship, 46(15). https://doi.org/10.1016/j.acalib.2020.102201
Gray, S., Marino, W., Nichols Hess, A., & Wallis, E. (2020). An exchange could do you good: Hosting informal meetings to foster academic librarians’ work at nearby institutions. College & Research Libraries News, 81(10), 498-501. Retrieved from https://crln.acrl.org/index.php/crlnews/article/view/24689/32509
Nichols Hess, A. (2021, May 19). PIVOT! Turning obstacles beyond our control into powerful instructional assessment opportunities. MI-ALA Annual Conference, online.
Nichols Hess, A. & Hristova, M. (2021, May 12). Daring to lead: How Library Instruction Experience Prepares Librarians for Administration, and How Administrative Experience Transforms Instruction. LOEX Annual Conference, online.
Nichols Hess, A. (2021, April 28 and May 5). Flexible online instruction using modular learning design. ALA webinar.
Nichols Hess, A. (2020, October 21). Flexible online instruction using modular learning design. ALA webinar.
Associate Professor / Mariela Hristova
Nichols Hess, A. & Hristova, M. (2021, May 12). Daring to lead: How Library Instruction Experience Prepares Librarians for Administration, and How Administrative Experience Transforms Instruction. LOEX Annual Conference, online.
Associate Professor / Helen Levenson
Levenson, H.N. & Nichols Hess, A. (2020). Collaborative collection development: Current perspectives leading to future initiatives, The Journal of Academic Librarianship, 46(5), 1-11. 10.1016/j.acalib.2020.102201
Levenson, H. N., Moderator and Co-Panelist, Collaborative Collection Development: Potential Opportunities Identified (MiALA 2021 Virtual Annual Conference, May 21, 2021). Led and presented at conference session. Followed up with MCLS on possible collaborative collection acquisition of selected resource.
Assistant Professor / Shawn McCann
McCann, S., & Peacock, R. (2021). Accessibility is not a feature: An analysis of common accessibility errors on academic library websites. Journal of Electronic Resources Librarianship, 33(4), 273-284.
Accessibility isn't a feature: Accessibility errors on academic library websites ACRL 2021 - On-Demand Program
Assistant Professor / Molly McGuire
Art Libraries Society of North America Multimedia and Technology Review, The Fashion and Race Database, October, 2020 (Review).
“A Roadmap for Digital Strategies at OU Libraries: Finding the Right Fit.” Co-Presenter for the session. “Systems for Libraries and Archives: Square Peg in Round Hole?” Michigan Archival Association Conference, June 22-23, 2021, Grand Rapids, Michigan.
Associate Professor / Julia Rodriguez
Rodriguez, J. E. Co-Presenter. (May 19, 2021) “Searching Open Educational Resources Repositories.” MI-ALA. Annual Conference. Online. (Presentation rescheduled from 2020 due to COVID-19)
Assistant Professor / Emily Spunaugle
Spunaugle, E. D. (2021). 'The President was at Scarborough & not any Member attended’: Reading the associational practices of the Wisbech Literary Society, 1797-1802. Libraries: Culture, History, and Society 5(2), 153-75.
Spunaugle, E. D. (2021). Scholarly edition and introduction of Mary, the Osier Peeler, Romantic Circles Electronic Editions. https://romantic-circles.org/editions/maryosier
Spunaugle, E.D., & Peiser, M. (2021). The enlightenment (1660-1800). In S. M. Stauffer (Ed.), Libraries, Archives, and Museums: An Introduction to Cultural Heritage Institutions through the Ages (143-163). Rowman & Littlefield.
Spunaugle, E. D. & Peiser, M. (2021). Pandemic pedagogy: Marginalia in the Marguerite Hicks Collection. SHARP News, 25, Jan.
Spunaugle, E. D. Defining publication: Literary and legal landscapes: Or, what we talk about when we define publication. Roundtable discussion with Michelle Levy and Emily Friedman, SHARP 2021.
Spunaugle, E.D., & Peiser, M. “Cheap, Working Copies: Photostats in the Marguerite Hicks Collection of Women’s Writing,” Proposal accepted to SHARP 2022 virtual conference.
Spunaugle. “Bibliographic Mysteries: Surprises in the Material Book,” October 25, 2021. Society of Active Retirees, virtual presentation.
Spunaugle. “Ancillary Bluestocking: Identifying Mary Morgan and Recovering Her Lost Petition Poem.” American Society for Eighteenth-Century Studies Conference. April 9, 2021.
Spunaugle, E.D., & Peiser, M. “Collecting Queer: Intersectional Bibliographic Methods and the Marguerite Hicks Collection,” RSA/SHARP Panel: Disrupting the Canon: Feminist, Queer, and Global Book Histories. Renaissance Society of America, 2021 Annual Meeting. April 14, 2021.
“Teaching Material Texts without Material,” Invited virtual panel discussion with Megan Peiser, Sarah Werner, and Matthew Kirschenbaum. SHARP in Focus webinar discussion, June 2020.
“Professionalization in Book History, Bibliography, and Textual Editing: Entering the Field without Formal Training,” Invited panel discussion with Megan Peiser, David Gants, Erin McGuirl, and Marta Kvande. MLA 2021, Bibliography and Textual Editing Forum Roundtable, January 9, 2021.
“Gender, Disability, and Finding Women in the Archives: Establishing the Provenance of the Marguerite Hicks Collection, 1660-1820.” Invited virtual presentation with Megan Peiser to members of the Michigan Legislature. April 19, 2021.
“The ‘Prettiest Bad Poet of the Long Eighteenth Century’: Reading the Material Condition of Melesina Trench’s Printed Poetry.” Invited virtual talk for the American Association of University Women, Birmingham Chapter, March 10, 2021.
Rare Books Librarian, virtual classroom visit to William Green’s 6th grade class, Alameda Remote District, Alameda, California. February 4, 2021.
OU Libraries | 100 Library Drive, Rochester, Michigan 48309-4479 | (248) 370-2471