Finding Resources - ESL 0079N - Academic Writing - LibGuides at Oakland University

Find Books

Library OneSearch
The gateway to everything the OU Libraries have to offer. Use Library OneSearch to find articles, books, journals, videos, and more.
MelCat Search
A statewide catalog of many of Michigan's libraries. It allows you to request books at another library be sent to Kresge Library for you.

Subject-Specific Databases

Visit our Databases A-Z to see all of our research databases, sorted by name and also by subject.

Databases Best Bets

JSTOR
Full text of core scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Browsable by discipline and full-text searchable across all disciplines. Years available vary with each title, but the most recent issues available in JSTOR will be 3-5 years old.
Project MUSE
ProjectMuse provides full-text of scholarly journals and books in the arts, humanities, and social sciences. Browsable by discipline and full-text searchable across all disciplines.
Google Scholar
Searches articles, theses, books, abstracts, patents, and court opinions from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities, and other web sites. You can check the availability of article full text if you use our link to Google Scholar, which will ask you to log in with your OU NetID.
If you are having trouble accessing Google Scholar from our website, you can try accessing the site directly. See our guide to adding OU Libraries' resources to Google Scholar.
Academic Search Complete
Multi-disciplinary database providing indexing, abstracts, and selected full text for peer reviewed/scholarly articles, magazines, trade publications, and newspapers in all fields of study.

Humanities Databases

Art and Architecture Source
An art research database covering fine, decorative and commercial art, as well as architecture and architectural design. With strong international coverage, it offers hundreds of full-text art journals, magazines and books, plus detailed indexing and abstracts and thousands of images.
Humanities Source
This full-text database covers literary, scholarly and creative thought. It provides full text, indexing and abstracts for the most noted scholarly sources in the humanities.

Science Databases

Web of Science
Provides access to the Arts & Humanities Index (A&HCI), Emerging Sources Citation Index (ESCI), Science Citation Index (SCI), and Social Science Citation Index (SSCI). The database can be searched by words in article titles and abstracts, by author, by journal, and to look for cited references.
CINAHL Complete
A full-text database for nursing and allied health journals from 1937 to the present. It includes access to scholarly journal articles, dissertations, magazines, pamphlets, evidence-based care sheets, books, and research instruments.

Social Sciences Databases

ERIC
The authoritative index for education research sources including government reports, journal articles, and conference papers. Covers all education topic areas and is sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences of the U.S. Department of Education.
PsycARTICLES
This full-text database includes peer-reviewed articles in a wide range of psychology subdisciplines. Includes all journals published by the American Psychological Association (APA).
Communication & Mass Media Complete
This database provides indexing and selected full-text coverage on communications, mass media, and related topics, to include health communication, gender and communication, communication theory, and mass media.
Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text
This database includes bibliographic records and full text of journals related to criminal justice and criminology. Subjects covered include corrections, prisons, criminal investigations, forensic sciences, investigation, substance abuse, addiction, probation, and parole.
PsycINFO
This database provides indexing and abstracts for journal articles, books, chapters, and dissertations in psychology. Covers the research literature in all areas of psychology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. Other subjects such as neuroscience, psychiatry, and physiology are also included.

Interlibrary Loan

Interlibrary Loan or ILL

When the library does not have something you are looking for, you can always borrow it from another library. Interlibrary Loan (ILL) is a free service offered to OU students, faculty, and staff by the Library. Through ILL you can borrow books, get copies of journal articles, or borrow other materials from other libraries. You can find out more via the following link:

Interlibrary Loan Homepage

Library OneSearch

ESL 0079N - Academic Writing

Find Books

Subject-Specific Databases

Interlibrary Loan

Interlibrary Loan or ILL